The End of Institutions?

in #writing6 years ago

corridor.jpg


Down a Green corridor I hear voices I never heard before.
Echoes shout from decades passed.
There Billy lost his shoe.
There Jenny slipped down the banister
She had stitches a few.

ooooooooo

Down a Green corridor where existence is questioned.
I am really here or am I in detention?
Echoes shout, "Don't run!"
Only eight years and some days
Since corporal punishment faded away.


20180404_150602.jpg
stairs 2.jpg


Many feared the green corridor would disappear
But it has not disappeared
Instead a new voice speaks
It is the voice of children having fun.

ooooooo

They want to be in the corridor.
Like a mother's embrace they are comforted within the confines
Of friends of the corridor.
Each one smiles
Given fair play
without the hickory switch
they love each other.

ooooooo

Down a Green corridor the stretcher is carried
A nurse checks vital signs
Is there a chance
our school
will
live?

ooo
oo
o




hallway 2.jpg

This is my 36th poem in the Steemitschool poetry competition @d-pend.(Steemitschool Discord)

Verse of the Day/ Isaiah 40:3

"A voice of one calling: 'In the wilderness prepare the way for the LORD; make straight in the desert a highway for our God.'"

Mineopoly Quote:

I've got it now^^ Really!


image.png

Check out my recent post @mineopoly

Trending
Smell Me
I am Mineopoly
Crazy Love
When I'm 64
Tiger DMZ
Chorus Line
Cherry Blossoms
Poetry is Dead
No Gravity on the Moon
Feynman's Dream

Images here are works of @mineopoly except for the banners which are graciously provided to me.

QTTA: (QUESTION TO THINK ABOUT)

"What do you think will happen to our institutions in the next five years?"

I love you all.

For amazing adventure in English please follow @mineopoly mining the heart.

Sort:  

Sweet reflection. School/green corridor as metaphor/microcosm of life--incubating the future.

These lines lingered:

Like a mother's embrace they are comforted within the confines
Of friends of the corridor.

Yes, aren't we all :)

Thank you @yahialabidi. I am beginning to like this poetry contest. Honestly for the first 20 poems I really was pushing myself to write not little by little I find it the best way to express myself. I am beginning to read others like your poems and naquoya and learn reflection.

This poem is the truth and there is no answer. When I look down those halls I can see the history and I'm hazy about the future. The interesting thing is that kids in our school want to go to school. Even my own kids want to go to school.

These lines lingered:

Like a mother's embrace they are comforted within the confines
Of friends of the corridor.

These friends become our family away from family. The halls should not be a dangerous place. Kids feel really safe there like it is their turf.

Thanks for stopping by @yahialabadibi. Your name is one of my favorite to type as long as I'm not sleepy.

We're learning from each other, in this challenge, and not just poetry (but what matters to them, expanding our sphere of concerns, to other countries, cultures, etc...) and that's a marvelous thing.

Your caring comes through --I can only imagine how heart-making teaching might be & heart-breaking, too.

Thanks, for the kind words, you & the smiles (you must be sleepy, because you mistyped my last name :P

Living example. Thank you very much @yahialababidi.

It is wonderful how a place can evolve from a place to fear to a place to play:) Lovely write, mineopoly:)

That's right @prydefoltz. You got it. I hope kids will always find school a safe, comforting and joyful environment. It has just been eight years. The halls were really quiet and you could hear and see an oppressive force. Kids need discipline but it was really overdone. The years of transition were difficult but now there is a mutual respect and kids have ownership and take responsibility for their education.

Classroom management takes a lot more finesse these days. That is for sure:)

Thant's right... creativity and personalizing the class are important as well as delegating responsibility , providing procedures and practicing are essential. I also noticed Thursday was green day for color challenge. Maybe I will enter this in a color challenge. Today is the greenest Thursday in history.

The green corridors are fertilized with the voices of children. Children pass, she will stay.

May they grow more and more @cordersiete. You answered my question the best. The heart of the school will live on even after the buildings are gone.

Congratulations @mineopoly! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mineopoly365groovy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Greetings! I am a minnow exclusive bot that gives a 4X upvote! I recommend this amazing guide on how to be a steemit rockstar! I was made by @EarthNation to make Steemit easier and more rewarding for minnows.

Requested by @mineopoly

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.28$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44