Sort:  

PSAS approves of this post!

I still use this tool for World of Kedra.

Anike sent it to me years ago and I have used it to define over 70 characters.

Whoa. 70?! Dude, that's impressive.

Yeah!

I don't try to look at the end result all the time, the end result is a surprise for myself as well.

70 is a loose number, around 9 of them are from the Raiders series, only 4 of which has been seen on Steemit.

Raiders has slowly gotten me back into Kedra as a whole and these Character Profiles and the other Bashnotes from the heart of it all.

Very interesting tool. I suppose at any time during the development of a story, these may be filled out - during, or as you do, before it all takes form? I suppose it certainly helps like a continuity professional would be doing on a movie set, to keep things nice, tidy and making sense.

Yes, it's meant to help with organisation at any point during the writing of the story and to help keep consistency. I prefer having this information available before I begin a long piece. It can still serve after the story is written as well, if one is so inclined.

Oh this is great. Very detailed questionnaire that's bound to come in handy. Thanks!

Thanks, 3B! And you're welcome, haha.

So, this is utterly fantastic! I love that you combine science fiction and social justice. I combine theatre and social justice..and have often done stuff with a dystopian twist. That’s my favorite kind of thing. Really excited to find you on here (love this piece as a resource) and cannot wait to scope more. Followed/resteemed/you name it.

Oh, thank you! I'm flattered. Love dystopian work, sets the field for a lot of social critique.

WHOA! Anike, this is a remarkable work! It's probably the most underated post I've ever seen. I can't wait to give the tool a try.

Thanks! I hope it helps some. (^^,)

Wondering: do you apply this breakdown to most of your characters in a book, or do you tend to restrict it to only a few main characters?

For most characters, the info out of this is -in-case-needed, where I'll only include elements as needed in the story itself where ever it feels it would naturally come up. I usually plan ahead before writing, so I don't yet know what will be needed before I start the story.

More my main characters, the info shows up more frequently, especially because I enjoy 3rd limited/deep POV writing and this knowledge flows into the story more often than other characters'. Again, only using what feels natural to arise within the story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54391.40
ETH 2283.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29