25 December 2050- Entry for Future Chronicles

in #writing7 years ago

This is my entry for the Christmas Day in 2050 - write a diary entry contest, hosted by @pennsif. There is still some time to get your entry in, as the deadline is Midnight UTC on Tuesday 19 December 2017.

The rules of the contest are to write a diary entry for fictitious, or real life on Christmas day in 2050.

Please follow the #futurechronicles tag to read more contest submissions.


Dear Diary,

I can’t believe Steem is paying $500 this week. It’s hard not to smile from ear to ear when I think about it. My brothers and sisters are still in shock by how much money I have made writing on Steemit over the years, although I quit my job over twenty years ago.

I remember when I started on Steemit, the price was only $1.28. I wrote a simple post about my nature walks. I took photos of my experiences, and interviewed the wild life; using funny voices for each one.

Other members started following me on Steemit, and anticipated reading my newest posts. I learned more about video production, so that I could edit my videos each week. After a while, I met more people, and I found some musicians to put music to my videos.

I began filming my walks, with only the sounds of the birds chirping, and the wonderful, peaceful sounds of nature. I called the video series, Walking in Nature with @freedombug. Those videos were a hit. Back in the early 20s the price of Steem hit $50. I had more than 13,000 followers.

By then, I had been on Steemit for three years, and had never touched my Steem. I was tempted to cash in, when the price hit the 10$ mark in 2017, and then again when it hit $20 a year later. But to me, I was saving for my future.


Imgur
Source


$50.00 was enough to get me to cash it out. I made my first million dollars that day. I can’t say it made me happy, but it sure did make my life a lot easier. I quit my job that year. I bought a house out in the country, decided to raise some farm animals, and bought my first brand new car.

Suddenly, my family started to see things my way. They also decided my house was big enough for everyone. They have been living here for twenty years…


Imgur
Source


But I don’t let them lounge around my pool, unless their laptops are open, and they are writing on Steemit for a profit. My sister Jules lived in the city before she moved in, so she writes about the differences between the city, and the farm.

My brother Alan said he was not interested in cryptocurrency, but he now has his own talk show, in which he interviews the celebrity Steemit members.

By celebrities, I mean the leaders of the Steemit community, not those overpaid actors and singers who sold out for money, and turned on their own country, the older people used to think of as celebrities.

It’s funny, because it used to be those celebrities who had all the money. They owned the nice houses, and wore the flashy clothes. But, now it’s the regular people of the world who have all the money, thanks to Steemit. In fact, football players stopped getting paid after a while, because everyone was at home writing articles, talking to each other, and making plans to change the world; instead of filling the stadiums.

We all laughed when the superstars began to join Steemit in the 40s asking for handouts. The memes got a little out of hand. The nerve of some people’s children. I mean, you can’t go back in time to change the way you treat people. They wanted their own global community of the rich and elites, and they got it; far away from us. That is, until the money ran out.

We recently began to build housing for the urban sections of our town. Back in the day, the government tried to house, clothe, and feed the needy, but they just made a mess of things. Over the last thirty years, communities came together through the Steemit site. Before long, the people were using their Steem to pay for, not only their own needs, but the needs of others.

Back then there was also a president that said we would get tired of winning… that’s hasn’t happened yet. Today was another good day to own Steem. Merry Christmas Dairy.

Until next time, keep Steeming

Steemit.com/@freedombug


I would like to thank @snook for writing her submission first, and giving me inspiration to write my own. Check out her story Here. (She wanted me to write a freewrite, I said if I do, you have to write this diary entry. She is good at keeping promises! I'm glad she did, because I love to read her writing.)


line1 2


For more post by @simgirl, follow these links:

"Marvelous Tales #16" Sylvia’s Silver Ballet Box
The Darker Side of the Street (Part One)
"Marvelous Tales #17" The Mist of the Hidden Furlendwalk Green
“Marvelous Tales #18” The Meditating Bunny
Day 9: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: After Midnight
Day 10: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Splinter
Day 11: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Sleep
Day 12: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Some Change
Day 14: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Apricot
Day 15 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt White Cat
Weekend Freewrite 2: 3 Prompts 5 Minutes Each
Marvelous Tales Contest #21 The World of the Dark Queen
👑 Crown of Jewels 👑 A Girl Power Fundraiser
Weekend Freewrite 4 - The First Sentence
Day 40: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: pasta
5 Minute Freewrite- Prompt, the goat ate my…
Seven Days of Black and White Challenge Day 1
Seven Days of Black and White Challenge Day 2
Seven Days of Black and White Challenge Day 3
Seven Days of Black and White Challenge Day 4
Seven Days of Black and White Challenge Day 5
Constrained Writing Contest #8 Beyond
Seven Days of Black and White Challenge Day 6
Seven Days of Black and White Challenge Day 7
Seven Days of Black and White Challenge- All Seven Days
Weekend Freewrite #6
Weekend Freewrite #6 Single Prompt Option
Constrained Writing Contest #9 The Watch
Day 56 : 5 Minute Freewrite- The Pelicans

Simgirlbanner Made by @son-of-satire

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgur

Sort:  

red-rose small whale (53)
Send only 0.01 or 0.02 SBD/SD and get after few hours 190% of your fees SBD : I will upvote Comments and posts with Free Resteem to +380 followers

436 followers1768 posts54 following
send your link URL in the memo Joined October 2017

Thanks to @chiefmappster, this great article was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

AWESOME write up!
This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by @chelsea88 (not a bot)

Oh what a wonderful journal entry!! I hope it becomes a reality and you have all your family living under your ginormous roof!! I really like how the 'celebrities' were asking to take part way too late, and everybody could care less about a sports game! Is it too soon to make this real?
I really enjoyed reading this and i wish you and your friend good luck in the contest. Ive been binge reading all morning!

I loved to read all the entries, and all the different points of views. I was tempted to twist it to darkness, because that's my favorite way to write, but I figured why not start with a $500 price of Steem and see where it leads. I don't think that it is far fetched that the celebrities will ride the mass media horse until it dies, while we silently, or not so silently, grow in wealth on Steemit. I just hope I can live long enough to see it. I better start eating my vegetables! :D

You and me both! Hoping to ride this crypto train to the big house of my dreams! In a reasonable amount of time! For now i am just super excited to have a forum to exchange ideas and content on without the drama of popular social media sites!
Yours was one of the few stories with a happy plot to it, i guess most of see quite dim futures!

I think that it is too soon to have hope after the many years or neglect, starvation, and them trying to poison us. I can see why so may people may imagine the worst. I've already made way more money on this site than I expected, and I write about a video game, and play most days. Imagine if I was writing about important things! Once Americans realize there's money to be made, hopefully they will jump on the Steem train, and help us fuel it up. I keep telling my friends, but so far, only me and my friend @snook took the Steem bait :D

I am lucky to have friends in my area doing this for a while now and keeping on me to sign up. It all looks so intimidating at first, but quickly turns into excitement and energy! I have been trying to get a few more people to join but they are dragging their heels, or dont seem to interested.

I'm glad you know some people! If you are on discord, a bunch of new members gather on discord in MSP if you'd like to join us.

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Love this :D ALL of it!! and I love you too my friend!

Love Love Love Love!!! Merry Christmas!

smart post
plise votes back

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59626.66
ETH 2519.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43