Seriously, If You Read Just One Nonfiction...

in #books7 years ago

As made obvious in my previous posts, I lean heavily in favor of fiction when it comes to grabbing my next book. And yet, there is clearly tremendous value in reading books that are based on fact, history and the people that have lived, or do live, amongst us...

A couple of years ago, my best friend, Jesse (who admits to reading at an infrequent pace) told me that I absolutely must read a book he had stumbled upon. Knowing about Jesse's reading habits, I was immediately intrigued that he would so enthusiastically champion a book.

Jesse went on to explain that this book in particular was “life-changing” and that he would gladly lend the book to me as he had already finished it. This set more bells and whistles off in my head than at the Gotham City Fire Department when the Joker is in town. I asked him, with much doubt, “You mean, you read it in its entirety?”

Jesse had, in fact, read the complete work of non-fiction and held true to his word when he slipped the thin book into my hand the next day. Little did I know that this unassuming book held its true weight not in ounces or word count, but in the “meaning” of its contents…

Man’s Search for Meaning is a book that has been heralded as a bucket-list read by a tremendous amount of critics and was most recently noted as one of the most recommended books in Tim Ferriss’s Tribe of Mentors.

Written by Viktor Frankl, the 160 page quick read is a humbling, somber and excruciatingly honest look into the author’s own experience as a prisoner of Auschwitz and other concentration camps during World War II. However, the story is by no means a woe-is-me tale by Frankl, quite the opposite in fact. In MSFM, Dr. Frankl (who was well known for his work in medicine and philosophy) details the importance of “suffering” and how it defines what it is to be human. He even speaks to how acceptance of this idea allowed him (and others) to survive during their darkest days of imprisonment.

Frankl explains this thesis, the significance of suffering, by splitting the book into two parts. The first part details the concentration camps where he came to terms with brutal facts like calculating that he had about a “1 in 20 chance of surviving” while being held by the Nazi regime. The second part of MSFM dives into his own formation of the “Logotherapy” model that he would teach and expand upon throughout the rest of his life after the conclusion of the war.

The book is not deserving of some hasty summary by me or any other common-place reviewer. In reality, its true value is hidden within the many, many quotes and anecdotes that will leave the reader with a perspective on life that was always apparent, but perhaps all too easily neglected or ignored.

Along with the quote above, here’s a brief preview of the type of wisdom that Dr. Frankl imparts on us. This quote in particular exemplifies the theme of the book nicely:

“What man actually needs is not some tension-less state but rather the striving and struggling for some goal worthy of him.”

At such a small size, Frankl’s magnum opus is worthy of not just one read, but multiple reads throughout a lifetime. Thus, it is my hope that I can be your own “Jesse” and encourage each of you to take time to read this wonderful, moving book as soon as your lives permit you to do so. Or even better, perhaps you can put the book into the hands of somebody you hold dear.

Either way, I am certain Dr. Frankl will continue to enlighten the masses with his timeless words and unflinching reminders of what it is to be human.

Rest in peace, Doc.

Sort:  

You've got me fired up to go mining those boxes of mine again @artibeus! And when I come across my copy when filling the shelves I am rigging in my now smaller abode it will find a prominent place, reminding me of your stirring post..and bring back memories of my Mom, who gave it to me...

Awesome @clicketyclick! So glad to hear you enjoyed it and find this book to have resounding sentimental value for you. Such an incredible read and I'm happy to bring it back to you! Thanks for the great comment! Followed too!

Thanks again @arbiteus (what a thought provoking name..could you perhaps explain?)..I will simply have to start thinning out my collection - bibliomania becomes a little difficult to cope with later in life!

Hey good buddy! Oh good question about my user name...well....you'll see from my banner that I am a big Batman fan...(that's your hint). I'll give you the eve to see if you can figure out where I pulled it from... haha! Tell you tomorrow if not!

My son jumped off the roof of a backyard store room wearing his Batman suit when he was two..no broken bones fortunately!

May I guess (with some Wikipedian assistance!) that you are a vegan Batman fan? Or perhaps just a fruit loving one?

Sweet mother Mary! Glad he was ok! A fine guess, and you're certainly right to be targeting a specific type of bat... now to include one more hint...."Track 5". Haha, heading to bed my friend. Hit ya up in the morn!

The track names from this awesome album are all genuses of bats. Wifey picked which one I should use, so @artibeus I became!

Lovely interplay between the two of you!

Thanks for being my Jesse. I've heard of this book in the past but somehow it's managed to slip out my clutches.

I know what I'm going to be buying for my Kindle tonight. Very well written post, it really had some punch to it.

Thanks @calumam! Really appreciate the kind words! Followed you so don't hesitate to let me know when you read Frankl's finest work. Thanks again!

Excellent review. I haven’t read this book. I guess I need to add it to the list.

A heartful review with respect toward Dr Frankl.

Such a great book. A life-changer.

I know the name, but I until I read this review I wasn't truly aware of just who Victor Frankl was. This book sounds like an incredible read. I love the central premise he seems to be expounding. May just have to add yet another book to my list.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 31 (1/31/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Artibeus from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Awesome post, I will definitely be adding this to my list.

I read that a few years ago and just found my review of it. Seems I found it equally as profound!

Here's the review I wrote about this book back in 2011: http://sunbane.com/2011/02/mans-search-for-meaning-by-viktor-frankl/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64476.22
ETH 3153.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54