Magic Hat #9: An Amateurish Beer Review

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

Tonight, I'm taking a break from my usual northwestern fare in order to try a brew from Vermont. According to Magic Hat Brewing Company,

#9 NOT QUITE PALE ALE

An ale whose mysterious and unusual palate will swirl across your tongue & ask more than it answers. Brewed clandestinely & given a name whose meaning is never revealed. Why[?]

A sorta, dry, crisp, refreshing, not quite pale ale whose mysterious and unusual palate will swirl across your tongue with subtle notes of fruit and a floral hop bitterness. Beyond that, we dare not tell you more, for with each sip, mysteries are revealed and still more questions raised.

Hmm. I'm not sure what to make of that, or of the beer. The label says it's an "ale with natural flavor." The smell has a sweet fruity note. The taste is strangely sweet and fruity. Honey? Maybe. Apricot? Also maybe. It's weird, rather sweet (have I mentioned that enough?), and not very bitter, but somehow not unbalanced. There's a bit of a floral aftertaste, too. I guess I'd say it's a decent fruit beer, and I might give it a try again. It's not a new favorite, but I don't hate it, and it is interesting.


Image credit: Magic Hat Brewing Company


Amateurish Beer Review Archive


coins

Sort:  

I don't think it's for me, but I will check out some of those beer reviews.

nice real magic

What an astounding confusing beer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 52827.29
ETH 2171.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28