Birth - Chapter 8, Song of Angels, Book II

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Written for Steemit: A love story occurs during a time anomaly. A woman from today somehow steps into an anomaly and meets a cowboy asleep on his ranch, in his bed, in the 1850's. ©Jeff Kubitz 2016 - All Rights Reserved.

Birth - Chapter 8 - Song of Angels, Book II

K34444009d0.jpg
Mindy Woczlewski courtesy of Nastya Muratokova

Song of Angels - Book I
Book II Chapter 1 | Book II Chapter 2
Book II Chapter 3 | Book II Chapter 4
Book II Chapter 5 | Book II Chapter 6
Book II Chapter 7

Mindy was the first to wake in her hospital bed. The first thing she realized was that she felt completely alert, like she had not been this awake in days. Cyrus had his arm and leg over her. She could hear his breathing and he was completely clothed.

How good it felt to wake up like that, not alone, with someone breathing right next to you, someone you loved and who loved you. Life suddenly seemed so very wonderful. That was it. Life was wonderful. There was no other word to describe it. She felt the need to use the restroom and the sun was up. She could see fine.

Mindy extricated herself from Cyrus and used the restroom. When she flushed the toilet, Cyrus woke. “What is that?”

Cyrus jumped out of bed when Mindy walked out of the restroom. “I used the toilet. Do you need to go to the bathroom, Dear?”

Cyrus answered he did with an affirmative grunt. “Come here and I will show you how to use it.” Mindy showed Cyrus how to use the toilet, the toilet paper, and what to press when he was done. While Cyrus used the bathroom, Mindy dressed.

The hospital had cleaned her clothes so they smelled fresh. One of her shoes was about to fall apart and she knew she would need a new pair today. Her luggage from the hotel was in the closet. The only other shoes she had with her were a pair of red, dress high heels. She decided to wear those. She was fully dressed when she heard the toilet flush. Cyrus came out.
“That is really amazing.” He exclaimed.

“You can wash in the sink if you like, or even take a shower.”

“I’ll wash with the sink but we need to get back to the ranch as soon as possible so my brother Bobby doesn’t become too worried.”

“Your brother is there?”

“Remember, I told you my family would see the signal fire. Bobby came when he saw it.”

“Oh, that’s good. Cyrus, while you wash up, I am going to go sign some papers for the hospital.”

“Sounds good, Mindy. I’ll wait here.”

“It might take awhile. Are you sure you do not want to try the shower?”

“Maybe it would be a good idea.” Cyrus said and Mindy turned the shower on and showed him how to use it to adjust the temperature. She handed him a wash cloth and showed him how to work the soap dispenser. “There you go. I’ll be back in a few.”

Cyrus began to undress himself as Mindy left the room. She walked to the nurses’ station and said she was ready to check out of the hospital. The nurses directed Mindy to the administrator’s office.

Mindy entered the office and began to read and sign all the forms. A little more than a half an hour passed while she finished that task. Doctor Perry had left a note with the administrator if she left before he had a chance to see her in the morning. The note said he called her work and advised her employer to give her three months off due to the stress of surviving in the elements. They had agreed this was the wisest course of action. Her employer would wait for her call. Doctor Perry noted he had said nothing to her employer about Cyrus Weeks or the specifics of the new information that had been revealed. “Good.” Mindy said to herself, it was personal business anyways.

When Mindy saw the bill, she was glad she had full medical insurance. The total was $9,000.00 and was completely covered under workman’s compensation for the extra deductible amount because she was injured at work. “I am very lucky today.”

She asked about her car and was told the Sheriff’s Department brought it over from the impound yard and parked it in the hospital parking lot. Mindy thought, her luck was running very, very good so far today.

Mindy thanked the administrator and asked for Doctor Perry’s card so she could write him a thank you note, or call him later. The administrator let Mindy use a pen and paper. She wrote a thank you note to Doctor Perry and gave it to the administrator to deliver.

