My Illustrated book: the memories list - part 1

in #art7 years ago (edited)

As I wrote already, I'm working to a book of illustrated memories, along the lines of Georges Perec's book "Je me souviens".

Now I'm sharing a part of the list of memories I wrote. They are 220 but many of them are not comprehensible for non-italian readers. Here is a first part of them:

  • I remember the silence of the bottom of the sea
  • I remember the school lunch and its awful food
  • I remember the tool to slice the homemade pasta
  • I remember the summer afternoons spent reading
  • I remember Hermann Hesse's novels
  • I remember that in "Nosferatu" by Werner Herzog there were amazing mountain landscapes
  • I remember "Altered states" starring William Hurt
  • I remember "The holy mountain" by Alejandro Jodorowsky
  • I remember "Paris, Texas" by Wim Wenders
  • I remember dozens of western movies
  • I remember when James Bond is almost cremated alive, in "Diamonds are forever"
  • I remember the invisible monster in "Forbidden planet"
  • I remember we had a Guinea pig. 
  • I remember I tried to imagine how Trantor could look like (in Asimov's "Foundation")
  • I remember the 11Kb/s modems
  • I remember  the Zx Spectrum, the Vic 20, the Commodore 64 and the Apple II
  • I remember the Deutsche Grammophon vinyls
  • I remember the wooden flutes
  • I remember the music paper copybooks
  • I remember the classic guitar strings Savarez and Augustine
  • I remember the dodgems
  • I remember those games at the carnival that looked easy but you didn't win ever
  • I remember the first Asterix books
  • I remember the air rifle and gun - I never had them
  • I remember I bought books of collected poems by Holderlin and Novalis
  • I remember the reams of yellow and grees tissue paper
  • I remember "The treasure isle", "The shadow line", "Captains Courageous" and "Moby Dick".
  • I remember Garcia Lorca, Neruda, Yeats and Baudelaire.
  • I remember we had a record where an actor played Garcia Lorca's poems
  • I remember phrases in Latin translated in a funny way
  • I remember the noise of a car accident, and the silence after it
  • I remember drawing on the wet sand - and on the dry sand too.
  • I remember the hated mandatory afternoon naps
  • I remember I had a motorcycle that stopped going when it rained
  • I remember the skating rinks used as dance floors.
  • I remember climbing the chestnut trees.
  • I remember "Planet of Apes" (1968) starring Charlton Heston
  • I remember the 4th Doctor Who starring Tom Baker
  • I remember "Mort Cinder", "The Eternaut", "The pilgrim of the stars
  • I remember a lot of stories with Donald Duck and Uncle $crooge.
  • I remember "Mandrake", "The Phantom" and "Dick Tracy"
  • I remember "Peanuts", "Beetle Bailey", "Bristow" and "Andy Capp".
  • I remember driving around aimlessly
  • I remember BASIC programs copied from magazines.
  • I remember the Chess Circle and a book about Bobby Fischer.
  • I remember the match Karpov-Korchnoj
  • I remember Nadia Comaneci
  • I remember Gustav Thoeni and Ingemar Stenmark
  • I remember "The Art of Fugue", "The Goldberg Variations" and Thomas Bernhard's "The loser"

1. To be continued



Sort:  

Bravo Paolo... Molto molto bello
Ricordo....

Loading...

yes, much is not clear, because I'm not Italian), but I think I caught the essence of what you wrote. I remember the series "Santa Barbara", chewing gum "love is".)

What a great project. Would love to read the book when it is finished. Off to a great start.

Waw! I used to help mom to make home made pasta.... we have a tool that looks almost the same. We received it from a friend from Italy :)

Ciao Paolo! Questo progetto è sempre più entusiasmante! La tua lista mi ha fatto ricordare molte cose ed emozioni che hanno fatto parte anche della mia vita... e mi hai fatto venire voglia di fare una lista tutta mia :) Grazie! Aspetto il seguito. A presto

Nice! Good luck for your project!

Life always teach us some experiences which will be down in the memory lane forever ....

all the best to your for you next work this is going to be great :)

That is such a cool concept! I'm really looking forward to your illustrations for a few of these :).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63885.91
ETH 2742.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65