Divorcing Sugar

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

I typically add sugar to coffee or tea, but there is no added sugar in my Chex cereal. My favorite cereal is Corn Chex cereal by Nabisco.

If I want anything sweet in my corn Chex I add fresh blueberries. If I have them, I substitute sugar with strawberries.

I've never been one to use granulated sugar on cereal. If I buy a sweet cereal then the cereal has more than enough sugar!

When I see people put tablespoons of sugar in their tea or coffee I think they must like a little bit of beverage with their sugar. I mean no disrespect to my Southern friends who truly love sweet tea. No one knows how to make Southern sweet tea like southerners! My daughter married someone from Alabama and when you taste real sweet tea from down south it is almost like a syrup! I visited my daughter in Oneonta, Alabama and I ordered the sweet tea at the local restaurant. If I go out and I order sweet tea from fast food places like McDonald's or other drive-thrus I ask them to please cut the tea with water by at least half. Even then sweet tea is overly sweet in my humble opinion.

My fiance, Jeff, is a true coffee drinker. He drinks his coffee black and strong. I get it, but I just can't drink it!

The older I get the more I try to reduce the quantity of sweetened beverages I drink and I try to stick to things like water or lightly sweetened tea.

Recently, I've even started drinking tea like Teavana tea without sugar or with just a hint of honey. Raw honey is delicious and better for you then processed sugars. When I do choose to use sugar I now opt for raw, organic sugar. I've gotten so accustomed to the flavor of raw organic sugar that I can no longer drink beverages with processed white sugar.

This sugar reduction is quite a step for me. As a child I craved sugar and and sweets. Graduating to less and less sugar from my childish fondness for sugar included eating sugar cubes straight up or spooning brown sugar when my parents left the house.

What big diet changes do you recognize from your youth?

SRC

This is my five minute freewrite using prompt no added sugar.
Check out @mariannewest daily prompts and join in with @freewritehouse for opportunities to win Steem Basic Income weekly!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

@wandrnrose7 You have really given a master class in the use of sugar. Good recommendations that Mary
should follow.

Banana on my cereals! That's how I used to eat it. Good times

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm here to deliver the Tuesday prompt so please write us another!

https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-739-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-represent

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thank you @owasco 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

sounds like you and are have been on parallel sugar habits for years. As a kid, sugar cubes were my favorite. Now I hardly use any sugar at all except for raw honey in my yogurt for breakfast. Once I cut back on sugar, I found most desserts to be way too sweet.

@awasco I agree with you. I think it is similar to salt usage. I rarely salt, either.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68220.71
ETH 3321.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74