NAQUOYA'S BOOK REVIEWS | Hellbent - Gregg Hurwitz

in #review6 years ago (edited)

I had the opportunity to read a new thriller novel almost two years ago, from the author Gregg Hurwitz. Titled Orphan X, a very cursory glance at the blurb was enough to pique my curiosity. Having just finished I Am Pilgrim, I was on the lookout for more well written thrillers, and that one came along at just the right moment. Whilst not quite in the same league as Pilgrim, it did come very close. I quickly followed up the second instalment, The Nowhere Man when that was released. Now I find myself writing up my first actual review for one of these exciting stories, as Hellbent – the third in the series – has only just been released. I was eager to read about the lead character, Evan Smoak's current circumstances, having been thoroughly hooked by his complex arc already.

I intend to write a thorough review for the earlier episodes, to fill in details of the story and characters behind Hellbent, but for the time being I will keep this review to this latest chapter. Gregg Hurwittz writes an exciting, fast paced thriller, and the protagonist, Evan Smoak very much comes alive on the pages of these books. As I was reading Hellbent I tried to remain aware of just how difficult it would be for someone to just jump right into the plot at that point. Could they do it? Would the story still make sense? The answer to those questions is yes, in my opinion. This is a stand alone story, developed fully enough to warrant attention in its own right.

Having said that though, the fullest understanding of Evan's back story is realised through the many segments delivered along the way throughout the series. Including here in Hellbent. You wont be left behind, perhaps just not as in the loop as you could be. Characters that have graced the pages of the earlier instalments are eased into view and understanding, and not just thrown at the reader. You do get the chance to understand their place in this universe, and understand how these people fit into Evan's background.


The Saga Continues

Evan Smoak is the name given to him by his handler, Jack Johns after he has been taken from an orphanage and trained into the world of black ops assassins. We first met Evan, also known as Orphan X, after he had stopped participating in the program and set up his own program to help those with nowhere else to turn to.

Hellbent sees the saga continue, as no Orphan is allowed to just leave the black ops program. Evan has found himself on the run from the forces in his past whilst dedicating himself to righting his wrongs through the extreme assistance program he offers. His knowledge is dangerous, it produces results, but it is a powder keg for certain high ranking officials who over saw his development.

This is the reality Evan has been living with throughout this series. However in Hellbent it becomes personal, a mindset that he has been trained to never have. Jack Johns, his trainer, and the nearest thing to a father, has been killed for his refusal to hand over Evan's whereabouts. This sets off a chase across the country, via encoded messages, and misunderstood packages, as Evan pursues the one same man who pursues him, Van Sciver, the head of the Orphan program – a man eliminating the remaining Orphans one by one.

The closer Evan gets to the target, the riskier his actions become, and the more he has to rely on his years of finely tuned training. There is someone of importance behind this latest attempt to eliminate him, someone who Van Sciver is taking his orders from. Hellbent sees Evan on a rocket ride towards finding that man, or dying in the pursuit.

Along the way he is joined by a much younger Orphan, a teenager used as a pawn to lure Evan in. Someone who reminds him of himself all those years ago, when first setting out on the path to becoming the world's most lethal assassin. He feels the need to prevent her needless participation, but along their journey she does as much to save his life as he does to save hers. Through this character Gregg Hurwitz is able to introduce a much more sophisticated level of computer hacking into the plot, delivering it with believably and success.


Hellbent is a very enjoyable read. Whilst having had read the first two would be ideal, it isn't necessary to follow this on its own. The pace is fast, sometimes hectic, and the action is delivered in a constant stream, relying on various elite level skill sets to keep the story moving along. This is where the story shines, as the research has clearly been thorough, making for a genuinely believable novel.

Hellbent (as well as the series) is a top notch thriller, worthy of your time and attention. I give it 4.5 out of 5 stars.



Images source, and unsplash.com

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya




Links to earlier works

- Fiction
My Fiction Writing Collection
Writing Myself Out of Existence
When the Levee Breaks
Reality Fading
Lessons Learned From a Dying Man - includes audio version.

Book Reviews
1Q84 - Haruki Murakami
Soon - Lois Murphy
Altered Carbon - Richard Morgan
The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo - Stieg Larrson
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep - Philip K. Dick
American Gods - Neil Gaiman
Fight Club - Chuck Palahniuk
Crooked God Machine - Autumn Christian



Sort:  

Oooohhhh you have me intrigued. Has anyone told you that you make a good passive salesman? I don't know why it is, but almost all of the books you recommend piques my interest. If the faux travel blogging doesn't work out, you'll always have a career in blurb writing, mate!

Let's see how I go when it's time to review something I didn't particularly like. Although I usually don't often finish reading those, so perhaps not!

I'm finding doing reviews beneficial for my own writing, from an deep thinking and theme understanding perspective. Trying to understand what makes a particular story work? What is really happening here, etc.

As for the faux travel blogger, well he'll try his hand at anything, perhaps there's a career in faux reviews coming up.

Faux reviews! Now there's something refauxlutionary!

I've been looking for a new series to read, this review came at the perfect time! Awesome, thanks!

Very happy that I could help you out. Do start with Orphan X if you can, but otherwise this alone will keep you entertained.

Oh I always start at the beginning, I hate missing things :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 50 (2/19/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Thank you :)

I have always been rebellious when it comes to reading. In school I relied on Cliff notes, now I can rely on your reviews to keep me informed.

Consider this my community service for rebels everywhere.

I love books and although I am mostly a fantasy and scifi fan I still pick up some political thrillers and espionage books.

I will add this to my list.

If you are into thrillers then definitely add this to your list. The whole series too. They are quick reads (compared to some books I have read lately). If you have the time, add I Am Pilgrim (by Terry Hayes), as it is the best Political Thriller I have ever read. Or wait for my review of that one soon.

Awesome recommendation as usual @naquoya!! Thanks so much my friend! I've been meaning to look into Orphan X for a while now, so this was all the motivation I needed. And seriously...how good was I Am Pilgrim?!? Mr. Hayes is killing me though, I need the sequel already!! May 1st the wait is fiiiinally over with The Year of the Locust. Hallelujah!

Ah yeh, I Am Pilgrim was as good as it gets. So May 1st, okay I'm on it, can't wait to read that one. In the meantime I feel the need to reread the original.

And so glad you liked the review. Orphan X grabbed me for its stylistic approach, and thorough research for the story line. The quality remains there through the series.

This is a good story Scott. I'd love to read the first two on your reviews so I can get to know Evan better.

I love to watch these kinds of plots. ^^ haven't tried reading them though. ^^

I think a movie is in planning for the first book - Orphan X, with Bradley Cooper. Not sure when it is sure for release though. I will do reviews for the first two over the next few weeks.

Hmmm that's good then. Looking forwsrd to it. ^^

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

ooo great review! I'll have to look into this series, I love a good thriller.

Then I am sure you'll love this series. Glad you liked the review.

Sounds like it would make a good movie. Do you find some thrillers "read" like the author already had the movie adaptation in mind?

I'm sure the author had a movie in mind when he wrote this. It does read like it would adapt quite well. And from what I hear there is a movie for Orphan X in the works. Not sure when it's due to be released.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65665.03
ETH 3585.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53