Widmer Brothers Drop Top Amber Ale: An Amateurish Beer Review

in #beer7 years ago

Time to go back to microbrews. This is another beer from Widmer Brothers Brewing, and I like it better than the other amber ale I reviewed some time ago. Like the Widmer Brothers Hefe, this is definitely a step up from the usual macrobrewery fare.

5.3% ABV and 18 IBU isn't particularly strong. It doesn't feel too watery, and it smells like a proper beer. If I have any complaints about this, it's a bit on the sweet side, but it's not obnoxiously cloying.

It does seem to contain lactose according to RateBeer, so those with a dairy allergy may want to skip it. I do hope it doesn't make me ill, because I did not know this until I got to this point in writing my review. Hmm. One doesn't expect to encounter dairy in a beer, unless it's a milk stout.


Amateurish Beer Review Archive


SteemVerify

If you like this post, please comment, follow, and resteem!

Sort:  

I'd be very surprised is it had much lactose in it - even milk stout s only have small amounts and it's in the name. How much is not much? - I'm using my homebrewing knowledge, converting from litres to bottles etc - I think maybe 2 or 3 grams at most. Summary - I'm sure you'll be fine.

Instead of water we got here a draught of beer…a life drink, which would acclimate and naturalize a man at once—which would make him see green, and, if he slept, dream that he heard the wind sough among the pines.”

Yessss, you did some nice beers.

You might like to add this post to our weekly running Steemit #BeerSaturday Challenge where we have prizes with 15SBD and a lot of fun among many beer lovers.

Have a look to the challenge and the rules at this link.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.23
ETH 2545.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67