Weekend Freewrite 4 - The First Sentence

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

Hello! I have written this piece for the Weekend Freewrite, which is hosted by @mariannewest. You can find the beginning of this weekend’ freewrite Here


There were 17 cats living in Larry's basement.

Those, were the living ones. They were kept in cages, and used in his scientific experiments. The others were cut apart, and labeled. Cat ears, cats noses, and cat kidneys were kept in glass jars and filled with liquid.

He was known around the neighborhood as one of the friendliest people alive. He would go outside each morning, pick up the newspaper, and then wave to the parents as the traveled back and forth to the bus stop.

Everyone knew him, and everyone thought of him as a good person. Maybe, just a bit odd, but none the less a fine upstanding member of the community. No one expected to find him hanging from the rafters of his attic. It was the sounds of the hungry cats that caused the police to investigate. He must have hung there for days, because the cats were starving in their cages.

It was bizzare to see the cages being carried out of the house. I watched them all sitting in their cages with fear in their eyes. God only knows what kinds of horror those cats had witnessed locked up in that house.

On Tuesday, she asked me the most peculiar question about what Larry did to those animals. How do you tell your daughter whom you have sheltered their entire life, that some people have mental issues?

“I’m sure he was only trying to help those animals.” I responded.

But in my mind I was certain that a level of torture was administered to those poor cats. Thinking back now I can understand why his lights always dimmed at night.

They found a generator in the back of Larry’s property that was powering his lab in the basement. People spread rumors about him. They said he was trying to bring them back to life; that he had some sort of miracle theory that he was trying to figure out in the evenings.

But I could hear the sounds of the electric currents late at night. At first I thought it was only my imagination, but now I know he was shocking those poor animals, and using their parts to breed a new cat. Late at night I can still hear a lonely cat meowing in the distance.

I know it is coming from Larry’s house. The cops taped off the scene of the crime.

The way Herb defrosted the refrigerator, you would have thought it was frozen, but it was the hottest July in a hundred years. While we where outside cooking for the barbeque, he said to me, “What on earth is that noise?”

It was the cat again. Howling in the mid-day sun. We could see it now. It was sitting high on top of his roof with its head raised high. I didn’t think I was imagining things this time, because Herb saw it too.

As we approached the cat we could see that it was different from other cats. There was something creepy about the eyes. They were almost human; like they could speak to me. Herb asked me if I had ever seen the cat before. I explained that I had not.

The cat began to purr, and rubbed up against my leg. It made me feel uncomfortable. This wasn’t a normal cat, and I was not feeling the friendly I want to pet you vibe, I would get when I met most cats.

“Larry?”

Ding!

That was fun!


Imgur


For More Posts @simgirl, follow these links:
"Marvelous Tales #16" Sylvia’s Silver Ballet Box
The Darker Side of the Street (Part One)
"Marvelous Tales #17" The Mist of the Hidden Furlendwalk Green
“Marvelous Tales #18” The Meditating Bunny
Day 9: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: After Midnight
Day 10: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Splinter
Day 11: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Sleep
Day 12: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Some Change
Day 14: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Apricot
Day 15 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt White Cat
Weekend Freewrite 2: 3 Prompts 5 Minutes Each
Marvelous Tales Contest #21 The World of the Dark Queen
👑 Crown of Jewels 👑 A Girl Power Fundraiser

How-to Sim Your Life: A Guide to Winning the Game of Life

SimgirlGif

Sort:  

Thank you! I love to write creepy!!!

🎵 Woooot!!! 🎶
This post has been manually curated by @msp-waves - the amazing radio station for Steemians, courtesy of @globocop.

Listen to MSP-Waves Radio on MSPWaves.com

LOL Sim - nice write.
Would make a line break before: * those were the living ones. *

There is a deeper meaning I can see...
The upstanding neigbor, the friendly guy next door, the smiling woman who always dresses oddly - just a bit. That dog catcher... ewwww...

Happy Weekend!

THAT WAS CREEPY!

Thank you! That was fun. The third prompt threw me. I was not sure where to go from there. :D Thanks for reading!

You had me at cat kidneys 👍

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45