Hillbilly 3000

in #fiction7 years ago

Rusty sat under the cool shade of the porch, watching mechanical chickens clucking and poking around the yard. He grinned. Hell, some folk might think those chicks are tacky but they really add to the vibe of the place. Rusty slumped down in his chair and dialed in a beverage selection on the drink-materializer just within arm’s reach: Ultra-Bud Light 3000. He cracked open the titanium can and sipped on the cold suds. He smacked his lips and let out a long proud burp. The hot midday sun didn’t bother him much; he had his shade, his beer, his lovely mech-chickens, and a good old fashioned radio feeding him the latest stories.

...Breaking news...

Rusty twisted the dial up on the radio.

...Humanity has long scoured the farthest reaches of space in search of intelligent life. We’ve combed every nook and cranny. It's official folks, you heard it here first, there are no other lifeforms out there...

Rusty’s eyes stretched wide and he dropped the can of beer. He ran across the yard towards the spacecraft parked in the driveway, accidentally kicking a mech-chicken out of the way.

“Cletus! Cletus, dear god. They just announced there ain’t no aliens out there in the big yonder.” Rusty rested against the dome of the ship, gasping for air.

“Goddamn it, Rust. I ain’t got no time for some dumb ass alien stories.” Cletus floated out from underneath the spacecraft, suspended on a hoverboard.

“This is big news, Cletus, they been huntin’ for extraterrestrials for millennia now. Remember that Papa always thought that we were the only ones out here. And he was right, God rest his soul.” Rusty bowed his head.

Cletus flung a wrench at him. Rusty ducked out of the way.

“Who gives a shit about aliens when I can’t even get this hunk-a-junk flying. And my brother getting drunk and listening to that damn radio all day, won’t even lend a hand.”

“Why don’t we just trade this piece of crap in and get ourselves one of ‘em new 3000 models. Boy those things can fly.” Rusty let out a long whistle.

“You think we can afford that on our measly UBI? No sir. Now hand me that goddamn wrench.” Cletus nodded towards the wrench lying in the dirt.

Rusty bent down and scooped it up. He walked over to his brother. Cletus yanked the wrench out of his hand and floated back under the ship.

“No intelligent life, huh. They should send a probe down here and study my brother for signs of intelligent life,” Cletus muttered.


Image Source

Sort:  

lol, I'm so submitting this to a couple groups that do curation

That would be awesome :) @battleaxe

lovely story, thanks for sharing. Short and sweet.

Nice post. What if they take rusty away. lolx.

@seyiodus.

Thanks, he would definitely miss his chickens then :) @seyiodus

Hey @cizzo!
I am a curator from the new Whaleshares Curation Team. I have selected your post to be presented in a live curation discussion on Monday 4th December. Your post will be awarded with a 25 Whaleshares vote on the night. I do hope you can come along and spectate. The event will be held in The Curation Lounge on the Whaleshares server. Hope to see you there!

Best wishes,
Linda

Here's a post which explains things: https://steemit.com/steemit/@nikflossus/3wgmg9-the-whaleshares-curation-distribution-monday-23-59-london-time

Thank you for selecting my story for curation and letting me know @lindahas :)
I'll do my best to attend.

Sorry, I edit my text with a third party program and Poeticsnakes name dropped in there :D

Ah ok, I wasn't sure, I've seen some curation teams do a tag team thing sometimes. I edited my comment accordingly :)

Yeah, sorry, my head seems to be in the clouds today :D

This is a wonderful fiction piece and you had me at the mechanical chickens! I hope you add me as you can. You have a great command of dialog, too!

Thank you for the kind words @wandrnrose7

You're quite welcome!

Haha, nice story, you make me grinned in the end of the story.

I have no idea how to write story, lol

Glad it made you smile @hananan :)

Hi @cizzo, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Thank you for including me in the ramble :) @shadowspub

Ha ha! Cute story! pink_smile.gif

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cizzo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58656.89
ETH 2307.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48