The Dance of Destiny and Fate (My Original Poetry) - Written and Audio Versions

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

enter image description here


My original poetry, written and spoken by me, Scott Bradley (@naquoya).


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

THE DANCE OF DESTINY AND FATE

My thoughts
My voice
A stream of consciousness that must get out
A river wild
Or paddling stream
A mix of all and nothing else
And forgotten once more
The winding door
The mirrored entrance
The mirrored floor
But I can still see
Of course I can still see
A shadow lies waiting
As it calls out my name

The shadow figures arrive in unison; one, two, three
An emergence of thought voiced in between
All colours are showing,
And muddled thoughts return
Resigned to a fate
That shows no sign of abating
Making peace with my lack of peace
With my lack
That's the wrong mindset I am constantly reminded
Ask and you shall receive
Unless you don't, that is
And I don't

Not every window looks out to the darkness
Some are still boarded up
Covered up
Unable to show me anything at all
So I imagine the scene
I fill in the blanks
It's my world, always has been
I've stopped asking, begging, dropping to my knees and pleading
It always ends in tears
So I put it there; in here, in my own world
Where the rules are in flux
Constantly being rewritten by my state of mind
But it's all I have, although I did ask for more
For something different.
To imagine a better world.
I'll go to my grave imagining a better world


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

Images source.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya




Links to earlier works

- Fiction
My Fiction Writing Collection
Writing Myself Out of Existence
When the Levee Breaks
Reality Fading
Lessons Learned From a Dying Man - includes audio version.

- Blog Posts

-Notes From an Amateur Writer
Notes #49 - Conversation With My Multiple Selves
Notes #50 - Revisiting Childhood With Storm Boy and Mr Percival
Notes #51 - Some Of The Books That I Am Reading
Notes #53 - Finding the Right Character For the Job
Notes #54 - But First Coffee

-Ramble On (Humour based fictional travel blog)
#1 - Introducing My New Travel Blog
#2 - Making a Deal With the Devil
#3 - Getting Arrested, For Resisting Arrest
#4 - Love, Sex, and Guru Powers

Book Reviews
Soon - Lois Murphy
Altered Carbon - Richard Morgan
The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo - Stieg Larrson
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep - Philip K. Dick
American Gods - Neil Gaiman
Fight Club - Chuck Palahniuk
Crooked God Machine - Autumn Christian



Sort:  

Something so melodic about this. Hopeful, yet haunting. The way you spaced the lines really elevated this, and I think the pacing you did was top-notch. I like how it unfolded, from short breaths to longer ones. Masterful stuff here, mate!

By the way, have you asked anyone else about the volume? Still low for me. I would be happy to help you in postprocessing it if you want.

Thanks for your feedback on the poem, very happy to hear your thoughts on it. The pacing was an issue I worked on, trying to get out of a pure rhyming word play and into telling more of a story in poem form. The flow and melody of it was important to get right.

As for the volume, there is one more control on the audio software I can try. I have the recording volume quite high but that hasn't seemed to affect it. I remember the very first attempt where i could hear my breathing too much and it was off putting. Because pf my lung issue I do breath deeply and sound out of breath a lot, so I needed to try to take that into account. So I got the recording level to a point where it didn't pick that up so much, but the end result is a low overall volume, which annoys me somewhat.

I have one more recorded poem to share, but before recording any new ones I will play around with settings some more. Tell me, do you know about Hz levels? Because that is the main setting I still have to look at. Pretty sure I did adjust that initially and that gave me problems, but not sure. It is set at 44100, but can go so much higher. I will Google that one next to learn more.

I know a little about audio, and I think it's just enough for a simple production. I have a script to remove ambient noise, and I think it can be used to remove excess breathing.

A dark piece, a dark peace?

It has both darkness and peace. Mostly peace, I hope. Just writing the thoughts out of my head, so they don't hang around too long.

Deep.. wow.. i dont even have any words right now.. gonna have to think about this one for a while! Thanks for sharing..

If it gets you thinking then that is a good thing, in my book. Very happy that you had a listen/read, thank you.

When we are dissatisfied with where we are we tend to become fatalistic. We are told to reach out, rise above fate, be in control; yet, we are what we are, and to become something else might not be what we want. Ha ha, life is strange.

Yes, the ebb and flow of being the masters of our own destiny, yet being surrounded by people and energies we have no control over. All vying for to lead us somewhere. I'm learning to just go with the flow, although not easy. I'm currently sailing aboard a ship called 'Life is Strange', and its taken me to some interesting places.

The world is worth exploring and there are questions that still remain unanswered.^^

Yes, and perhaps there always will be.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you.

This is a really wonderful piece. Would love to read more of your poems. Keep it up

Very glad that you like it, thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66131.28
ETH 3598.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46