Week 10/29/2019 - Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

in #contest5 years ago

presents (4).png

A Favorite Freewrite

Every Tuesday, you have a chance to win a membership to Steem Basic Income, SBI, at the Freewrite House.

Try to win one, my friends. An everlasting vote on your posts is nothing to sneeze at.

We want to make it super easy for you. Your task is to tell us in the comment section about one - or more- freewrites of others you have read in the last couple of days you really liked. Yup, not your own!!

The comment must be at least 50 words long - no upper limit 🤪

See the rules below for details.



In an ideal world, you also give that person a nice upvote - but we are not going to check on that.

To be entered into the drawing, go to the Daily Prompt post by @mariannewest. We are doing our best to resteem them to the Freewrite house profile.
Read as many Freewrites as you can. Then tell us about a freewrite you really liked and why.
Choose from the last couple of days if possible so others can go, visit, and, inspired by your description, leave a vote.



Win, Win, Win!!!

You Tell Us for a Chance to Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income

3 Steem Basic Income from @freewritehouse - let us know if you like to sponsor this contest

3 x 100% upvote from the Freewrite House

We decided to give out more rewards on this contest since it has been one of our more popular contests.



The Rules

This is what you have to do for your chance to win a membership:

  • Leave us a comment as specified above
  • Remember, the comment must have at least 50 words

Here are a couple of free word count tools:
http://wordcounttool.net/
https://www.countofwords.com

At 8 PM Pacific time the Thursday after the publishing of this post, we will close the contest and draw the winner through a random drawing tool.

The winner will be announced and sponsored soon after.



Steem Basic Income

Steem Basic Income is a social experiment to bring a basic income to as many Steemians as possible. Members join by sponsoring others into the program. Steem Basic Income is delivered through providing regular upvotes to member content.



Finding a Freewrite

If you are not familiar with the daily freewrite prompt and the many wonderful writers who produce the most amazing 5-minute (or sometimes much longer) Freewrites, go to @mariannewest and look for the prompt. The graphics look like this


Imgur

In the comments, you find lots of links to all kind of freewrites.



You Can Be Part of the Freewrite House!!

Find out how here Post is past payout, please do not vote on it.



Ol53yrO.png

Make sure to participate in all the fun events at the Freewrite House

Regular Features

  • WE-Write
  • Recommend your Favorite Freewrite and Win SBI - Tuesday
  • Freewrite Favorites.
  • Beta Reader Group -ongoing
  • Author Reading

Do you have an idea for a contest? Let us know!

Ol53yrO.png

Join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Join the Freewrite daily prompt

freewrite-2-350.png

Get some awesome Freewrite House Swag here

Sort:  

I'd like to recommend the Damp Conditions
free write by @myjob, well actually, I'd like to recommend all of her free writes for there's rarely a dull moment in any of them.
She writes in such a matter of fact way, this time about a hurricane destroying her home, living in a tent then a camper for 18 months whilst rebuilding, only to have her refurbished place seized by the local authorities six months later. It's a catalogue of disasters to be sure, but deftly told and well worth a read.

Some freewrites hit you deeply. The one entitled Bitch by @mariannewest did that for me. I know those feelings well and I understand. I experienced a spiritual awakening that comes in a relationship where person that you are with has nothing but insults to throw at you. There was a time I remained silent no matter what the insults were but then I remember coming to myself one day and responding back to the insult with "As a matter of fact, I am a bitch. Do you enjoy what you created?" There's really only two directions you can go in this type of a relationship, you can believe it and learn to hate yourself or you can rise above it and walkaway. I chose to do what this character did... I walked away. Great job, @mariannewest!

Thank you @wandrnrose7 for sharing your perspective and for calling attention to the issues as well as the the post itself. I had also nominated this one; @mariannewest rarely finds time for actual freewriting with all the other busy-work here, so I was happy to see any post from her, and most particularly, this one. The prompt "cold person" leads us to a woman who's been labeled and demeaned one time many. What does it take to ~wake up~ for those who fall in love with a manipulative, soul-killing narcisisst? I'm told it happens in a flash of awareness after years of denial. Readers, if you know someone in this situation, it will only backfire to say "You need to leave that loser." To me it's the hardest thing in the world to show support and withhold comment when a loved one is suffering the consequences of trusting a bad^ss. Thank you both for writing about it.

This really was an excellent piece, @Carolkean. I encourage anyone in this type of relationship, male or female, to consider the source and recognize that they are being manipulated.

Posted using Partiko Android

I hear you!!
I do know women in this situation. (Too many.)
More than one was hospitalized with a punctured lung after a beating.
One of those ended up raising the daughter of her abusive boyfriend, who ended up with some other woman and their offspring. On the bright side, she never saw her abuser again, but someone else was living with him. She also raised a beautiful daughter, who is now married. Her mother died of cancer shortly after this daughter's high school graduation. Too young, too beautiful!
And what did it take for her to break free of her abuser?
The punctured lung?
Or, 'I'm having your baby' finally scared him off?
This daughter, as far as I know, has never learned the story of her father.
Too many of us know women in these situations.
Staging an intervention, as far as I can tell, would work only if we removed the abuser from the scene. Exile him to Siberia. Jail him.
Don't get me started on the police and domestic violence....

Time for the weekly freewrite recommendation once again. I challenged myself to do this on a regular basis.

I got interested when I read this freewrite. Plus, it said to be continued I don't want to spoil your fun, but I will most definitely wait for the continuation. ^_^ I love the Halloween vibe....

