You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Week 10/29/2019 - Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

in #contest5 years ago (edited)

Some freewrites hit you deeply. The one entitled Bitch by @mariannewest did that for me. I know those feelings well and I understand. I experienced a spiritual awakening that comes in a relationship where person that you are with has nothing but insults to throw at you. There was a time I remained silent no matter what the insults were but then I remember coming to myself one day and responding back to the insult with "As a matter of fact, I am a bitch. Do you enjoy what you created?" There's really only two directions you can go in this type of a relationship, you can believe it and learn to hate yourself or you can rise above it and walkaway. I chose to do what this character did... I walked away. Great job, @mariannewest!

Sort:  

Thank you @wandrnrose7 for sharing your perspective and for calling attention to the issues as well as the the post itself. I had also nominated this one; @mariannewest rarely finds time for actual freewriting with all the other busy-work here, so I was happy to see any post from her, and most particularly, this one. The prompt "cold person" leads us to a woman who's been labeled and demeaned one time many. What does it take to ~wake up~ for those who fall in love with a manipulative, soul-killing narcisisst? I'm told it happens in a flash of awareness after years of denial. Readers, if you know someone in this situation, it will only backfire to say "You need to leave that loser." To me it's the hardest thing in the world to show support and withhold comment when a loved one is suffering the consequences of trusting a bad^ss. Thank you both for writing about it.

This really was an excellent piece, @Carolkean. I encourage anyone in this type of relationship, male or female, to consider the source and recognize that they are being manipulated.

Posted using Partiko Android

I hear you!!
I do know women in this situation. (Too many.)
More than one was hospitalized with a punctured lung after a beating.
One of those ended up raising the daughter of her abusive boyfriend, who ended up with some other woman and their offspring. On the bright side, she never saw her abuser again, but someone else was living with him. She also raised a beautiful daughter, who is now married. Her mother died of cancer shortly after this daughter's high school graduation. Too young, too beautiful!
And what did it take for her to break free of her abuser?
The punctured lung?
Or, 'I'm having your baby' finally scared him off?
This daughter, as far as I know, has never learned the story of her father.
Too many of us know women in these situations.
Staging an intervention, as far as I can tell, would work only if we removed the abuser from the scene. Exile him to Siberia. Jail him.
Don't get me started on the police and domestic violence....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58102.40
ETH 3065.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26