Mindy returned to the room and Cyrus was drying off after the shower. She looked in on him, “I have a brush you can use for your hair.”

“I am glad I used the shower.” Cyrus said, “I have never heard of anything like that.”

“That is a good thing about 2012.” Mindy said.

“Yes it is.”

“Now, the Jeep is here at the hospital, so as soon as you are dressed, we can leave.”

“I’ll get right to it.” Cyrus said. He began to dress immediately. While he dressed, Mindy talked and she pulled her belongings from the closet and readied them by the door. She said they needed to visit a store so she could buy some new shoes for out at the ranch. She only had her high heels left. She would also like to pick up some clothes for the ranch.

Cyrus agreed with what she said and then asked, “I do not have a ring but can we get married in 2012 by a judge, or at a church?”

“It would be easier and faster with a judge, or nowadays it will be a county clerk. Am I dressed well enough to marry in these clothes?” Mindy asked.

“What about me looking like this? I have a suit at home you know?”

“Yes, I will take you as you are if you will marry me like this.”

“I will.”

“I do.” Mindy asked, “Ready to go?”

“Yes, I am. I’ll carry your bags, if you lead the way?”

On the way out, Mindy asked the nurses if there were any women’s clothing stores in the town and directions to the county clerk’s office. The hardware store had clothing and shoes but not much selection and they gave the directions to the clerk’s.

“And do you know where my car is parked?”

“It is out front to the right.”

Mindy and Cyrus thanked the nurses, walked to the central hall of the hospital and turned left to the front doors. Out the doors, outside in the cold, sunny January morning, Mindy spotted her car and she and Cyrus walked to it.

Cyrus stowed her luggage in the back and then asked Mindy once they were inside the Jeep, “Shopping or Marriage first?”

“Marriage first, if we can. This is a small town and maybe the clerk needs some time to prepare so let’s find out about that first.”

“You are the only one who knows how to drive this thing.” Cyrus said jokingly, “If it is marriage first, then it is marriage first.”

“Okay,” Mindy said and then she turned the key and the Jeep started.

“If we want the Jeep to still work once we arrive at the ranch we have to park it away from the house far enough that it stays in 2012.”

“Remind me again of that when we get to the house, Okay?” Mindy said. She drove off.

In just a couple of minutes, they arrived at the county clerk’s office which was connected to the sheriff’s department. The county clerk said they could be married later that day and it would take two hours to process the marriage license once the paperwork was filled out. The fee was twenty-five dollars and Mindy paid it.

Cyrus and Mindy filled out the paperwork together. “So, you were born May 5th, 1821?” Mindy asked.
“Yes.” Cyrus answered.

“I was born April 21st, 1996.” Mindy filled in the form.

“I wasn’t going to say anything, since you look so much like her, except you are older, a more mature woman but you and Claire were born on the same day.”

“Really?”

“Yes.”

“And how much like her do I look?”

“I thought you were Claire, when I woke, when we first met. Did you know, I was supposed to have died the day we met? The Deputy told me.”

“Really?”

“I suppose you saved my life when you showed up.”

“Really? Cyrus, do you know how close, how loved by you I feel?”

“The same way I feel I reckon.”

“Yes.” Mindy said while she looked in his eyes, “The very same way.”

“The form is done?”

“Yes, I’ll give it to the clerk. She might not believe it. So, you can come up with me.” Mindy and Cyrus walked to the counter and handed the form to the clerk.

The clerk took the form and read it, “So he was born in 1821, and he has no identification or address. Is this some kind of a joke?”

“I was born in 1821 and my ranch has no address that I know of but I live in this county.” Cyrus answered. “You can ask Deputy James Smith, he can identify me.”

“James Smith? You are that Cyrus Weeks, the one that talked to the President, I think I am going to faint.” The clerk leaned against the counter and Cyrus held her arm and used his hat to fan the clerk’s face. It was a small town. Word travelled fast.

“You talked to the President of the United States?” Mindy asked incredulous.

