NAQUOYA'S BOOK REVIEW | 1Q84 - Haruki Murakami

in #review6 years ago (edited)

1Q84 was suggested to me by @dailyrunner in one of my posts last month called What Are Some of Your Favourite Books?. I think I had a vague notion of its existence prior to her recommendation, but no idea as to the story or its premise. I took a quick look at the opening few pages, as my curiosity had been piqued by her description. It quickly went to the top of my reading list.

It's a lengthy book, with the English version actually being three books in one. Only counts as one on my Good Reads Challenge though. It is not an easy book to pin a definite label on, and those are often the ones that I like the most. It flirts with several genres, whilst making no definitive claim to any of them. At its heart I would call it a work of speculative fiction, and I choose the word speculative with purpose, as it doesn't really enter the realm of Science Fiction. It swings way more towards being a Literary work, but one that is unafraid to step outside of it's often stuffy boundaries.

It deals with the concept of parallel worlds, or perhaps more precisely parallel lives, and with the notion of non-linear time. Perhaps it can be classified as dealing with an alternate reality, in a dreamy and surreal sense I suppose.


1Q84 tells the alternating stories of Tengo and Aomame. It is set in Japan, in the year 1984. Aomame is on the way to a job when she finds herself stuck in traffic. Being high up on one of Tokyo's expressways, she is wary of the necessity to be on time for this particular job. The driver suggests she exits there, on the expressway, and take the nearby stairs down to street level, and make her way to the job by train.

As she is on foot, making her way towards the nearest station, she notices something odd that catches her eye. The fact that a police officer passing by is heavily armed. To her knowledge they never were. When did this change occur?

As she starts to notice more anomalies there is one in particular that strikes her. There are now two moons. Since when has there been two moons? How and why has this occurred? And why does no one else notice?

Whilst Aomame is processing these events, someone else in Tokyo is about to embark on a life altering course. Tengo is a mathematics teacher, as well as an unpublished novelist. As juror for a writing contest, he sees a particular book he likes, but is aware of its shortcomings. His editor concocts a plan that involves Tengo rewriting the story – with the agreement of the author – and placing it back into the contest to win the eye of the other judges. The book's author is a teenage girl, one the editor knows will get the presses' attention, and so believes the idea to be a stroke of marketing genius. Tengo is reluctant, given the fraudulent nature of the activity, but goes along with it anyway.

These two seemingly unrelated events begin a mind blowing series of occurrences that lead to both Tengo and Aomame sensing the other's existence, and key role in each other's lives, having known each other once as children when they shared a brief but mystical experience. An experience that seems to have put in play these so called random events. Events that involve a novel, written by a teenage girl, called Air Chrysalis, about The Little People who speak to her through a dead goat. A supposedly fictional fantasy story from the mind of a young girl, the book goes on to become a best seller, and plays a key role in the journey both Tengo and Aomame find themselves on.

Events have taken them out of the normal world experienced in 1984, and into a world that Aomame calls 1Q84, and that Tengo refers to as Cat Town – a place that if you stay too long in then you may never get out. They both wake up to the realisation that their world has changed. That they find themselves in their own Cat Town, and they need to get back to the real world, to the year 1984. But is that even possible now?

The two timelines alternate around each other, as new characters appear, and unknown associations are made. The pain of both protagonist's pasts, their emerging memories of the connection they share, and the new lives they have created for themselves flow through these individual stories as their separate paths bring them closer to each other, closer to a next momentous step in what had been set in motion between them all those years ago as children.


Dealing with unconscious hopes and dreams, and the notion that we can and do invent ourselves anew as we move through life, the story also considers the concept of free will and choice. Are we the product of our past? And if so does that make the past a life sentence that we simply cannot escape?

And what of dreams? Of the power of imagination? Do unnoticed events unfold below our awareness that lead us forward towards our so called destiny?


The author, Haruki Murakami has captured so many of these thoughts into this mesmerising story, spinning a tale of intrigue and mystery, with even a metaphysical streak thoughout it. Beautifully written, it does go into a lot of detail on the events that unfold, but in a way that is balanced and purposeful. The story benefits for it. This is, without a doubt, one of the most fantastically beautiful stories I have read in a log time.

I give 1Q84 5 out of 5 stars.



Images source, and unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya




Links to earlier works

- Fiction
My Fiction Writing Collection
Writing Myself Out of Existence
When the Levee Breaks
Reality Fading
Lessons Learned From a Dying Man - includes audio version.

- Blog Posts

-Notes From an Amateur Writer
Notes #49 - Conversation With My Multiple Selves
Notes #50 - Revisiting Childhood With Storm Boy and Mr Percival
Notes #51 - Some Of The Books That I Am Reading
Notes #53 - Finding the Right Character For the Job
Notes #54 - But First Coffee

-Ramble On (Humour based fictional travel blog)
#1 - Introducing My New Travel Blog
#2 - Making a Deal With the Devil
#3 - Getting Arrested, For Resisting Arrest
#4 - Love, Sex, and Guru Powers

Book Reviews
Soon - Lois Murphy
Altered Carbon - Richard Morgan
The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo - Stieg Larrson
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep - Philip K. Dick
American Gods - Neil Gaiman
Fight Club - Chuck Palahniuk
Crooked God Machine - Autumn Christian



Sort:  

Wow, excellent and thorough review. this is going to the top of my list!

