When a Boy becomes a Man

in #fiction5 years ago



When a Boy becomes a Man.


Zoko ran down the road looking for the ice cream man. His mother had finally saved up enough money. The quarter pressed so tightly in his hand he would have an imprint in his palm of an eagle for days. Today he could be like the other kids. His heart beat faster.

Oh, to be able to get what his friends did. To not have to wonder how good something was. The joy! He had homemade ice cream before. He had lived on a farm after all. Today of all days he needed to feel like the other kids though. He needed to feel normal again.



The ice cream truck stopped with the music blaring. Zoko looked in awe at the drawings of all the choices he could have. Did he want chocolate? A cone? Raspberry flavored? He just didn't know until three words caught his eye. He knew then what he was meant to do. It all became clear in a glance.

All the children made their choices. Zoko was next. He looked at the man very seriously. In a steady, clear voice, he ordered an orange sherbert Push-up pop. Handing his sweaty quarter over to the ice cream man Zoko knew this was meant to be.



Treat in hand Zoko looked at the group of kids sitting under the shaded tree unwrapping their ice cream treats. He smiled and waved. He was happy today. He felt he belonged.

Glancing down at his hands he knew he had little time. The Push-up was already softening. Holding the frozen Push-up with the care, Zoko ran back to his Aunts.

Running in the front door Zoko forgot and let it slam shut. Auntie Greta yelled at the top of her lungs to be quiet because his Mother was sleeping.

"Yes'em. Sorry, Auntie!". Zoko replied out of habit.



He quietly opened his Mom's bedroom door, hoping she was awake. The Push-up was getting really squishy now. Taking two steps into the room he saw his Mom's eyes flutter and open. He let out a sigh of relief.

Zoko's Mom's eyes opened wide with disbelief when she saw what was in her son's hands. Opening her mouth to ask questions she was stopped by the look on her son's face. Her breath caught in her throat.

Zoko, love shining out of his eyes for his Mom slowly walked to the bed. He gently handed her the orange sherbert Pop-up while smiling from ear to ear. His mom loved ice cream so much. He missed the look of joy radiating from her face when eating ice cream on Sunday nights.

Mom was getting ready to speak when Zoko could not contain himself any longer. With his voice squeaking a tiny bit he told her this...



"No sugar added Mom."

"Diabetes will never keep you from your ice cream!"

"I promise!"



This post was for today's Day 738: 5 Minute Freewrite

Day 6 @Inthenow 😹

Never ask someone to do something you are not willing to do!



Help someone smile today. It can not hurt you.


Love,

Snook



Photo found here and here



Ecoinstant has made his own token called INCOME token! based off of Units of SBI. You can read more about it in his post basic INCOME daily draw for 10/27/2019



Steem Witness's I support

Enginewitty!, Jackmiller!, Guiltyparties!, C0ff33a / Deranged!

Sweet footer made by @enginewitty!

Sort:  

Heart string story there sis, well done!

Thank You!! I thought you would like this one!!!

HUGS

ki.png

What a great story, nicely done! I remember when a quarter would actually buy some things lol. Where have all the good times gone?

HA! the good old quarter that use to be worth so much :D

and Thank You!!!

I love it! Orange sherbert push ups were among my favorites! Great story!

Posted using Partiko Android

Mine too :D

Thank You!!!!!

That is such a nice story! I was not expecting that twist, and such a nice one at that!

!tip

Thank You!!!! I was surprised how it turned out too :D

🎁 Hi @snook! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @wwwiebe!

@wwwiebe wrote lately about: Trunk Or Treat: A Crappy Camera Extravaganza Feel free to follow @wwwiebe if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

@snook. A whole odyssey to buy an ice cream for his mother. For the character in my story I thought of the sweet butter cookies that I can't consume now. Regards

Thank you so much for stopping to read.

I love sweet butter cookies. I am so sorry you can not have them :(

Awww, such a sweet little boy!

Thank You!!!

What a sweet story!! You are rocking it!!

Thank You!!!!

I am having so much fun!!

It made me cry! :( well done!

I know well what is being poor as a child (still) but when I was very young I face poverty and I knew back then also what was not being able to share or talk about what other kids would have because they were treats I would just couldn't afford. Still I'd give met to my mum too. After my parents separated we faced again some hard times, I moved in with my mum and things were very tight, but I remember the joy of buying a canned can of peaches for Xmas and so we ate it together, and it was the most delicious thing I ever tasted.

Ohhhhhhhhhh :(

I did not mean to make you cry.... I am sorry!!

and yes, I know the feeling too of growing up like this too.

Your peach's story touches my heart. My Mom loves peaches too!!

Great memories. Thank You for sharing!

Oh no, please don't be sorry, it really moved me, and I believe that the biggest richness we have is kindness. I don't think I've ever shared publicly that peaches story, but It kind of poured out my mouth in emotion. Thanks for replying cos I get to vote on this again :) even with my dust minnow vote :) it makes me happy! I told you once, you have a gift for storytelling! :* blessings! Pris

Love You!! and Thank you for being a friend!!

HUGS

Hugs to you from Spain!

@paintingangels you must read this one!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @yidneth.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68220.71
ETH 3321.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74