New Story - again written exclusively on Steemit - WiP - Bouncer Part 17

in #writing7 years ago

I started a new story to share on Steemit. It's not my usual type of tale, but I decided it has legs so I'm going to let it run.

Meet Zack, my newest character. I hope you like him.

The first part was written a few weeks ago and since then, I've been mulling it over in my head where the story needs to go.

Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, Part 8, Part 9, Part 10, Part 11, Part 12, Part 13, Part 14, Part 15, Part 16

Pictures from Google free to use search

Please note: This is the FIRST DRAFT, no editing, written straight onto paper. I don't know how to highlight that any more than it is. I'll NOT be making any alterations to what's already been written. As a good friend and excellent author has said, First draft is a race to get the story down before it decides to stop telling itself to you. Thanks Glenn. @alienbutt


Zack woke up in the small, single bed at Taylor’s house and for a moment lay disoriented, trying to figure out where he was.

He got up, showered and went down to make breakfast.

He made enough for both and knew Taylor would be down as soon as he smelled the bacon grilling.

“I’ll swing by mine and get changed, grab some clothes and we can be on our way,” he said. “Go and get showered.”

“Better idea!” Taylor said. “You go get changed, grab your gear for tonight and come back to fetch me. “I’ll be showered by the time you get back, we can be on our way right after.”

One swift trip home later, Zack parked the car outside Taylor’s and leaned on the horn to try to get him moving. Taylor didn’t appear and Zack stopped the engine and went inside.

“Come on!” he called up the stairs, believing Taylor was still preening.

“I’m in here!” Taylor called from the living room.

“You’re not ready, are you? What happened this time?”

“I am ready, but I got a phone call,” Taylor said. “Viktor has had a change of plan, he’s meeting us later, he’s taking us out.”

“Is he?” Zack’s tone gave Taylor a warning that something wasn’t quite right.

“What’s wrong?” Taylor said. “I thought you’d be pleased? I can ring back and cancel, but I got the impression he’d cancelled his appointment just for us.”

“No, don’t worry,” Zack said. “I just had a momentary lapse of professionalism. I’m back in work mode. I just thought we’d have one last blow-out before starting work. This is going to take over our lives for at least a few years, you know that?”

“I know. And I know how much you’ve given up for it. I can still pull in work and clients to bring in a wage, you’ve given all that up for this business. I know how much it means to you. That’s why I agreed to meet Viktor.”

Zack nodded.

“I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised, though,” Taylor said. “The Russians know how to drink.”

“I don’t doubt it,” Zack said. “But I’ll not be able to let my guard down amongst strangers. It’s gonna be Jamie’s stag-night all over again.”

“I don’t think so,” Taylor said. “This time, you’ll only have me to keep an eye on.”

“Yeah, I know. You’re as bad as the rest of them put together,” Zack said.

The drive to Manchester was more like a mobile business meeting. They discussed new avenues in which to direct the business, finances, and the merits of moving office-space.

They decided that moving the office to Zack’s second bedroom would save money in the long-run but would not look like a professional business. The office was small, but unless they needed to hold a meeting with everyone, it would manage for the time-being. If a larger meeting room was needed, it would be more cost-effective to hire a room.

By the time they reached the hotel, parked and checked-in, Zack felt like he’d been at work all day and just wanted to flop down in front of the television and chill out.

“Not a chance!” Taylor said. “We’ve not come to Manchester just for you to fall asleep in front of the television, as impressive as that television is.”

Zack agreed reluctantly and got ready.

First stop was Viktor’s favourite restaurant.

Taylor told the maitre d their name and the man's smile instantly broadened.

“Please, come this way,” he said, leading them into the restaurant. “Your party is on their way and I have been instructed to serve aperitifs.”

Viktor arrived moments after they had sat down and he greeted Taylor like a great friend. He shook Zack’s hand in a firm grip and put a hand across his shoulder to guide him to sit by his side.

“I want to know all about you, Zack,” Viktor said. “Taylor has done nothing but talk about your qualifications. Personally, I want to hear about your prowess in martial arts.”

Zack glared at Taylor. “What have you been saying?” he said to his brother.

“Nothing! I swear I haven’t,” Taylor said. His bemused expression gave Zack reason to believe his brother was as surprised as he was.

“No, no,” Viktor said. “Taylor has not told me anything about you. I learned it all for myself.”

“Well, you’ll have to let me know what you’ve learned,” Zack said. “I’ve forgotten… too many bumps to the head.” He grinned at Viktor and there was a moment of suspense as Viktor didn’t seem to get the joke.

“Ah! You’re having a joke!” he said at last. “You didn’t get knocked on the head in the ring, that I know. Never lost a bout, represented your country and taught martial arts for a number of years. I know. I’ve seen the reports.”

“You’ve had reports done on me?” Zack asked.

“Of course I have!” Viktor said without a hint of embarrassment. “How could I go into business with someone that I didn’t have the full information on? That’s crazy. Know your business, know your business partner and make sure you either trust them or know the direction they are likely to go.”

He waved his hand at the waiter. “Champagne!” he said.

“That doesn’t translate very well from Russian to English, but I think you’re intelligent enough to understand what I mean,” Viktor said.

Sort:  

This post has a good basic idea. In this story the Zack is main character and he has power to initiate something and also work on hurry but Mr. Vicktor is reluctant to some extent and have no power to initiate any thing. In this article some business points are also mentioned. Thanks for posting .

Its an interesting article in which there is idea about business. The mr. Vicktor have faith on facts as he asked how can I trust without any business deal but mr.Zaik is so smart in business and have good decision power. This is the quality of leaders. There is another point of saving the extra changes as they have small room for office. This article has good and valuable tips for business that would be helpful for the steemians. Thanks for sharing the post.

I read your history...waiting your next part...just awesome writting...

Your handwriting is very effective.
And every picture is very beautiful.
thanks for sharing

Nice story..

Until the mid of the story, i was thinking that taylor is a girl 😛😂, until u told he was his brother. Anyway! Waiting for the next part.

Seems like u have a good knowledge of business as well since you mentioned the way viktor studied about zack. That was nice.

Also the quotation by @alienbutt was very impressive 😃. I have recently started to write fiction as well, so it got me 😃.

Nice work 👏🏻

thanks a lot for sharing your valuable story..i know that you are good writer of steemit ..and also know that you huge progress by writing story in steemit..carry on your creation and every day provide your story in steemit..best of luck...

Wow!This story very nice..I appreciate your creativity..I like this fiction ..Thanks for sharing your writing story...Carry on your life..Best of luck.

Amazing shot friend.

Finally I read a new part professions and a story that really came on time and dramatic
Where have you been the last time with your stories and beautiful adventures

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52760.21
ETH 2328.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12