Pilsner Urquell: An Amateurish Beer Review

in #beer6 years ago (edited)

Everyone knows what a "pilsner beer" is, right? Pale, golden lagers based on beers from Bohemia have been so influential that "lager" and "pilsner" are often used interchangeably. Well, today I am writing about the original: Pilsner Urquell, brewed in the city of Plzeň/Pilsen, Czech Republic.


Image credit

I know it's popular to say that European beers, especially those from the region including Germany, the Czech Republic, and Austria, are better than American beers. While I would argue that American microbreweries have made a strong case for the existence of good American beer, I would have to agree that this imported lager is far superior to anything from AB Inbev or MillerCoors.

Pilsner Urquel is a well-balanced brew. It's not overly sweet, overly hopped, or overdone in any other way. It's a bit more sour than the usual US macrobrews, but it isn't distasteful by any means. The finish is fairly dry, and doesn't leave a lingering taste of wet paper towel like another reviewer aptly described for that awful 10 Barrel Pub Beer I recently reviewed. This beer is only 4.4% ABV, so it's in the strength range of typical American lagers. The bottle is 330mL, or 11.2 oz. as compared to a typical 12 oz. American longneck bottle. These happen to be brown glass bottles, so the product was not skunked despite being transported under unknown conditions and displayed for an unknown length of time under fairly bright light. Never forget, clear glass is not your friend, and green isn't much better.

All told, I would recommend this brew. Give it a try if you find it. It's definitely among my favorite pale lagers now.


Amateurish Beer Review Archive


If you like this post, please comment, follow, and resteem!

coins

Sort:  

If you like Pilsner Urquell you should try Riegele, they serve it on tap at my local pub and it goes down a treat!

Man, I really wish I had the palette to enjoy beer. I've tried dozens of different kinds of brews and they all just taste very similar to me and I'm just not a fan. Sounds like it's a pretty good beer at least for you though, man. I'll just stick with having the occasional whiskey or cocktail and be happy with that, I guess, haha.

To each his own. I don't care for wine, for example, no matter how much wine drinkers promote them.

Oh, yeah, I also am not a fan of wine. Especially since the one time I got drunk on it I had a massive fucking migraine the next day. The worst I've ever had from drinking in fact.

A solid Pilsner - its I think the most famous of the Czech beers, for good reason!

Unlike Budweiser, which is the most famous of American beers, for bad reasons!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05