[FICTION CONTEST UPDATE] Christmas Day in 2050 - write a diary entry - over US$200 to be won

in #contest6 years ago

Thank you for everyone who has entered the Christmas Day in 2050 contest so far.

The contest was planned to close this coming Sunday.

However as I have been a bit delayed with this follow-up post I am now extending the closing date to midnight UTC on Tuesday 19 December 2017.

So there is still plenty of time to get writing.

To keep this all as sweet as candy I am sticking with the prizes being in SBDs which with the current exchange rates means the prize pool is now well over US $200 !!!

Following on from the success of my first fiction contest, One Day in 2040, this is a follow-up contest with a festive theme.

We have moved on ten years to 2050. This time the diary entry won't just be for any day - it will be for Christmas Day. (If you don't celebrate Christmas feel free to substitute it for New Year's Day.)

All you have to do to enter this competition is to write a diary entry about life for you and your family (or a fictitious family) on 25 December 2050.

This is a fiction contest but it is 'easy fiction'. There has not got to be any major story arc or great character development.

It is just a diary entry. Tell it as it is, or as you think it will be.


How to enter
  • Create your post on steemit with your diary entry for Christmas Day in 2050.
  • If you do not currently celebrate Christmas feel free to substitute Christmas Day for New Years Day 2051.
  • Include futurechronicles as one of the tags on the post.
  • Post a link to your article in a comment below this post.
  • Upvote and resteem this post.
Prizes
  • There will be a first prize of 10 SBD, a second prize of 5 SBD and two third prizes of 2.5 SBD. (I am sticking with SBD for the prizes but the Amazon Gift Voucher option is no longer available.)
  • The winners will be chosen by me ( @pennsif ) on the basis of interest, imagination and quality of writing and presentation.
  • The winners will be announced by Saturday 23 December in a winning announcement post.
Rules
  • All posts must be original material, not posted anywhere else. All images must be appropriately sourced and credited.
  • Entries must be at least 600 words in length.
  • Entries must be submitted by the closing date.
  • You must have upvoted and resteemed this post to be eligible to enter.
Closing date
  • Midnight UTC on Tuesday 19 December 2017.


Thank you to everyone who contributed to the success of the first futurechronicles contest. I hope you will have time to enter this contest. If you can spread the word about the contest as well that would be great.

@miniature-tiger, @geke, @braveheart29, @csbegu, @timmo3663, @authorofthings, @btcnoodle, @deaconlee, @ifartrainbows, @irastra, @johnwjr7, @mikepm74, @mnhomesteader, @mydivathings, @preparedwombat, @steemedchitty, @xanderslee, @xusayz, @yusaymon, @aksounder, @erodedthoughts, @gmuxx, @janine-ariane




You might also be interested in some of my other posts :

[image from pixabay - Creative Commons CC0]

Sort:  

Wow what a great post! I’m new to Steemit and really think your type of posts are what I am going to be putting my reserach into. Keep killing it with your words!

Thank you.

I have resteemed the past post, and upvoted both posts, I am cutting it close - but I believe I am several hours under the official deadline!

Here is my entry!

Thank you for the opportunity @pennsif!

Hi @ecoinstant. Yes still 2 hours and 57 minutes to go for anyone who still wants to have a go.

Thank you for your entry.

Lets give this a resteem then just in case ;p

EDIT: No resteems after 7 days? Oh. Didn't know that.

Thank you for your entry @simgirl

Here is my entry again.

This is great :) I will see if I can squeeze time to write one...

Hi @elew - you still have 2 hours 47 minutes...

Found your entry below now - thank you.

Still a couple of hours if you want to have a go...

Thank you for the entry - sorry I missed it first time.

Oh, not a problem :)

https://steemit.com/futurechronicles/@tiredmama/new-years-day-2051-contest
Thanks for the creative idea! I really enjoyed writing this! I love the short side of it, I always have to rewrite my longer stuff and lose interest and imagination.
Thanks for making steemit such an awesome community!

If you need a new contest idea, i was thinking steemit need a catchy little jingle to promote on other media servers to get people signing up. Would be great for some of your musically inclined followers. Just a thought, hope you are having an awesome day!

Sounds like a good idea for a contest - although I haven't got a musical bone in my body...

Glad you enjoyed it - thank you for entering.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85