THE LIBRARY #6 | A Curation Post for Readers and Writers

in #curation6 years ago

enter image description here


The Library #1 | The Library #2 | The Library #3 part 1 | The Library #3 part 2 | The Library #4 | The Library #5


The Library - For Writers and Readers.

Welcome to the sixth edition of The Library. A new, writing focused curation post. Coming out of the ideas and discussions generated in the Seeking a Community of Writers post, I wanted to be able to pursue that idea even further. I know there are writing communities on Discord (of which I am also a member), and there are also curator blogs on Steemit. So this idea is nothing new. But I want for The Library to be a curator post focused solely upon writers, and the world of writing.

I intend to dedicate this space for other writers out there who are writing stories, blogs about writing, even blogs about books and reading. The more I explore Steemit, the more I come to realise that there is still so many bloggers out there who I have not encountered yet. People producing quality material, but not always finding the audience they deserve.

This idea is founded with those principles in mind. It's to help share the often disconnected writing worlds here at Steemit with each other, in the spirit of support and creative encouragement.

This is in no way meant to indicate the best (or worst, by omission) posts on Steemit. These are the ones that I saw - and that I liked - during the previous week, taking several factors into consideration, such as number of days since it was published, whether it is a series or not, and the overall quality of the writer's other material.

I can be contacted via DM on Discord if you see a writer who you believe needs to be brought to my attention for future editions of The Library (it may be yours, but I will give more weight to those who recommend other writers).



To start with, the writing groups on Discord that I recommend are:

- The Writer's Block - how to join. Their Steemit address is @thewritersblock
- The Isle of Write - how to join. Their Steemit address is @isleofwrite

If you know of any others then feel free to mention them in the comments section.



NON-FICTION


@tinypaleokitchen has posted two excellent articles dealing with different aspects of the writer's craft.

Adverbs: Do You Honestly Need Them?

Walk a Mile in My Shoes: Limited POV

In them she discusses both the dreaded adverb, and its use and usefulness to a writer, as well taking a look at limited POV.

Adverbs are an easy way of describing something. But like dialogue tags, they suffer from overuse.

A Limited POV puts us in the middle of the action. We follow one character and experience the story as they would. The words on the page are their thoughts, emotions and sensory perceptions.



enter image description here



PRACTICAL THINKING. — Two essays about writing fiction

Often we speak in order to listen to ourselves and find out what we think.

@tibra has written a couple of essays on the art of writing fiction. These are an interesting look into the mind of a writer, and well worth a read, from both an entertainment and educational perspective.



The Writer: Writing in Journals

The Writer: Tips-Creating Personalities For Your Characters

I also discovered a couple of gems from @smackit this week. Two more excellent articles of the craft of writing.



FICTION


The Masters Plan - A Steemit Exclusive Novel - Action Noir - Part 1

@jpgaltmiller has written a tight and riveting action packed drama. This is the first part in the series, so hop on board now if action noirs are your thing.

Logline: A straight-laced cop must become a renegade when a friend-turned-criminal from his past offers proof that his father was framed and murdered. Will he be able to uncover the true killer before becoming a victim of the same corruption?


A Wolf's Debt | Part 1 | Part 2

@therosepatch has written the story of Rayni, a wolf who has been ostracised from her pack. Delivered in two parts, if this grabs you be sure to keep an eye out for her new material.


Farima - The Project Maximus Story | Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3 | Part 4 | Part 5 | Part 6 | Part 7

I have only just discovered @brianlewis's story here at Steemit, but despite arriving late part 7 grabbed me enough to want to share it here with the readers of The Library so that others too could add it to their reading list.


A2B: A Grisly Tale of Teleportation Gone Wrong

@alexbeyman has been a regular producer of quality stories here at Steemit for some time now, so many readers may be familiar with his work already. For those who aren't I believe this short story is a great introduction to his work.



enter image description here



FUTURE BOOK RELEASE


My illustrated book "Memories" - 5 more sketches

@paolobeneforti shares some of the illustrations he has created, which are part of a new book he is working towards finding a publisher for. More information on this project can be found at the followup posts;

My Illustrated book: the memories list - part 1

My Illustrated book: the memories list - part 2



WRITING CONTESTS


Steemit Writing Contests: Issue #29 February 23, 2018

@moneyinfant releases a regular, and very comprehensive, list of the writing contests held by various people here at Steemit. If this is the sort of things that interests you then best to follow his page and see what you find. There's enough here to keep you busy for some time, that's for sure.



