The Man Who Lived In A Box

in #freewrite5 years ago

"Where is he?"

"Where is who?"

"You know you."

"I thought he was with you."

"No, he's not."

"Maybe he's in the box."

"I'd know if he was."

There's rumbling coming from the box. The very big box which is used for sending bundles of clothes and goods back home to the family.

"He's in the box."

This story is not exactly true. It isn't meant to be. But it is believable.

This story brings back memories of a time when I once lived in a box. So much so, that I will diverge from the story of the boy in the box.

Therefore, this is the story of a young man in a box.

A young man has lots of pressures to face. He is still young. There are many expectations put upon him. The young man can sometimes be caught between those pressures and what he believes to be right. A whirlwind of emotions. Highs and lows. It can be somewhat scary.

For the young man, the box is not a physical item. It is not like being stuck with a bundle of clothes. Living in a box is a state of mind.

Not everything in life has gone as planned and I had been looking for answers in the wrong places. I was looking for the highs in the sky for the answers. Instead of keeping my feet on the ground. One foot would have been a good start.

I'm not sure I want to think about the past anymore. Thankfully, my life has moved on.

Let's go back to the lighter story about the boy in the box.

"Hi Daddy. I was stuck in the box. I don't want to be stuck in a box."

"I don't want you to either," I replied.

image

A freewrite exercise with prompts delivered by @mariannewest

Thank you for reading. If you enjoyed this, you can read some more stories;.

Website featuring my favourite freewrite stories
Mr Neil’s Stories

Facebook Page which you can like and share if you so wish
Mr Neil World Of Stories Facebook Page

YouTube Channel featuring recordings of some of my favourite stories
YouTube Channel

Sort:  

Hopefully we are all released from the box. Excellent freewrite.

Thank you. A much darker and personal freewrite than my norm. Glad you liked it.

You seem to be using older version of eSteem!
Please update to newest version to get most out of eSteem, Install Android, iOS mobile app. For desktop Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

You remind me (in a good way!) of one of the very rare horror writers I ever read (I avoid horror!) - and only a great writer can get me to read horror:
Harvey Click, The Bad Box

What a compliment, thank you. Considering that horror is not my genre either. I usually write to escape, but I was remembering some darker personal episodes which happened to me when I was younger. Thank you again.

Posted using Partiko Android

Writing horror to escape it may be just as useful as writing Disney-Lite to escape horror. "What you resist persists." You brought it around to a good place, if I read it right! (You're most welcome!)

Congratulations!

Your post was nominated for this week's

Freewrite House Favorites from Your Recommendations - Week 10/29/2019

Coming Friday!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56769.47
ETH 2402.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30