Drawitbetter Contest #5 Dragon

in #drawitbetter7 years ago (edited)

20171201_013651.jpg

Hello friends! This is my first time to join the #drawitbetter competition of @sirsensei. This week's theme is Dragon(s). Dragons are known to be majestic and powerful creatures. In movies, they are usually portrayed as strong creatures especially when the movies are filmed in China. There was one anime though that portrayed a funny side of a dragon, or it was the person working for the dragon. It was Hetalia. For those who have not watched it, it is nice for anime and history lovers.

As far as I know, dragons are real. Just take the komodo dragon as an example. Just please laugh at my lame joke! I only joke once in a while here. He he!

So, how did I go over it? Here is the process! I swear it is very easy to do. Kids can even follow this one.

I usually draw and paint for twenty to thirty minutes because I spend a lot of time studying and reading books at home. I also try to make the procedure easier for kids to understand it more. I got this trait from being a summer art class teacher.

Materials Used:

I decided to use vellum board, Simbalion watercolor cake, and a 0.4 Unipin. You can also use your favorite art materials if you want to. Some prefer using soft pastel and oil pastel.

I first thing I need to do is to sketch the dragon and the background. I got the reference from google. It is actually directed then to youtube. This is the link of the video:

The next thing I did was to paint the background using the watercolor that I have. I wanted to use prang but it only has 8 colors. I might buy the 102 or 105 color pencils from Prismacolors but it costs P5,000.00. Yay! I need to write a lot of great articles with that then.

I used this following colors and sometimes mixed them to come up with darker tones of blue and green. I usually am a messy artist because I tend to skip a lot of portions on my drawings and paintings and return to it when I am almost finished.

24205131_1718565714884926_1587190551_n.jpg

I painted some portions of the body of the dragon with lime yellow and yellow orange. I used the Chinese technique of painting to make it easier for my nephews when they read my blog. Oh yes! They love to learn a lot about art.

24257406_1718565818218249_377388297_n.jpg

I used maroon red mixed with a little black for the horns and back of the dragon.

24205125_1718565668218264_1162476514_n.jpg

I added red and yellow orange for the body of the dragon. The details seemed to have been gone, but do not worry, we will use our marker or Unipin for our details.

20171201_012533.jpg
Be still mighty dragon. I hope you will not be ashamed of me after you see yourself on this artwork.


For further details, I scribbled using my Unipin. I also added dots to add more depth in this artwork. Surely kids will love to do this one, but make sure they do not connect the dots, or else...

And so, this is my finish work. I added details on the mountains as well so that it would look attractive.

I intend to use pointilism in my upcoming artworks that would be displayed on December. I hope I could still get your support as much as you supported me before. Thank you for reading and have a wonderful day everyone!

Sort:  

WOW!!! Ang galing talaga!!! As in!! 😝🙌🏼👏🏼🙌🏼👏🏼 I hope this post gets seen by so many people! It deserves to be making huge earnings. I’m not even kidding, I really believe it’s that good!

Uy thank you kuya. Magdilang anghel ka sana aside sa boses anghel ka.

Hi @gailbelga, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Please do send me again the channel link because it does not seem to work <3 Thank you.

thank you for bringing that to my attention. I better update the link more often. here is a current link https://discord.gg/hzhzWxw

Oh! This is so sweet of you. I really appreciate this. Of course, I would definitely nominate good posts for you. Thank you so much. It is so kind of you as well.

This is really amazing to see!
A wonderful job and great progress pictures as well.

Have a marvelous day!

Thank you so much dear for appreciating ♡

Awesome artwork, good luck hope you win the contest.

Thank you for the support dear. ♡

Ang ganda nya! Upvoted and resteemed :)

Uy uy anak salamat naman D: iiyak na ko nyan

Haha bet ko yang anak na tawag. :) Sige Inang

Ay wag inang parang imang yan eh. Kampanerang kuba hahahahahhaa. Mommy para sosyal.

Ay push dyan sa Mommy. Haha mayaman ang datingan.

nice artwork..........and more jokes, please lol

Ouch. Hahaha wala na ibang jokes aside sa mukha ko. Huhu

you forgot to mention the DRAGON FLY. dragon din yun. hahaha

UHM HAHAHAHAHAHA KAINIS. Was not prepared for that

Hey!!!
Awesome artwork @gailbelga. You are truly multi-talented:)

Thank you for appreciating it modern Indiana Jones. Have not heard from you for awhile sir.

I have been leaving DM's for you on Steemit chat, my dear friend:)

Oh gosh. I am sorry. I do not usually open my steemit chat! Hahaha my bad. really.

I never brake a promise:)

Of course! Thank you a lot although I still cannot open steemit.chat. My connection is somewhat slow and it is gone every 8am in the morning to 5pm here in the Philippines.

Let me find you on discord, what is the username there?

Here: gailbelga#3780

This is beautiful I'd like to include you in my weekly curation!

I would be glad to be part of it. ♡ thank you so much for appreciating. ♡

Thank you for appreciating. Im feeling on cloud 9 now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32