Translation Node.js from English to Dutch - Part 10. 1081 words

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

image.png

Node.js project details:

In short: Node.js® is a JavaScript runtime built on Chrome's V8 JavaScript engine.
As an asynchronous event driven JavaScript runtime, Node is designed to build scalable network applications.

Source: https://nodejs.org

Project links:

The project’s crowdin page: https://crowdin.com/project/nodejs
Github: https://github.com/nodejs/i18n
My crowdin.com profile: https://crowdin.com/profile/misslasvegas

The translation

I have just returned from Steemfest3 in Krakow, and to say that getting back into the saddle is hard, is an understatement. Yesterday I started on my first Steemfest post and even that wasn't an easy task. So much to digest still. So today I thought I'd start on a translation, since the other translators aren't active at the moment. This gives me some time to get some work done. If I start translating again, then I might get back into my usual routine again quicker. But I'm sure there will be enough times of just staring ahead of me, thinking back to those few (too few) awesome days we all had last week.

In this translation, I translated 1081 words. It brings this up to 1%. If I keep going this way, I will have 2% done by Christmas or even earlier. The project is huge, with a little more than 1 million words, but there are 3 different versions and at the moment I am working on the latest one, since this seemed to make more sense than to start with the earlier versions. I am pretty sure that a lot of the words in each version will be the same, so 1 million is an overstatement really.

At the moment, I am in the chapter Async-Hooks, and to be honest, it has quite an angle.
I've translated 45% of this chapter now, and with a total of 3400 words, it will take me two more translations to finish this chapter. I am looking forward to it, because this one has my head spinning.
I have no clue what it all means and it doesn't get any easier as time goes. So starting on something new would be welcome.
I've seen some translators skip a few chapters and take the ones they want, or like, but I like to keep things sane, so I started from the beginning and working my way down. Otherwise I really don't know where I'm at anymore, which is not good in this case.
Lucky for me, my fellow LM @minersean knows a little about this subject, so it is easy to discuss any issues there are. Also, if needed, I have a developer friend in Holland, so if I save up any questions, I only need to pick up the phone and call him to know for sure.
Now, I am not a complete idiot either when it comes to this kind of translations, so a lot of it is puzzling the pieces together until they fit and going by gut feeling.

async-hooks.jpg

This part had 1081 words.

My other translations for Node.js

Part 1.

Part 2.

Part 3.

Part 4.

Part 5.

Part 6.

Part 7.

Part 8.

Part 9.

The Dutch Team

Our team members are:
@altrosa (TR)
@anouk.nox (TR)

@minersean (TR + LM)
@misslasvegas (TR + LM)

What comes next?

As I said before, the translation for this chapter is done for 45%. Two more, and I will move on to the next. I am pretty sure that I will be tearing my hair out in agony a couple of times in between and cry: "WHAT was I thinking???"

But I started it, I will finish this, or at least for as long as possible.
I am not a quitter, and by the time I'm done with this, I will know everything there is to know about Node.js!

Thank you for reading!

imageedit_19_8293094582.gif

Sort:  

Hey @misslasvegas, thank you for your contribution to the translation project for Davinci-Utopian!

Welcome back! I hope Steemfest was fun! And you're already back on the translation grind, hat off to you!

The Async-Hooks are keeping us very much on our toes. The sentence structure is really weird sometimes, and there are new formatting tags being introduced too, so it's good that we're going into it with open minds (and eyes)!

Your work is as per usual of high quality, with sometimes an extra letter or a word that could/should (not) be translated. Your post is detailed and gives a nice overview. Next time you could maybe choose some strings to explain your thought process when translating a bit :)!

This has been your 10th contribution to Node.js, bringing your total translated words to 10816. (However, because of how the Node.js project is made, there were some strings duplicated and the project actually shows a total of 11196 words translated.)
With the project having 1,048,272 words total, you managed to get to the 1%! Yay!

Good job!

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Chat with us on Discord

Thank you for your review, @minersean! Keep up the good work!

Hi @misslasvegas!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.440 which ranks you at #2073 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 84 places in the last three days (old rank 2157).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #191.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @misslasvegas!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57213.13
ETH 2415.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40