Hale's Barrel Aged Wheat Wine - An Amateurish Beer Review

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

label

Source: Hale's Brewery of Seattle, WA

I couldn't find a lot of info on this brew. I found it on sale at an extreme discount in a local grocery store, so I assume it's a discontinued product that found little local audience. The bottle was sealed in white wax in addition to a typical crown cap, and I assume this is an extra pretentious touch to add to the perceived prestige of the contents. From the label:

Hale's Wheatwine is honey colored and hopped with El Dorado hops and aged in 3rd generation whiskey barrels. You'll taste oak and just a hint of whiskey in this vibrant beer.

This stuff is just weird. Unlike Miller Fortune, which is awful stuff by the way, this does actually taste like there's a hint of whiskey. The hops balance seems about right, although it's a bit sweeter than I like. The alcohol content is quite apparent. 9.3% ABV is nothing to sneeze at. I can't say I'm a fan of the overall oak tang.

All told, I don't have enough information to say whether this is a bad beer, but I wouldn't buy it again. Your mileage may vary. If you like both whiskey and wheat beers, it might be worth a try. Grab it while you can if it seems like this strikes your fancy.


SteemVerify

If you like this post, please resteem!

Sort:  

It does sound a little weird and a little pretentious! I will go with you on this one and avoid if I see it!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $1.41 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 18 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Good post, Upvote and I follow you. greatings!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66