“Breathe slow and deep.” Cyrus said. The clerk listened and recovered slowly. After about two minutes, she said,

“I am all right now thank you.” The clerk said standing by herself. “So, you must be the woman they rescued from the desert last week?” She asked Mindy.

“Yes, that’s me, from Chicago.” Mindy answered with a smile.

“I can find your property description in the records in just a couple of minutes Mr. Weeks and enter it on the form.” The clerk said.

“Yes, it would be nice of you to do so.” Cyrus answered.

“I’ll do that and it will be about two hours, say 11:15 for the marriage ceremony?”

“We’ll be back at 11:15, Right Cyrus?” Mindy asked him.

“Yes, 11:15 is fine with us.”

“Is there a jewelry store in town?” Mindy asked the clerk.

“The only place that might have jewelry is the pawn shop. Other than that there is no jewelry store here.” The clerk answered.

“And where is that?” Mindy asked.

“It is across the street, a little toward the highway. The jewelry store is that way.” The clerk pointed through the wall.

“Thank you.” Mindy then Cyrus said to the clerk. She nodded and they left. Once they walked out the door and down the walkway, they could see the pawn shop across the street. They decided to walk over to it. It was that close.

“Why are we going to the pawn shop?” Cyrus asked

“To see if we can get wedding rings and maybe get you a more modern pistol.”

“I think I already have a wedding ring at the house that will fit but if you want another that is fine with me. As for the pistol, will it work in 1856?”

“Let’s look for new rings and that is a good question about whether or not it will work. We will just have to see what they have. Watch out for the car Cyrus!”

“What? Oh.”

“They move fast. You have to time it right and I know you are not used to it. Let me lead the way around here, okay?”

“Yes.”

“Okay, it is safe to walk, hold my hand as we cross the street.” Cyrus took Mindy’s hand and they crossed the main street of the town. Just a ways to the south was the pawn shop. They walked in.

“Can I help you?” A man behind the counter asked.

“We wanted to know if you had any wedding rings.” Mindy said.

“We have a few. Here, let me show you these.” The man moved to a display case to his right and pulled out a ring display holder and brought the rings to Mindy and Cyrus.

“I can pay for them Mindy, if we find the ones we like.” Cyrus said.

“You have money?” Mindy asked.

“I should have enough on me to buy two wedding rings. I have a hundred dollars and some change in my purse.”

“Yes sir, I am afraid these rings will cost more than a hundred dollars each.” The pawn broker said.

“Well, Cyrus you can help pay for them, at least, with what you have. Now that one looks nice, let me try it on.” Mindy said.

“Yes, here it is. That is a half carat stone, with another half carat around - A full carat of diamonds total.”

“Oh look, Cyrus, this is so pretty and it fits perfectly.” Mindy said as she looked at the ring on her finger.

“How much is it?” Cyrus asked the pawn broker.

“That is a mere $640 and we have the certificate to go with it.”

“Mindy that is a lot, my whole ranch not counting cattle ain’t worth that much.”

“It’s alright Cyrus. I have been saving my whole life to get married. We can afford this and a ring for you. So go ahead and chose a ring for you.”

“Are you sure Mindy?”

“I am positive. Don’t worry about the cost.”

“You look like you have a size fourteen ring finger. We have these two here in that size.”

“I’ll try that first.” Cyrus pointed. He was handed the ring and tried it on. “It fits perfectly.”

“Wonderful. How much is the total for the rings?”
“That would be $1200.00 even but since you are buy two, I’ll knock off ten percent and so it will be $1155 including tax.” The pawnbroker said beaming.

“Yes. You agree Cyrus?” Mindy asked.

“It sure is a lot of money but okay, if you say we can afford it.”

“We can.” Mindy turned back to the pawn broker and asked, “Do you have boxes for the rings?”

“I do.” He answered and he took the credit card Mindy handed to him.

“Here Mindy,” Cyrus said taking out his money pouch from a pocket. It was a change purse. “Let me give you the money right now.”

