Translation Node.js from English to Dutch - Part 1. 1106 words

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

nodejs-new-pantone-black.png

Node.js project details:

In short: Node.js® is a JavaScript runtime built on Chrome's V8 JavaScript engine.
As an asynchronous event driven JavaScript runtime, Node is designed to build scalable network applications.

Source: https://nodejs.org

Project links:

The project’s crowdin page: https://crowdin.com/project/nodejs
Github: https://github.com/nodejs/i18n
My crowdin.com profile: https://crowdin.com/profile/misslasvegas

Why I chose this project for translation:

As I stated in my translation report earlier this week, I recently also started translating. The project I chose is Node.js, for various reasons. Firstly because no one has worked on the Dutch translation for this project yet, which makes it fresh and new for me. I like to start on projects that didn't have any work done so far, it just makes my work a little easier, and also that of @minersean, who has to proofread and approve it all. It makes it a bit harder when others have come before, and possibly done a bad job (i.e. used google translate). If the translator or proofreader is a perfectionist like me, they want to fix any errors that were made in earlier translations, which is not always possible. In some projects, this can cause confusion since the work is not consistent. So Node.js is like a fresh breeze in that regard.

Furthermore, the project was described to us as 'very difficult' which makes it more challenging. And I like a challenge! I also think it's a beautiful project. I am under no illusion that I know the ins and outs of it, but translating this may just teach me a few things about it, and I find that very appealing. Even if you just look at their logo, you can see that these people are quite serious about their work, it’s absolutely amazing! They won't just let you use their logo, it has to be the original, so I kept it that way. Other translators will, for instance, take the logo and add other words to it, like: Dutch translation, but as far as I understood from the guideline, this is not allowed for Node.js. So I didn't.

The project in itself is huge. A little over 1 million words, but both @minersean and I realized quickly that a bit more than half of this are actually duplicates. Which still makes it quite a large piece of work. This just shows how dedicated the project managers and everyone who worked on this are, because someone had to write all of this and do the work! Wow! I have nothing but respect for that. I am truly hoping that I can finish what I’ve started with this, because I believe it would be an honour to be able to contribute in this way, and make the project easier to understand for all the Dutch speaking people interested in this.
Either way: I’m in it for the long haul!

My contribution:

The total words I translated for this project are 1106, but because in Dutch it is sometimes hard to replace one word with just one Dutch word, the total words in Dutch are 1141. There is a lot of code in this project, so that obviously isn’t part of the translation and is to remain the same. However, there will still be a lot of work to be done here. It will keep us busy!
So far, I enjoyed working on this. The confusion about the duplicate words was overcome quickly, and this won't be an issue the next time. I am looking forward to just keep going.

imageedit_19_8293094582.gif

Sort:  

Hey @misslasvegas, thank you for your contribution to the translation project for Davinci-Utopian!

I think it's amazing you're tackling the Node.js project, and even though there might not actually be a million words to translate, it's still going to be quite an adventure!

It's very easy working with you, both as a translator and as a Language Moderator (there isn't that much of a difference, really) and I'm very amazed by your translation skills and grasp of the Dutch language! We had some interesting moments finding out about the different versions, and some typos we had to search for, but all in all this has been an easy ride, onto the next one!

Good job!

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Chat with us on Discord

Thank you for your review, @minersean!

So far this week you've reviewed 1 contributions. Keep up the good work!

Thank you! I'm glad you appreciate my Dutch skills. Sometimes it can be a bit hard to 'think in Dutch' if you've lived in an English speaking country for so long. I'm happy I still have it :) It's a joy working with you, and you're right: it doesn't make much difference whether it's as an LM or translator. I think either way: we make a great team!

Hey, @misslasvegas!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Hi @misslasvegas!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I wanted to work with utopian-io some time ago, but at that time translations weren't available. Now it's ok? Anyone can participate?

No, you have to go through the application process @taliakerch. Please check this post: https://steemit.com/witness-update/@davinci.witness/davinci-translation-report-16-and-new-recruiting-announcement

Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57213.13
ETH 2415.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40