Thank you, happy that you liked it. As for going to the top of your list, that was how Ii felt when it was introduced to me. After just a few pages I was hooked. Hope you like it.

Murakami's writing routine has been a favorite of mine for quite some time, and one that I want to emulate. I've had 1Q84 for a while now but I haven't even removed the plastic covering. It's so lengthy, and I want to give it the time it deserves. How long did it take you to finish?

I'm not familiar with Murakami's writing routine, but I noticed you mentioned it in a previous post, so it has me intrigued. Something to look into for sure. I read this on a Kindle, and all up it would have taken about one and a half weeks to get through. I'm not the fastest reader, so many could halve that time. And given it is actually three books I still think that was good going.

One and a half weeks!? Oh man... and here I consider you one of the fastest readers I know.. I'm maybe 20x slower than you, so doing the math hmm... give or take a year for me? Haha!

I'm not a fast reader, although I wish I was. I Just have more spare time that others perhaps. If I can get through a book in 5 or 6 days then that is good going for me. I have heard of others getting through a book in as little as one day. And normal sized novels too. That's my aim, to at least increase my reading speed, whilst keeping the comprehension levels. My GoodReads challenge is for 50 and that needs 1 per week, and so far so good there.

I'm sure you'll get through it in under a year. We'll compare notes in November - that's a challenge for you.

That's the dream! Man, if I could finish a book in a day, I would be all over the place. My time management skill would be elite!

Ahahaha! With the wedding coming up, it's hard to tell how much my daily routine would change with a spouse haha!

Yes, keep your priorities correct. There will always be time for reading, later perhaps.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 46 (2/15/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Hey, naquoya! Great review of one of my favorite books of Murakami! I want to share with you a quote I really like from the book:
"Komatsu believed that mental activity was never born from comfortable circumstances".
Ushikawa is quite the character, isn`t he?
I just saw that you have reviewed as well Steig Larrson, one of my all time favorites :)

Yes, Ushikawa is an interesting character, and a pivotal part of book 3. I deliberately left him out of the review, as the story can quickly get confusing in its complexity. I found that he became more likeable, in a pitiful way, as the story progressed.

Thanks for your comment, and sharing the quote :)

Welcome ;) Keep going!

Love that author and that book! Good review!

Good to hear. It's a fabulous book, isn't it? Thanks for your comment.

Nice review. I'm going to order this one today. I'm looking forward to reading it.

Thanks for your comment. The book was a mind blower for me. The speculative elements in this worked for me, the concept of alternate timelines or worlds as well. The story was truly mesmerising. Hope you like it.

I very much agree with your assessment. And reading your review, makes me want to read it again. Maybe not a bad idea, as I've read it a couple years ago already.

What is your next book going to be?

This was a first time read of the book for me, but I can understand why you would want to revisit it. I often need to with some of my favourites. This one will be worth the return journey.

My next one is a from the thriller genre, some fast paced action based entertainment. Mixing it up a bit. Today or tomorrow.

Ah, this is one of my favorite. I felt like an actual "bookworm" chewing through the whole book, one page at a time and digesting it, if you know what I mean:)

I know the feeling, although I was more the electronic worm, munching my way through my Kindle. This was simply too difficult to put down and leave. I had to know how things turned out.

Oh, I have heard about this book, but never read it. I've been reading Han Kang lately and it reminds me so much of Haruki Murakami's work that I had to put a hold on Murakami.

It's on my list now :)

Thank you!

At first I thought it would be quite the challenge, being a trilogy on one volume (for the English version), but i found the story so gripping, so intriguing, that i just couldn't put it down. I have read complaints that it was too slow, not enough action, too much details, etc, but the writing quality really did carry all those elements along well, to such an extent that the story as a whole benefited for it.

What is the Han Kang book you have been reading?

I have to brace myself and dedicate a lot of time. That book is huge! I still struggle to finish Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides and it's not even that big of a book.

The vegetarian by Han Kang. I loved it, although if you are going to read some online reviews, you will notice that some readers didn't quite get it or thought it was too brutally honest. I was hooked! It was quirky, disturbing and just right up on my alley so to say.

Human Acts by Han Kang. Another great book I recommend. Very thought-provoking (I still haven't finished it...yet!).

It does require an investment of time. The good thing of reading it on the Kindle is I wasn't holding the physical specimen, all 900 pages or so. That would have frightened me somewhat. I just kept watching the % go down, willing it as I went.

Thanks for the Han Kang suggestions. Quirky often works for me, so I will see how these pan out when I get around to them.

I laik Haruki Murakami author but not hear about this book et, thanks for nice review

The author is a stylish writing, quite unique, in my opinion. Thanks for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66095.52
ETH 3595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49