“Oh Cyrus.”

“I insist.” Cyrus said untying the drawstring and opening the pouch. He took out the coins and handed them to Mindy. “There you go dear, one hundred dollars.”

“Those are gold coins?” The pawnbroker asked.

“Why yes, of course.”

“You have gold coins?” Mindy asked Cyrus.

“Yes, of course I do.”

“Wait with the credit card please.” Mindy said to the pawnbroker, “Could we have an appraisal on these coins please?”

“Sure”, the pawnbroker said. “If those are real gold coins, you won’t need a credit card Ma’am.”

The pawnbroker took the coins and verified they were real gold. Cyrus had two five dollar gold pieces which he rated ‘good’ and then there 5, $10 gold pieces of which one was one grade below mint. Two were fine and two were good. There were two twenty dollar gold pieces both very fine.

“”I will give you…” He looked online for the values, “Spot on each minus ten percent for handling.” He took out his calculator. “That comes to $12,374.”

“What?” Cyrus said.

“There have not been gold coins for a very long time Cyrus. Those coins are worth a lot.” Mindy said to Cyrus, and then she turned to the pawnbroker and said, “We also want to get a rifle and a pistol if possible that have no electricity requirements and a lot of ammunition for each.”

“We need two rifles and two pistols, one set for me and one for her.” Cyrus said.

“Well let’s see what we have here. Come with me.” The pawnbroker took them to another room to show them the gun case. “None of these pistols or rifles requires any electricity. Just load them and fire. Most are semi-automatic although we have some single shot breach loaded rifles.”

“Something like a sheriff’s deputy would use for pistols.” Cyrus said.

“Well, the sheriffs can use whatever they want but normally they will use a revolver, like these here.” The pawnbroker said.

“They hold six shots?”

“Yes, or you could go with a semi-automatic which normally holds nine. What are you used to using?”

“Why, this right here.” Cyrus said and he pulled out his pistol and showed it to the pawnbroker. “It’s powder and ball.”

“You use that, it looks nearly new.”

“It’s about five years old. No, it is four.” Cyrus said.

“That would make it over a hundred and eighty years old,” Mindy said. “But it is not for sale.”

“We want revolvers I think, with long barrels.” Mindy said. “We do not know how to take care of any complicated fire arms. We only want guns where you have a lot of ammunition to go with them.”

“Ummm…strange pistol you have there, but these two are 38 caliber and match. I have hundreds of rounds right here in the store for each. They are seven hundred for the pair.”

“Do you have leg holsters for them?” Cyrus asked.

“I am sure we can find two holsters here. Do you like these two holsters?”

“Yes, those will do.” Cyrus answered “And we will take all the rounds you have.”

“I actually have 25,000 rounds in stock, are you sure you want that many?”

“No, that is too many. A thousand for each pistol is far more than enough, now for the rifles.”

“Okay let me put these over next to the cash register and I will be right back to help you with your rifle purchases.”
Cyrus nodded. Then he asked Mindy, “What is a semi-automatic and what is a breach loader, do you know?”

“With a semi-automatic, all you have to do is load it and then pull the trigger until you run out of bullets. With a breach loader, you have to put in one bullet at a time. But that is about all I know because I have not shot or been around guns since we lived at the dairy.”

The pawnbroker returned, “What sort of rifles are you used to shooting?”

“Enfield Muskets, I only use the most modern and the best.” Cyrus answered.

“I have not heard of that one, but muskets? These rifles are not black powder but we do have two or three black powder rifles here if that is what you want.”

“We want breach loaders I think. We need something easy to take care of for him and myself.” Mindy said.

“Breach loaders, well the most popular are .30-30 or the .30-06.”

“I want a rifle that will kill at a hundred yards.” Cyrus said.

“Everything here will do that, but their range is a sure kill at 700 yards.” The pawnbroker said.
“That is astounding, 700 hundred yards?” Cyrus asked.

“Why yes if you are that good a shot. We have scopes.”

