New Story - again written exclusively on Steemit - WiP - Bouncer Part 19

in #writing7 years ago

I started a new story to share on Steemit. It's not my usual type of tale, but I decided it has legs so I'm going to let it run.

Meet Zack, my newest character. I hope you like him.

The first part was written a few weeks ago and since then, I've been mulling it over in my head where the story needs to go.

Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, Part 8, Part 9, Part 10, Part 11, Part 12, Part 13, Part 14, Part 15, Part 16 Part 17

Pictures from Google free to use search

Please note: This is the FIRST DRAFT, no editing, written straight onto paper. I don't know how to highlight that any more than it is. I'll NOT be making any alterations to what's already been written. As a good friend and excellent author has said, First draft is a race to get the story down before it decides to stop telling itself to you. Thanks Glenn. @alienbutt

42 pages, 16,945 words so far.


The phone by the side of Taylor’s bed woke Zack. He opened his eyes, groaned and closed them immediately, throwing his arm across his face to shield his eyes from the glare of the sun through the open curtains.

“Taylor!” he shouted when the ringing didn’t stop. He instantly regretted shouting and lay debating whether he could put up with the noise or not. Finally, he decided he couldn’t stand the noise, but he couldn’t bear to shout, either.

Zack got out of bed and padded to Taylor’s room. Taylor’s bed was empty, though it had been slept in. The shower was running in Taylor’s bathroom and Zack had no option left but to answer the phone.

He contemplated picking it up and dropping it straight back into the cradle, but decided against that option.

“Hello?” he said, trying not to sound pissed-off.

“Zack? Oh, I thought I rang Taylor’s number,” Viktor said. He sounded way too cheerful to Zack.

“Yeah, you did, but my brother is an early-bird. He’s in the shower. Is it important? I can get him to ring you back,” Zack said, wiping his hand down his face.

“No, it is fine. Meet me for breakfast in fifteen minutes,” Viktor said and hung up.

“Yeah, ok… breakfast. Where?” Zack said to the dial tone.

Taylor emerged from the bathroom. “Was that Viktor?”

“Yeah, we have fifteen minutes to find where he’s going to be having breakfast,” Zack said.

“You mean you have ten minutes to get showered and ready and we have five minutes to get to the restaurant,” Taylor said.

Viktor had already taken his seat and started on coffee when the brothers arrived.

Zack felt a little better after the shower and took a little sadistic pride in the fact that Viktor didn’t look quite as sprightly as he had sounded on the phone.

“Good Morning!” Viktor greeted them. He waved his hand in the general direction of two chairs and the brothers sat down. Immediately, a waitress appeared and poured coffee for Zack and then Taylor.

Zack took a gulp of the coffee in the hope that its restorative powers would kick in soon.

“We open The Cobalt in a few days,” Viktor said.

Zack’s mind kicked-up a notch. “So soon?” he said.

“Yes, Zack, my building contractor is very conscientious and has been working day and night for months now. I anticipate that we will have a pre-opening launch to invite the press. And then, a couple of nights after, allowing for the publicity to take effect, we will have them queueing around the block to get in for the opening.”

“OK,” Zack said, weighing his words carefully. “How do you want to proceed?”

“Ah!” Viktor said in a triumphant voice. “I knew that I had the right men for the job. You do not assume to have the contract yet, even though you see no other representatives from security firms here? I like that you do not presume. But I wonder if you are not so confident in your abilities then? After all, you are an embryonic business.”

Zack studied Viktor and mulled his words over in his mind before answering.

Taylor thought his brother was lost for words and started to speak, to answer for him, but Zack placed a hand on his arm to stop him.

“Viktor, you’re right in the fact that I did not presume that we had the contract for The Cobalt. I am confident in my brother’s abilities to talk business and contracts with you, that’s his forte,” Zack said. “Because we had not spoken about your requirements, I believed we had a little more time in which to speak about the requirements. That is the only reason you took me by surprise.”

Zack looked Viktor in the eye as he spoke. The coffee had worked its miracle – or perhaps it was Zack’s natural instinct for survival kicking in. He took another sip to give himself a little thinking-space.

“I need to look over the club in order to see what I think the requirements are and then we can discuss it further. I’ll go and look at the club as soon as we get home and we can meet tomorrow morning if you wish?” Zack said.

Viktor nodded.

“Then perhaps we can discuss requirements, numbers, shifts, training for staff?”

“That sounds good. I shall make sure someone is there to meet you later this afternoon,” Viktor said.

“You have the fire safety certificates in hand or do you need me to handle that too?” Zack said.

“Ah, I was not aware that you are able to do that. I think perhaps you should handle that aspect and work hand in hand with the manager,” Viktor said.

“What’s his name and do you have a number for him? I think I'll need to keep in touch with him as much as with you. At least for the time-being?” Zack said.

“I will have the contact numbers you need sent over by text and by email,” Viktor said. He stood up, shook hands with Zack and then Taylor.

“The hotel bill is taken care of. Have a safe journey home. If you would like, you are welcome to dine at the restaurant for lunch before you make the return trip home,” Viktor said.

“Thank you, Viktor, but I think we have a lot to do and I would rather start work sooner than later,” Zack said.

Viktor smiled and shook his hand again. “I am pleased you said that. Good,” he said.

Sort:  

Ah the rejuvenating effects of coffee. I have now almost completed 31 rotations of the sun and I just started drinking coffee this year. I am amazed I lasted this long without it. Are you an avid club goer Michelle or more of a local pub gal? You seem like the pub down the road with the juke box in the corner type to me, but based on my inability to tell fact from fiction, I have no idea haha

Hahaha!

I can do both. I have friends who like to go clubbing and others are happy with a pint in the corner... usually a band, not a jukebox though. And then, the weekender parties where we arrive on the bikes, pitch tent and start drinking are great too :)

Well rounded and easy going, I like it!

Yeah... we're here for a good time, not a long time ;)

A good chapter, as I always do during reading, I immerse myself in the text so that I do not have time to notice how the chapter has already ended. I hope that in the future you will be noticed and from your book will make a terrific series :)
Thank you

Thank you. It makes me smile that you enjoy my imaginings to such an extent.

this story definitely deserves attention. The main character Zak shows a calm and firm character, I think in the future he will prove himself from the best side
After reading all the previous chapters, I was happy and intrigued by the continuation

I'm pleased you're enjoying the story. I am too ;)

I was not reading since part 13 and it became a wonderful 30 minutes journey to me :) It's going really smooth, can't wait for next part :)

Zack looked Viktor in the eye as he spoke. The coffee had worked its miracle – or perhaps it was Zack’s natural instinct for survival kicking in.

Bits like these give so much life to your characters.

I am having a blast with this story. Thank you! :)

Thank you for noticing. It's the smallest thing that makes me smile, sometimes :)

It's really nice meeting of Zack and Viktor. And the conversation between them are also very good. I really enjoy this episode. Thanks for writing this beautiful story.

I love Zack's attitude, firm and straightforward. I can't wait to read the next chapter. ♥
Thank you @michelle.gent! :)

You are my favorite person.I always try to read your blog.All are so educative ,informative.
Keep it up

Nice one @mitchelle.gent, expecting the next part

Excellent story.
Resteemed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52740.91
ETH 2362.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.09