Day 733: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: damp conditions

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Wednesday prompt damp conditions hosted by @mariannewest

In 2005 we went to my brother's house in north Fl because of hurricane Francis. When we returned home I realized I left all the windows open, we had lots of damp conditions. We did not have A/C in the house and the window always stayed open, it was an old house and had 10 windows in the living room. The couch was the only thing that was soaked to no return.

Not long after hurricane Francis, we had another one coming at us but since we had no real damage from the first one we decided to stay in the house. Hurricane Gene hit us and we were in the eyewall. Our house had rolled roofing in the living room and it "unrolled" the part that came up was slamming into the side of the house and water was coming in everywhere. I look back on it now and wonder why I did this but I was running around with everything I could get my hands on to catch the water that was pouring in. I put a big tote in the doorway to the utility closet and it was full in no time at all. Water was running through the breaker box and we still had power, it went out later. One window was trying to blow out and my husband was trying to hold it in until he realized he could get cut up and let it go, it flew into the yard and the glass did not break. They do not make them like that anymore.

After the storm was over, we set our tent up in the back yard, with all the damp conditions in the house it did not take long till mold started growing, the black kind, it was filling the house up. We had a cold front come through while we were in the tent, it rained and the wind blew so hard that one side collapsed. That morning my husband told me to go into the house and get the computer and set it up in the tent. We had a generator and we never lost the phone line, we had dial-up internet. He found a camper that the people wanted way too much money for but we bought it and lived in it for 18 months while we rebuilt our house.

Sort:  

Wow! What a terrible ordeal! I'm glad you could rebuild. Hugs

Posted using Partiko Android

@wandrnrose7 yes, we did most of the work ourselves and got to live there for 6 months, and got a letter from the county they were going to build a road and they took our home which was paid off. eminent domain they called it.

The hurricane sure did a lot of damage, myjob. Lucky you folks never got hurt. It’s a devastating thing what you went through. 💗

@redheadpei We have been through several hurricanes but that was the only one that did any amount of bad damage, I am so thankful the last one did not hit us and also I feel bad for the people in the Bahamas, it just sat on them, I can not imagine going through that.

Wow. Crazy!! It must have been really scary - and all the water mixed with electricity. Sounds like a bit of luck that the computer survived. But certainly not the black mold. That stuff is terrible!!

@mariannewest when the roof went we had one room that was not leaking water and we carried all electronics in there or we would have lost them. My husband is deathly allergic to the black mold so it was up to me to treat it with bleach. Then he bought a respirator and could help me, we had to strip the house down to the studs the mold was between all the walls, it was a mess.

WOW, Just WOW!!!

My Mom lives down there and I know the black mold you are talking about. I hope this now finds you very safe in your rebuilt house!

@snook I am safe but the County took my rebuilt home to build a road, they tore the house down but never built the road. I was very upset because for years I lived in an old house and always wished I had the money to fix it up, after the hurricane we had the money to rebuild how we wanted it to be and got to live in it for 6 months.

Crazy how those hurricanes hit or miss a location. I'm glad you're still with us @myjob 💕

MomentCam_2019102409271206201000601020.gif
Freewrite.png
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-734-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-red-tongue

Posted using Partiko Android

@wonderwop thank you for the prompt. Hurricanes seem to be getting stronger, I have lived in Florida most of my life, I was born here and moved away for 7 years, and we never had this many cat 4 and 5's. My husband says it is because of global warming.

Congratulations!

Your post was nominated for this week's

Freewrite House Favorites from Your Recommendations - Week 10/29/2019

Coming Friday!

@carolekean thank you, I am honored that you like my post enough to recommend it for freehouse favorites

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68125.63
ETH 3308.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74