New Story - written exclusively on Steemit - WiP - Bouncer Part 43

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

This is turning out to be quite a tale (I know, my opinion...) and I think it'll make a novel-sized story.

I'm listening to the feedback and if something resonates, I've decided that I'll go with it (thanks @kiwideb).

Feel free to give feedback on characters, storylines etc - even if you think it's harsh.

Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, Part 8, Part 9, Part 10, Part 11, Part 12, Part 13, Part 14, Part 15, Part 16, Part 17, Part 18, Part 19, Part 20, Part 21, Part 22, Part 23, Part 24, Part 25, Part 26, part 27, Part 28, Part 29, Part 30 Part 31 Part 32 Part 34 Part 35 Part 36 Part 37 Part 38 Part 39 Part 40 Part 41 Part 42

Pictures from Google free to use search

Please note: This is the FIRST DRAFT, no editing, written straight onto paper. I don't know how to highlight that any more than it is. I'll NOT be making any alterations to what's already been written. As a good friend and excellent author has said, First draft is a race to get the story down before it decides to stop telling itself to you. Thanks Glenn. @alienbutt

95 pages, 37,527 words so far.

What do you think of this for a cover?

cobalt book cover.jpg


Liz went back to her office to tell Anthony what was going on.

He turned to the door as she entered the room and said, “Look at this.”

He had a portion of video waiting for her to watch.

The camera was a new one that had been installed that week. Not many knew of its existence. The camera had been expertly positioned to view the entrance to the VIP room and the wide-angle lens also took in part of the bar inside the VIP room.

Liz watched her father lead Mikhail and his entourage up to the VIP room and the expressions on their faces ranged from over-awed and impressed to nonchalant and ‘seen it all before’ from the tall, slender woman, through to split-second fury from Mikhail himself. He covered his emotions well, however. When Viktor turned to him to welcome him in, Mikhail’s smile was smooth as silk and Viktor would have known nothing about the animosity in that initial reaction.

The entourage went off to the bar to make good use of the drinks tokens. The woman with Mikhail accepted a glass of Champagne, took a couple of sips and then made her excuses and went off to the bathroom.

Anthony clicked his mouse and the recording snapped back to live feed. The woman was still not back from the bathroom.

“Good work, Anthony. I’ll be back in a few,” she said. “Something’s not quite right with this scenario.”

Liz caught Zack and Taylor’s attention as she left the office and crossed the main room of the club.

The music blasted from the DJ’s consoles and he was playing to the audience. He saw her looking and he waved at her. The audience couldn’t see who he was looking at behind his glasses and they joined in with his obvious exuberance and waved right back at him. The DJ looked back to his work with a wry smile on his face. He had his audience in the palm of his hand and he loved it!

Zack touched his ear as the earpiece crackled with Crackers’ voice.

“Boss, there’s a copper here, he wants access to the venue. He’s keeping it quiet at the moment, but he’s had word that there’s crime in progress up in the club. Advise please,” Crackers said.

“Fuck me, Riley!” Zack cursed under his breath.

“Problems?” Liz asked as they made their way across the club to the VIP room.

“I think so. We’re being set up,” Zack said. “Taylor, can you deal with the police please?”

Taylor nodded and broke off from the group to head down the stairs. He saw the officer he’d invited and change course. Taylor shook hands and leaned in close to speak quietly with him.

“I think we’re about to have a problem,” he said.

“Oh? Anything I can help with?” the guy said.

“Maybe, but feel free to disassociate yourself from it at any point. I don’t want you feeling pressured or obligated,” Taylor said.

A flash of inspiration came to Taylor and he recalled the guy’s name. “If you’d wait over by the VIP room, I’d appreciate it, Marcus.”

Marcus nodded and made his excuses to his companions. “I’ll not be long,” he said.

Taylor went down the stairs, hurrying but not making it look like he was fleeing the scene. It wouldn’t do for the punters of his staff to think anything was wrong.

A group of policemen waited outside. Without a warrant it would be difficult for them to enter the premises unless with the full cooperation of the door staff and as of yet, that hadn’t been granted.

Taylor went outside to speak with the policemen, stalling for time while Zack dealt with the problem.

Zack and Liz went into the VIP room via the staff entrance so no one noticed. They came to the toilets first and Liz went into the ladies’ room, closely followed by Zack.

Nothing out of order there so they checked the men’s room. Not a droplet of water on the counters, not a hand towel out of place. Liz stood perplexed but Zack dropped to the floor to check under the stalls. All the doors were closed, the stall at the end of the room was closed and locked.

Zack went into the stall next to the end one and stood on top of the toilet to look over the stall.

“Oh fuck!” he said and clambered over the top.

Liz took his lead and took out her keyring. She found a flat headed key, wide enough to turn the lock from the outside of the door and opened it.

She hadn’t expected to see a pair of long, shapely female legs when the door opened. Zack stood over the unconscious woman, trying to extricate her from behind the toilet where she’d slumped as she fell unconscious.

Sort:  

Now, this is taking a nice twist! I like this. I also have been looking at your cover for the book. I really like it. It suits the story. Hope all is well with you...

i love your stories!!! you know im nearly finishing the first book! its just i never have time to read unless im on holiday or travellinG!! but they are like so good, cant stop reading and not boring and really well written!! you are super talented!x

About the Cover picture, it is not bad. I like it and I think the choice of blue color was because you wanted to represent the "night" in the name "Cobalt Nights".

But can you play around with a different shade of blue and compare with the one above. It can get better than the above. I like the stars in the picture. It should be retained.

I have a lot of catching up to do on this story.

Meanwhile today is #womancrushwednesday and I am crushing on you. I made a #womancrushwednesday post for you😍.
You might be surprised at how much I know about you.

My steemit account was hacked and this comment was done by hacker. I am happy to get my steemit account recovered.
I am editing all the comments done by hacker. I have posted this article about it
https://steemit.com/steemit/@hamzayousaf/i-am-very-delighted-to-get-my-steemit-recovered-account-which-was-hacked

I'm pleased you got your account back too.

I assume it was a false log-in link that you clicked?

OMG love this...so smooth
I am learning from you all the time ..

Hi @michelle.gent . How are you?
Recently, I missed several parts of this story. In the near future I'm going to enjoy reading and enjoy it. Later I will share my thoughts about what I read.
So I want to know about the timeframe for writing a story for a group? That is, how much more time do I have?

Its getting more interesting , the police?
Such a twist
I just love to your stories, even you say they are unedited i seem to love them all good
Thank you for this beautiful part @michelle.gent
But who is the unconscious woman

This ending make our hearts pounding. Wondering what made her faint and unconscious. So more curious to guess the continuation of the story.

Just to say, you're a good storyteller!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 13 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 26 SBD worth and should receive 55 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

This comment has been marked as SPAM, You have made over 10 similar comments in the last 24 hours. View these comments here.

To support @spambot upvote this post, Spambot seeks out SPAM and Upvotes the original post the SPAM was left on.

Is it? What did you like best?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46