My Illustrated book: the memories list - part 2

in #art6 years ago

This is the second part of the list of memories I wrote down for the illustrated book I'm working on. (I found a curator and I'm preparing a presentation for the publisher.) 

I'm not translating the whole list (about 230 memories, and growing) because many of the things I talk about are not comprehensible for the not-italian readers. Everyone's childhood is pretty local, you know. ;)

But many other of memories are not local: movies, books, tv shows, news come to us also from the dominant culture of the world - which is the American one, as everyone knows. ;)

So, in this list I translated to English just a part of my memories. I posted half of them yesterday. Now, here are the other ones.

  • I remember "The Boheme", the "Don Giovanni" and "Le nozze di Figaro"
  • I remember a record by Charlie Parker and Dizzie Gillespie with "A night in Tunisia"
  • I remember a three-volume edition of "War and Peace"
  • I remember "The Call of the Wild".
  • I remember "Davy Crockett in Baltimore"
  • I remember "Jesus Christ Superstar"
  • I remember the faces of Eli Wallach, Lee Van Cleef, Clint Eastwood and Gian Maria Volonté.
  • I remember  "The Flight of the Phoenix" (1965)
  • I remember "Apocalypse Now"
  • I remember Tarzan played by Johnny Weissmuller
  • I remember "Caravaggio" by Derek Jarman
  • I remember the wax pasted to the fingers, working in a Art foundry.
  • I remember the first stones I sculpted using a drill and a screwdriver
  • I remember the first canvas I painted with oil colors
  • I remember the first bronze and brass meltings.
  • I remember playing Subbuteo
  • I remember "Wings of Desire" and "The Gospel According to St. Matthew", and an exhibition I did from those movies.
  • I remember the quicksand in the movies and comics.
  • I remember Pippi Longstocking and how we envied her
  • I remember the liquid mercury from broken thermometers.
  • I remember a peasant woman skinning a rabbit in the field.
  • I remember the fireflies trapped in a glass.
  • I remember the pages for female underwear in a mail order catalogue
  • I remember that, after the dentistry, you were entitled to have an ice cream.
  • I remember Grendizer, Heidi,  (Nobody's Boy:) Remi and Mazinger.
  • I remember the Olympic Games in Montreal
  • I remember camping in the woods.
  • I remember Elias Canetti's death
  • I remember David Foster Wallace's suicide
  • I remember rubbing the eyes to see images inside the eyelids
  • I remember the Chernobyl Disaster
  • I remember Gorbachev, the perestroika and the glasnost.
  • I remember the punch cards computer at the Engineering College.
  • I remember that Savarez and Augustine were classic guitar strings brands.
  • I remember "The day of Triffids" (novel).
  • I remember the movies starring Fred Astaire
  • I remember the gear lever of the Renault R4.
  • I remember a summer spent reading "In search of lost time" (7 volumes).
  • I remember an emotional piano concert of Sviatoslav Richter
  • I remember Antonio Inoki (wrestling)
  • I remember Kirk Douglas playing Bix Beiderbecke - and Ulisses too.
  • I remember bars and shops that were where now are other bars and shops.
  • I remember I confused Jean Pierre Belmondo and Clay Regazzoni. (?)
  • I remember I thought Isabelle Adjani was the most beautiful woman in the world.
  • I remember the documentary films by Jacques Cousteau.

...

Do you want to tell me any of your memories? :)

---


Sort:  

once again had a great time in reading this and great thing's you are upto all the best to you :D

un nuovo salto nel passato
ricordo le città deserte d'estate
ricordo la Pistoiese in serie A
ricordo le pedalate con il Si Piaggio in salita

Ciao Paolo! Ecco la seconda parte! Il tuo ricordo del mercurio del termomentro rotto mi ha fatto ricordare la mia meraviglia quando l'ho visto anch'io a palline rotolare sul pavimento perchè mio fratello l'aveva fatto cadere.

Mi ricordo quando sono andata al cinema per la prima volta, una sera che nevicava, a vedere "E.T. L'extraterrestre".
Mi ricordo Nikka Costa quando cantava On My Own.
Mi ricordo quando ho letto "Il buio oltre la siepe".
Mi ricordo quando giocavo con l'elastico.

La lista si fa lunga, mi fermo qua. Grazie :)

This is a great idea. More interested in the things that have to do with your life. When did you see a woman skinning a rabbit in a filed? Reminds me of the crying children I saw at summer camp who were made to kill and cook a chicken.

I saw it when I was around 5 years old. But I was not scared at all. ^^

I would have cried if I saw it killed. I had a pet bunny.

Nice and simple art you have created and that art reflects for me as the special people and situations of childhood, which makes an home in our thoughts for ever. And yes childhood is more into the local aspect, but every childhood have the common thing and that is no fear, pure smile and innocence but after grown up, life becomes like an chess board where we have to walk on both white and black. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Stay Blessed.

Listened "Jesus Christ Superstar" on a vinyl record.
The idea of ​​such posts is very interesting, perhaps I'll steal the idea from you)

fine and simple artwork you have created and that artwork displays for me because the unique human beings and situations of youth, which makes an home in our thoughts for ever.

@paoblobeneforti you did the great work on this art.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62