Constrained Writing Contest #9 The Watch

in #writing7 years ago

This is my entry for the Constrained Writing Contest, hosted by @svashta.

Each week the Constrained Writing Contest suggests an obligatory qualification for the writing. This week’s constraint is the word count of the story. This story must fiction, and end at exactly 255 words.

If you would like to join this writing contest, be sure to follow the post link above, upvote, and resteem the post, and then add the #constrainedwriting tag in your tags.


Imgur
Watch in Hand by: William Blomstrom


He reached for the sweater from the rack; the same time as Isabel. She removed her hand when she felt the tug. When their eyes met, she shuttered. “It’s you.” She said, and then turned away.

“Isabel wait…” He tossed the sweater aside, and then followed her out of the store. “Isabel. Please let me explain.”

Isabel paused outside the store. The wind whipped from side to side, and she began to shiver. She turned and looked at him. “I was very clear that I never wanted to see you again.”

“I know. I don’t blame you. But, this is fate.”

“Fate? You know I buy my grandmother a sweater for Christmas each year. Besides, you also know I don’t believe in fate. I’ve asked you nicely to give me some space.”

“It’s been five months.”

“I could have gone longer. If you understood how much you betrayed me, you’d understand why I felt this way. And you would respect my wishes.”

He reached into his pocket and handed her the watch. “I didn’t sell it. That’s what I wanted you to know.”

Isabel looked at the watch her father had left behind. It looked the same as the last time she saw it. But it couldn’t be the same watch. She knew he had to be trying to fool her in some way.

“I don’t believe you. How else would you have gotten the money for your debts? You owed over thirty thousand dollars.”

“I didn’t. If they find me, they will kill me.”


That’s not a complete story. But I made the word count! I hope you enjoy it.


Imgur


For More Posts @simgirl, follow these links:
"Marvelous Tales #16" Sylvia’s Silver Ballet Box
The Darker Side of the Street (Part One)
"Marvelous Tales #17" The Mist of the Hidden Furlendwalk Green
“Marvelous Tales #18” The Meditating Bunny
Day 9: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: After Midnight
Day 10: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Splinter
Day 11: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Sleep
Day 12: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Some Change
Day 14: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Apricot
Day 15 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt White Cat
Weekend Freewrite 2: 3 Prompts 5 Minutes Each
Marvelous Tales Contest #21 The World of the Dark Queen
👑 Crown of Jewels 👑 A Girl Power Fundraiser
Weekend Freewrite 4 - The First Sentence
Day 40: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: pasta
5 Minute Freewrite- Prompt, the goat ate my…
Seven Days of Black and White Challenge Day 1
Seven Days of Black and White Challenge Day 2
Seven Days of Black and White Challenge Day 3
Seven Days of Black and White Challenge Day 4
Seven Days of Black and White Challenge Day 5
Constrained Writing Contest #8 Beyond
Seven Days of Black and White Challenge Day 6
Seven Days of Black and White Challenge Day 7
Seven Days of Black and White Challenge- All Seven Days
Weekend Freewrite #6
Weekend Freewrite #6 Single Prompt Option

Simgirlbanner Made by @son-of-satire

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgur

Sort:  

I feel guilty now for limiting the word count :(
Can we somehow get the rest of the story, pretty please?

Amazing writing as always though, and I loved the ending! A true cliffhanger, leaving me wanting more. Much much more. :3

YOU are awesome!

and this story is too!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Simgirl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.21 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59615.63
ETH 2524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44