From @honeydue

The Bedtime Man (freewrite story)

I read the first part last week. I thought the story needed an ending. True enough, there's a second part. Now, I'm actually waiting for more... I love the mystery part. So what's going to happen next? ^_^

From @justclickindiva

The Package - Part 2: The smell from within (Weekend Freewrite - Single Prompt Option) 10/26/19

Thank you so much for your recommendation @iamraincrystal. So glad you liked Margaritte's story. Final installment coming soon

@inthenow no added sugar - I can relate to this, imagine going to a restaurant and being served something without taste, yuck, I love how he told his story, straight and precise. https://steemit.com/nonfiction/@inthenow/where-the-hell-is-the-sugar

@wwwiebe gut feeling - Talks about her life as a parent and it reminded me of your mom, she's not good at singing but she'll never agree, I always tell her to stop singing,she also loves yelling...
https://steempeak.com/@wwwiebe/a-freewrite-gut-feeling

Posted using Partiko Android

I recommend @inthenow with Trick and treat. No need to tell (most of) you what the subject of the freewrite is. If you don't know it I tell you "Halloween".

There is no Halloween custom in my country and it is clear the world the writer lives in is not as big as mine. Nevertheless there is an interesting question about change of habit if it comes to celebrations asked. The only thing I can do is agree with the writer. Stubborn me would not join the new habit and stay home and... no treats!

You can read yourself and leave the writer a comment or better upvote.
Happy (Hallo ween)Day. 💕

https://steemit.com/@inthenow/trick-or-treat

LOL! I was going to recommend that one!

@carolkean what keeps you 😂 two recommendations is always better as one. 😁💕

What stops me: the extra work typing it all up for Friday Favorites! 😂

You can copy-paste me 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the recommendation, very much appreciated. :D Yes I do tend to keep my world small, way up in the mountains. I like it like that, although I've been around. ;-) Have a great day.

@inthenow nothing wrong with that, my world is small too and I love it. I wish you a great day. ❤️

This week I recommend three publications that have caught my attention:

Thank you so much for your recommendation, @felixgarciap. I really appreciate all of your support.

Unless you have been living under a rock, you know how much work @fitnfun puts into helping others on this platform. Here you can find a long list of people and communities that she represents. She also just found out that she won the Conference Fee to STEEMfest in Bangkok. Congratulations Sharon on your well deserved win! She needs help for other expenses. Find out how you can help by reading her post.
https://steemit.com/busy/@fitinfun/who-do-i-represent-at-steemfest-freewrite-day-739

I always like a fun freewrite that makes me smile and @nathanthewise did just that. He tells how he is a big fan of freewriting in a fun way with a beat that will surely brighten your day.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@nathanthewise/you-best-be-representing-when-you-get-to-the-podium

This is so nice of you, @whatisnew. Thank you for the recommendation and compliments. I will have a good budget soon and think I need $75 usd by Monday when I leave. It is a nail biter!

The pleasure was all mine Sharon. Good to hear that you will have the traveling money you need. It is always a nail biter with you! LOL! Have a safe trip and a fun time. : )

Yes it is, @whatisnew. Trying to get the money to pay the hostel cost now. Ergh...

Considering that horror is not my genre either. I usually write to escape, but I was remembering some darker personal episodes which happened to me when I was younger. (Mr. Neil, in the comment section)

And here's another--this one by @wwwiebe:

We all know that girls are made of "sugar and spice and everything nice" and that boys.. well.. they aren't. We boys are apparently made of used motor oil, the odour of a neverending tire fire, and probably over-ripe avocado.


#Curie! This one just got curied a few hours ago! Congratulations, @sarez, and thank you, @curie, for all you do to reward creators.

I have two out of three fictions today. Such a change. Also taking this chance to say I will not do reminder work for Sunday's prompt for the next two weeks due to STEEMFest travel.

Excellent and interesting story by @wwwiebe - stolen format or not. I would like to see this tale continue. Very entertaining.

https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@wwwiebe/a-fictional-freewrite-cold-person

@wonderwop is partying in the cold Texas night and making me miss the place!

https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@wonderwop/day-740-freewrite-wednesday-cold-person

Nice to see the lawn chair back from @bashadow with a fast paced and interesting tale.

https://steempeak.com/justbecause/@bashadow/day-740-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-cold-person-a-lawn-chair-story-cold-lady-s-revenge

Hello @freewritehouse,

Here my entry to the contest:

Seeing the rules of this contest I thought: very interesting contest, it is a good opportunity to find a writer who is starting on steemit who is undervalued by his very condition of being new to the platform. So, I looked for a while until I found @naitore, who defines himself as an unpredictable writer. With less than fifteen days on Steemit, he has published a series of short stories, the last of his stories: Short Fiction # 12 | Pause, Play, Pause, I thought it was very good. I think it has a lot of potential for you to be encouraged to read their stories.

As he becomes familiar with the rules and forms of steemit he will be more successful. He quotes the sources of the images he uses, but not the link, I suppose it is due to ignorance.

https://steemit.com/writing/@naitore/short-fiction-12-or-pause-play-pause

We are so happy that you are participating in this contest. Just one little thing. This contest is to support the freewriters - a group of people who are participating in the daily freewrite prompt. You find the prompt @mariannewest . It is published daily around 7 am Pacific time. Anyone can participate and this contest is one way to support the writers that do. You are invited to participate as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57872.51
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25