Kona Hanalei Island IPA: An Amateurish Beer Review

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

I don't usually drink fruit beers. I have noted before my distaste for the proliferation of IPA-style beer. So why am I drinking and reviewing this? Because it offers something actually different.

Kona Brewing Company is based in Kona, Hawaii. The bottles have a slightly unusual tapered profile embossed with the Hawaiian Islands and the "Liquid Aloha" slogan.

Hanalei Island IPA claims to be "Ale brewed with Passionfruit, Orange, and Guava with natural flavors added." Cracking the cap off the bottle releases a fruity and malty aroma. It smells very strongly of citrus. The IPA hops are present in the flavor, but the fruit sweetness balances it out quite well. It's not heavily carbonated, but neither is it watery.

At 4.5% ABV, it's fairly average strength. I wouldn't call it great, but it's not bad. I'm still not sure what is meant by "natural flavors added" though. It looks like this was a limited release, so if you also want to try it, look for it before it's gone for good.


Image credit: Kona Brewing Co.


If you like this post, please comment, follow, and resteem!

coins_small.jpg

Sort:  

I had a Hanalei last night, on what was a cool Melbourne evening, as not really apt for an island fruit IPA. I thought I was okay - The fruit flavours were more present in the smell that the taste I thought, it was a little sweet on the first sip, but after a few it tasted like a reasonably regular (mildish) IPA - glad I tried it but wouldn't be racing out to get it again.

Yeah, it was more of an IPA-lite in bitterness, hops profile, and ABV.

they look very good those beers , regards friend @jacobtothe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53699.14
ETH 2213.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28