BOOK REVIEWS


Rare Book of the Day – Kafka on the Shore, Haruki Murakami. Advance Reader's Edition.

For fans of rare - or even just quality - books, @rarebooksleuth also is a regular writer here of articles and reviews. Having just released a review of one of Murakami's books myself, this particular book review jumped out at me. Quality writing about an interesting author and novel.



Read Between The Wines #2: I am Pilgrim - One of the best books I've read

@shellyduncan discusses a book that she has just finished reading - I Am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes. I agree with her assessment on the awesome value of this book, having read it myself in the past.



Romanticizing The Life of a Bandit (Literary Analysis)

@mrslauren discusses the book The Life and Adventures of Joaquin Murieta by John Rollins, written in 1854. She provides an in-depth and thoughtful analysis of the novel and it's significance.



enter image description here



Thank you for reading the sixth edition of The Library. Please feel free to leave comments, suggestions, ideas, etc.

As always, I appreciate your time and attention, and hope you enjoyed your library visit.



Images sourced from unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya


Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189


Links to earlier works

- Fiction
My Fiction Writing Collection
Writing Myself Out of Existence
When the Levee Breaks
Reality Fading
Lessons Learned From a Dying Man - includes audio version.

Book Reviews
A Glitch In The World - Alex Drozd
All The Light We Cannot See - Anthony Doerr
Where Epics Fail - Yahia Lababidi
Hellbent - Gregg Hurwitz
1Q84 - Haruki Murakami
Soon - Lois Murphy
The Girl Who Played With Fire - Stieg Larsson
American Gods - Neil Gaiman
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep - Philip K. Dick
The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo - Stieg Larsson
Altered Carbon - Richard Morgan
Fight Club - Chuck Palahniuk
Crooked God Machine - Autumn Christian

Audio Poetry
The Dance of Destiny and Fate
One Day, Just Not Today



Sort:  

Thanks for including my post. I'll be sure to keep following this series. Love where I can find recommendations for new books to read!

Very happy to include your post. You did best me to getting out a review for the fabulous I Am Pilgrim, but I'm no sore loser :)
Besides I liked your drink and review take on it.

@jpgaltmiller's definitely one to watch, isn't he? I like his pacing and his dialogue. You should definitely read his comic as well, mate!

Yes he is, and I see you are in the know already. I've seen some of the comics over the last couple of weeks. May need to include them here at some point.

Aw, shucks. Thanks, guys!

I gave a look at the illustration book - It is a lovely idea and totally wonderful work! Glad you added it to the library!

I agree, it's a wonderful series of art. I knew once I saw it that it belonged in here.

@alexbeyman is one of my favorite author in here. Will check out the others as well.

Thanks for letting me know. And yes I do hope you find something new and interesting.

Thanks for doing this collection. Good job.

Thank you, glad to know you like it.

Really nice collection, must have taken a long time. Good job

Glad you like it. Yes takes a while to put together, but it's a labour of love.

@naquoya, thank you so much for featuring A Wolf's Debt! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed it so much :)

I know it's a bit late in it's 7 day cycle, but if it can help bring your work to more people then that's a win.

Thanks for including my Writing Contest List in this post. It's an awesome resource itself, and I've found a couple great writers to follow that I didn't know about before.

Glad this has been of some use to you. As I know your posts are, as the contests are popular here, and knowing which ones are running is not easy to keep up with.

Thanks for including Masters Plan here. Got to finish up the next section so I can make my self-imposed deadline for tomorrow morning!

Happy to include your work. And you gotta love those self imposed deadlines. They creep up on me just as quickly as the ones others place on me. Good luck, and I'll keep an eye out for it.

So much cool content, I don't know where to start😅. Thanks for making this collection.

Yes, a lot to keep you busy for some time. Hopefully something here to grab your interest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95