Birth - Chapter 24, Song of Angels, Book II

in #story7 years ago

Written for Steemit: A love story occurs during a time anomaly. A woman from today somehow steps into an anomaly and meets a cowboy asleep on his ranch, in his bed, in the 1850's. ©Jeff Kubitz 2016 - All Rights Reserved.

Birth - Chapter 24 - Song of Angels, Book II

K34444009d0.jpg
Mindy Woczlewski courtesy of Nastya Muratokova

Song of Angels - Book 1 | Book II Chapter 1
Book II Chapter 2 | Book II Chapter 3
Book II Chapter 4 | Book II Chapter 5
Book II Chapter 6 | Book II Chapter 7
Book II Chapter 8 | Book II Chapter 9
Book II Chapter 10 | Book II Chapter 11
Book II Chapter 12 | Book II Chapter 13
Book II Chapter 14 | Book II Chapter 15
Book II Chapter 16 | Book II Chapter 17
Book II Chapter 18 | Book II Chapter 19
Book II Chapter 20 | Book II Chapter 21
Book II Chapter 22 | Book II Chapter 23

Rephael looked around in the in between, the nexus of the universes, this nexus anyways. The last of the jinn had withdrawn. The part of the machine that blew off into the air during the second explosion was responsible for his victory. Held in his hand, it had absorbed all their energy, or vast portions of it. They were drained.

So was Rephael. Drained was not the word. Absolutely exhausted beyond exhaustion he had to hold the device with both hands just to keep from dropping it.

His robe was torn in many places with singe marks from blasts. It was really nothing more than a rag. Sadly, one sole, single, solitary jinni had slipped past him. Where it went to he did not know but he had to find it. He had to rob it of its energy before it unleashed itself on the world.

Before he tried to track it down he needed to do two things, one he needed to see Elizabeth and the second he needed to contact his parents because he had just stepped into the in between as a toddler.

The jinn, always aware with their desire to move from their universe to man's, saw the two of them together and knew the way between worlds was open. Rephael tried to push his younger self out but he had to do it while holding back the jinn. He almost died.

He stepped out into Elizabeth's house in the storeroom in the back of the garage. He thought to sneak upstairs but Tom, the Mom, Elizabeth, and Sparky were in the room.

"Who's this?" Mom screamed.

"How did you do that? It's Rephael dear. It's all right." Tom comforted her with a hug. Elizabeth immediately grabbed Rephael in a hug.

“Ugh.” Rephael responded to her embrace.

"Where have you been? You look like a fire or a fight. I am so glad to see you." Elizabeth buried her face up against him.

"I apologize for startling all of you. I thought that no one would be in here and I could then announce myself."

"Lizzy, did you know about this?" Tom asked.

"Yes Daddy I did but didn't want to say anything." Elizabeth said as she held Rephael.

"What is going on, you're the father of my grandchild?" Mom asked incredulous, "What are you?"

An explosion rocked the room.

"I will explain later. What just happened?" Rephael asked.

"There is a battle going on outside." Tom said, "The military is fighting those tornadoes. You need a new robe and some underwear."

"Where have you been? Why haven't you returned?" Elizabeth asked Rephael.

"I actually was in a fight. I was in a fight that lasted the whole time I was gone." Rephael answered Lizzy. "I won but just barely as you can see."

"A fight against who or what?" Tom asked as he examined Rephael. "You look as if you have been cut in many places and burned."

"Something called the jinn, demons, devils, evil spirits but they are real enough." Rephael answered. "One made it through but where it went to I don't know. The rest were pushed back, drained. I need to figure out how to get a note to myself, my parents, everyone. Let them know."

"All communications are out." Tom said. Another explosion rocked the earth.

"We need to get you cleaned up and your wounds bandaged." Mom offered.

"Yes, Rephael sit in this chair here." Elizabeth steered him towards a chair. She set him down.

"I'll get a bucket of water and something to wash him with."

"First aid kit." Elizabeth said looking into his eyes. "Your hair is burned to the scalp in three places. Tell me what happened."

"I can't," Rephael said. "It is too hard to explain. I am too tired."

Mom returned with a bucket, a wash cloth, and some soap. She began to wash Rephael. "Let me do that Momma."

Elizabeth took the rag and gently washed Rephael. First she washed his face.

"Tom he is going to need some new clothes." Mom suggested.

"He might be able to use one of my robes. He is so much taller than me. I'll go and get a robe." Tom left the storeroom, "Close the door behind me, Mom."

Mom closed the door behind Tom and he raced upstairs.

"Let's get that robe off of him. Take that thing out of his hand Elizabeth."

“I have to hold it.”

Mom moved to remove what was left of Rephael's robe. Elizabeth helped her and it was easy. There really wasn't much left of the robe. Then, she continued to bathe Rephael.

"Let's get some salve on those burns, they must hurt." Mom looked into Rephael's eyes for an answer but he looked vacant, worn. She took the salve and applied it to his head first. Rephael winced but didn't say anything.

"Should I tell him Mom?" Elizabeth asked.

"Now is as good a time as any," Mom answered as she dabbed salve on the wounds.

"Okay. Prepare yourself, my dear Rephael." Elizabeth said, "I hope with all my heart that you will be happy with what I am about to say."

"Is it bad news?" Rephael asked, eyes closed, nodding.

"You are going to be a father." Elizabeth said as she removed what was left of his boots. The socks were in much better shape protected by what was left of the leather.

"Oh, that is good news. Thank you Elizabeth." Rephael said.

"I am glad you like it. I was worried when you did not show up all that time without a word."

Knocking. Frantic knocking. Mom opened the door.

Tom was there with a robe and flip flops in his hand, "Close it fast!"

"What is it?" Mom asked as she closed and bolted the door. Another explosion jolted the earth. It was much closer.

"What does a jinn look like?" Tom looked Rephael in the eye.

"A nightmare." Rephael answered.

"We have to flee. There is one walking this way toward the house." Tom said to Rephael.

"It is coming for me, for the baby." Rephael snapped alert. He stood. "The robe and the flip flops please."

"We'll put it on you." Tom said. They moved to dress Rephael.

"It will do. Stay here." Rephael said.

"Don't you want a weapon, a gun, a knife?" Tom asked.

"It won't be of any use. Now if you had a bag of salt in a sturdy container. They really hate salt for some reason."

"Grab that file card box there on the desk and throw what is in it out." Tom said to Mom. She ran over to the desk and returned with the box. "You can walk?"

"This restores me or I would already be dead or worse." Rephael held up the part.

"Let's go get some salt then." Tom said. "Lock the door behind us."

"We have to write a note first. I have to deliver it. If I do not, all could be lost even if we win the day." Rephael said.

"What do you want written?" Tom sat at his desk and took out a piece of paper.

"Let me write it your handwriting is terrible." Mom said.

"Yes." Tom rose and Mom replaced him.

"Father, pick up this and hold it for a minute or you will die. Under no circumstances, let Eon go through until he is ten years old on his birthday. After you hold this for a minute, set it down and let me grab it or I will die. Rephael."

"Here it is." Mom handed the note to Rephael. Pop! Rephael was gone.

Follow me: @jeff-kubitz - hey what can I say?

Sort:  

This is great it is starting to get intense can't wait to read more

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84