New Story - again written exclusively on Steemit - WiP - Bouncer Part 11

in #writing6 years ago

I started a new story to share on Steemit. It's not my usual type of tale, but I decided it has legs so I'm going to let it run.

Meet Zack, my newest character. I hope you like him.

The first part was written a few weeks ago and since then, I've been mulling it over in my head where the story needs to go.

Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5
Part 6
Part 7
Part 8
Part 9
Part 10

Pictures from Google free to use search

Please note: This is the FIRST DRAFT, no editing, written straight onto paper.

Sorry for missing yesterday's episode. Here's a longer part to make up for it.


Zack stood at the bottom of the stairs and counted the money. Mikhail at least knew how much he paid his Head Doorman. The money was exact. The ‘bonus’ amounted to less than half a day’s pay but Zack took it as an added bonus that he wasn’t expecting and it would tide him over. At least he got two nights off – with pay – an unheard-of occurrence in his time working for Mikhail.

Zack strolled back through the bar as though he hadn’t a care in the world.

He said goodnight to the barmaid and she smiled and waved at him until she realised he was leaving the building rather than going down to the club to start work.

“Seeya around, Zack,” she called after him.

He waved but didn’t look back.

Zack crossed the road to his brother’s car. Taylor sat waiting with the engine running.

“That didn’t take long,” Taylor said as Zack got into the car.

“No, just a quick ‘in-and-out’ and I’m finished,” Zack said.

“What? No references?” Taylor said.

Zack looked at his brother to see if he was being serious. Taylor’s grin told him all he needed to know.

“I knocked them both cold,” Zack said.

“There was always the chance you’d have to. I could have come with you,” Taylor said.

“I didn’t need your help,” Zack said and he laughed. “The smaller one, what’s his name? Mad-Dog or something? I now know why his boxing career didn’t take off.”

Taylor didn’t ask, he knew the information would be forthcoming.

“The idiot has a glass jaw and he doesn’t have the first clue about how to protect it. He came in, trying to floor me with windmill arms and left his jaw and ribs exposed. The other guy is a bit handy. He’s bloody strong, tried to wrestle with me. If he’d caught hold of me, I’d have had it. He’s not light on his feet though.”

“I think we need to go out and celebrate tonight. Tomorrow and Sunday, they’ll be looking for you, waiting for you to get drunk before they have another go,” Taylor said.

“Yeah, you’re probably right. If I stay sober on Sunday, I’ll be able to…” Zack said and leaned forward in the seat. “Stop the car, there’s Joe. I want a word with him before he gets in to work.”

Taylor stopped the car and tapped the horn a couple of times to get Joe’s attention.

Joe saw who it was and waved. He stopped and waited for Zack to get out of the car and cross the road.

Zack explained he’d been ‘let go’ a couple of nights early.

Joe nodded and said he’d have a word with the rest of the lads. “Don’t worry, Zack, I’ll let them know. Sinbad will be a bit upset, I think,” Joe said.

“Sinbad will? Why?” Zack said, his brow creasing.

“Because he thinks he’s next in line for Head Doorman’s job and I don’t think he’s the man for it,” Joe said. “He’s too volatile. He’s a good lad to have in a rumble, but he doesn’t have the temperament for the job. He makes a great deputy, but he needs to grow up a lot and stop wanting to fight everyone before he’ll be able to pick up where you’re leaving off.”

Zack studied Joe. He mulled-over what he’d said and nodded agreement. “I think you’re right. I also think that’s the most you’ve ever said to me in one go.”

Joe laughed. “Yeah? Well I don’t usually have much to say,” he said. “See you later. I’ll drop in at the Snooker Hall after work. If you’re around, some of the lads might be there too,” he said. He shook Zack’s hand and they went their separate ways.

“I can’t get too hammered tonight, either,” Zack said when he got back in Taylor’s car. “We’re meeting the lads after work.”

“You’re unemployed. You’re supposed to have at least one night off before you start all over again,” Taylor said.

“Yeah, I realise that, but you have to strike while the iron’s hot. Dad always told us that lesson. The lads that I brought to the club are going to be there if I know Joe. He’ll make sure everyone knows what’s going on. I can’t be completely hammered when they get there, can I?” Zack said. “We’ve got tomorrow night to go out. We can go to another town if you want to avoid any hassle from Mikhail’s goons.”

“That’s not a bad idea,” Taylor said, his demeanour brightening. “We can go and check out Viktor’s club, stay at his hotel and come back Sunday lunchtime.”

“Not a bad idea at that, brother,” Zack said. “Back home to get changed, a few drinks and a bit of a laugh, a business meeting later and tomorrow, we’re out at Viktor’s. Great plan!”

Sort:  

Wow, Michelle!

You are pumping them out like you are on a mission. Do you write very fast?

Where do you get the inspiration and the stamina?

Respectfully yours

The more exciting the story .... thank you very much @michelle.gent

Excellent as always. I got the feeling you actually know lots about boxing... are you a fan or just investigated the subject for this story?

I used to train with a boxer for fitness. He taught us a bit about it ;)

It's nice to come home in the evening and have supper - to read the next chapter of your story. When the day was saturated - this reading helps to escape from the daily fuss and plunge into another world. For me, it acts as relaxing as watching a good movie.
A good and interesting chapter, your dialogues are just as magnificent as before. I study with you, and I want to write a story in the future.
Thank you @michelle.gent , I'm waiting for the continuation :)

The story is developing in a quite fascinating way. It's interesting to see Zack's further development as a human.

Thank you for sharing such a nice stuff.

This the kinda story i like to read which has so many parts, there is always curiosity building in.

Good story but I wouldn't get in the ring with the boxer... I would have to read your story from part 1-10

Dear friend this is exclusive story,
steam world you have successfully opened the edge. And you have successfully top level reached, this is my wish. And I am glad this is my practice in your development.
My request to you, I am like a small child in the steam world unknown and withut benefited.
You must know
"People for people"
So went my way in the world, steam your collaboration service.
Please do follow me and help and thanks to me and last i #resteem your post dear @michelle.gent

I love you in your post pods. I thank you very much for sharing with us. I hope you share this kind of good post in…

seeing your post after so long and i have to first go through the previous parts .....gotta spent my time in producitve things...by the way i like that money pic in the post as it represents Indian currency

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57738.58
ETH 3102.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34