Translation Node.js from English to Dutch - Part 11 - 1205 words

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

image.png

Node.js project details:

In short: Node.js® is a JavaScript runtime built on Chrome's V8 JavaScript engine.
As an asynchronous event driven JavaScript runtime, Node is designed to build scalable network applications.

Source: https://nodejs.org

Project links:

The project’s crowdin page: https://crowdin.com/project/nodejs
Github: https://github.com/nodejs/i18n
My crowdin.com profile: https://crowdin.com/profile/misslasvegas

The translation

Getting back into translations turns out to be easier than I thought. It keeps me occupied, and since the other translators aren't active, I have no LM duties to fulfill just yet. So I might as well translate, in the hope I'll get Node.js to 2% before Christmas. 1% was a pretty big deal, for me at least, it's nice to see a project grow into a different language like this.

In this translation, I translated 1205 words.

I am still on the chapter of AsyncHooks, which has a little over 3400 words. This is now done for 81%. One more translation and I will have this chapter finished, plus a little of the next chapter.

hooks.jpg

The difficulties of the last part didn't bother me as much this time. I realized that the longer I work on one subject/chapter, the easier it gets and the more logic there is to it.
However, this part had its fair share of code, and it is still a puzzle sometimes regarding what to translate and what to leave the way it is. Luckily for the Dutch, we use a lot of the English words, also with code, so the words that were left in English should be easily understood by most people who would even begin to read a piece like this one.
I mean, come on: the average person won't even begin to read this, so I am not worried that they won't understand.

What I noticed about myself while translating is that the further I go along, the more it interests me. I really want to learn more about the project and JavaScript in general. I love it when a subject grabs me and pulls me in, and to be honest, I never expected it to be a technical subject like this one.

As I said before: this part was a lot easier, or at least felt that way because I've become more familiar with the terms and words used in this chapter. I feel this is the case with every chapter. At first I am constantly scratching my head, and wondering why I am doing this to myself. And before I know it, it just comes natural.
This part has 1205 words.

My other translations for Node.js

Part 1.

Part 2.

Part 3.

Part 4.

Part 5.

Part 6.

Part 7.

Part 8.

Part 9.

Part 10.

The Dutch Team

Our team members are:
@altrosa (TR)
@anouk.nox (TR)

@minersean (TR + LM)
@misslasvegas (TR + LM)

What comes next?

I will finish this chapter of AsyncHooks the next time, and will go on to the chapter Buffer.md after that. It will be the longest chapter yet, with more than 8000 words, so I hope that I will understand it early from the beginning. I am looking forward to get it started!

Thank you for reading!

imageedit_19_8293094582.gif

Sort:  

Hey @misslasvegas, thank you for your contribution to the translation project for Davinci-Utopian!

Congrats on another post in the short time since you're back, and I'm glad to see the short time does not impact the quality of your work! As always there's very little things to moderate :).

Next time we will see the end of the AsyncHooks and the beginning of Buffer.md. I hope we will get more and more used to the different things that Node asks of us!

This has been your 11th contribution to Node.js, bringing your total translated words to 12021. (However, because of how the Node.js project is made, there were some strings duplicated and the project actually shows a total of 12423 words translated.) You have reached 1%, congrats!

Good job!

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Chat with us on Discord

Thank you for your review, @minersean! Keep up the good work!

Congratulations @misslasvegas! You received a personal award!

Thank you for your participation in the "Meet The Steemians" contest in Kraków. We hope you enjoyed it and made lots of new friends. See you at SteemFest4!

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you @arcange and @steemitboard for putting this all together. I had great fun scanning people :) I was one of the 'special' ones 😊.

Hi, @misslasvegas!

You just got a 0.93% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @misslasvegas!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.472 which ranks you at #2005 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 149 places in the last three days (old rank 2154).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 196 contributions, your post is ranked at #48.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @misslasvegas!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57142.47
ETH 2437.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39