TinyReads #2: When The Tables Are Turned

in #fiction7 years ago

Hi guys!

I'm back to torture you with another audio story. This one is the story that brought me to what was still called The Fiction Workshop at the time. It later evolved into The Writers' Block.

It's the first short story I ever wrote and posted to Steemit, and in the 5 months since then, I've learned a lot, evolved as a writer. I recently read it again, and I could have sworn that the last update of that post contained a different, newer, more polished version. I distinctly remember because I updated it right before it got locked onto the blockchain.

After seeing that, it wouldn't let me go and so I edited it again, keeping in mind all the things I've learned so far in my journey as a writer.

Here it is.

I posted this newer version of the story on my off-Steem page.

The original version can be found here.

This story, in whatever form you end up sharing it with me, means a lot to me. Both posts contain some of the background information surrounding the story.

Hugs

Tiny


The TinyReads series have their own little folder on my Steemshelf. Feel free to come and visit me there or on my blog page.

The Writer’s Block is a home to writers from every corner of the world, and from every discipline that involves the written word. I consider myself lucky to have found this amazing community. Not only have I found help, support and encouragement there, but I’ve found people who feel the same way I do about writing. I’ve found a second family there. Do you write? Would you love to be a part of a community that can help you learn and improve your writing skill? Our door is always open for kindred spirits. Come and pay us a visit by pointing your pointy thingie at the animation below and clicking.







Sort:  

Wow. Just wow.

Hearing you read this makes the emotional impact even heavier. What a story, and of course you have a voice that could melt butter. I'd say it was a pleasant listen if it weren't for the terrible subject of the story. Your audio stories are well read and I'm sure we could all listen to you for hours.

Wow. Just wow.

You do realise your opinion means a lot to me, right? I'm humbled by your response to this. Thank you SO much for saying that. All of it.

I am really glad of hear your voice. I believe that audio stories (or audio books) are a fundamental part of the literary universe.
I remember that when I was a child, my first approaches to literature took place with audio books. It is beautiful to have this here in this community.
I've even been thinking about uploading podcast with poetry.

Bless
Sei

Thank you, Sei. That's very nice to hear (read). I've very much enjoyed doing these audio stories, and will probably continue to record readings of all of my stories. Stay tuned for more. ;-)

This is such a beautiful, heart-wrenching story, and you have such a lovely reading voice! I was absolutely mesmerized. You should read for Audible. (In your copious free time. Ha!)

Thank you for sharing this. I haven't read the original, but I think it's great that you are following your own progress. Community and support make all the difference, don't they?

Thank you, Jayna. Your opinion means a lot to me. I was a bit worried, when reading this one, that it would be confusing with all the dialogue sections, but I think it turned out OK. The reason why this particular piece is so important to me, is explained in both of the written posts, should you want to know more about it. ;-)

And yes. Community, support and encouragement really do make all the difference.

Hugs

Oh yes. I am very curious about the background. I know it is based on your real life experience and work. But... off I go to pursue the full back story.

I like the original story too! My lingering question... was Lily okay??

Writing really is excellent therapy for all the life stuff we go through. It's a great way to get things out of our tortured minds and put them down on paper (even if it is theoretical paper) where we can be a bit more objective.

I couldn't do the work you do. I'd be in therapy full time, honestly.

Lily spent one week in a coma after her surgery and none of us expected her to survive. She did though. But she woke up hemiplegic and with trouble speaking.

She's fought hard, the last 20 months though. She learned to walk and to control her right arm again and she's trying to get her drivers' license right now. She'll never return to radiology, but we hope she'll be able to come back in an admin function.

She knows this story is out there, but she doesn't feel ready to read it yet. That day broke both of us a little bit, I think.

hugs

the first time, i ever listen to an audiobook and loved it. I like the presentation and the emotional impact it makes.

Wow. That's a big compliment. Thank you.

You have the voice of an Angel. I could listen to you read a nursery story and love it.
But this piece, I'm sensing has some meaning behind it.
Wonderful, Tiny. Just wonderful.

Thank you so much, John. You know your opinion means a lot to me.

Hugs

Congratulations! This exceptional post has been featured in Episode 8 of The STEEM Engine Express Podcast. Click the link to hear what I had to say, and keep up the good work!

Wow. Thank you so much! I'm honoured to be featured in your podcast.

You're very welcome! Glad I can promote your writing. We're very glad to have you at The STEEM Engine!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85