“No scopes please, I think we want a pair of .30-30 rifles.” Mindy said.

“And we will need cleaning messes to go with them, 1250 rounds out to be more than enough.” Cyrus said.

“We also have these tote cases making them easy to carry.”

“Yes, we will two of those, please.” Mindy said.

“Will there be anything else?”

“How much does all that come to?” Cyrus asked nervously.

“Let me take everything over here to the register and total it up for you.” The pawnbroker said. “Follow me.”

Mindy then Cyrus followed the pawnbroker back to the cash register. After a couple of minutes of getting all the ammunition and totaling everything, the pawnbroker said, “That comes to $3,756 plus tax for a total of $4,012.”
“Okay, let’s see how many of my coins add up to that much money.” Cyrus said.

“It will take a minute to figure that out then.”

“That is fine. We’ll wait.” Cyrus said.

“Cyrus, I will go and get the Jeep while you pay the nice man and be right back so we do not have to carry all of this too far.” Mindy said. Cyrus nodded in return and Mindy left out the door.

After few minutes of manipulating the prices and examining the coins, the pawnbroker said, “These three coins right here this $20, and these two $10’s will pay for it all and that leaves two hundred left over back to you.”

“Done.” Cyrus said.

“Would you like to sell any more of your coins?” The pawnbroker asked.

“Will two hundred dollars buy many clothes and shoes for my fiancée?”

“That usually runs a few hundred more. What kind of shoes are you looking for we have brand new boots over there in women’s sizes.”

“How much are those?”

“The lace ups are $60 and the cowgirl boots are $95.00.”

“We will want two of each in her size, and do you have any boots in my size? I see you have hats, she’ll need one.”

“What size boots do you wear?”

“I don’t know what size my foot is.”

“I’ll just add in five pairs that will be $430. A five dollar gold piece should cover it.”

“Done, let me try on the boots for myself.” Cyrus said as he held out his hand. The pawnbroker gave him back $55.00 in gold coins.

“Right this way please.” Cyrus followed the pawnbroker into the shoe section of the store. “I think those are thirteen-wide. Here try these on.”

Cyrus tried them on and they fit perfectly. He walked around in them as Mindy came in the store. He said, “Mindy, over here I bought you some boots and a hat but you have to try them on.”

“Okay.” Mindy said and walked over. “I take a size seven.” She told the pawnbroker.

“Mindy look they have real thick socks. We could use some of these.” Cyrus said.

“Yes, let me try the boots on with the socks on first please.” Mindy said.

“I’ll get you a pair, just a moment please.” The pawnbroker said as she removed her high heels.

So the next hour and a half went. Cyrus bought a few more things and he left the store with $45.00 in gold. Chief of which was several packages of long underwear for Mindy and a long leather coat. When they left, Mindy had to purchase all the pistols with her information because Cyrus had no identification.

Next they went to the clothing store and Mindy had to use her credit card because the hardware and clothing store with a Radio Shack inside did not take gold. The total came to four hundred dollars and Mindy and Cyrus had jeans, flannel shirts, underwear, and nightgowns for Mindy. Cyrus stopped back at the Pawn shop and sold the rest of his coins. They took the cash to the town bank and wired it into Mindy’s account, which was just over $7,000.

They did all that in just under two hours and raced back to the clerk’s office. Mindy changed into a work dress in the restroom which looked very nice for the wedding.

They stood before the clerk, who said, “Dearly beloveds we are gathered here today to unite Mindy Lynn Woczlewski to Cyrus Weeks in matrimony…”

After they said their vows and placed the rings on their fingers, they kissed a most passionate kiss.

With license in hand, they headed off to the ranch but not before Mindy showed Cyrus the town grocery store.

“This is unbelievable Cyrus said.”

“Yes, it’s a really nice part about 2012.” Mindy answered.

They stocked up on cans. Then Cyrus had his first taste of Fast Food at the local Burger King on the way out of town, the one there at the truck stop.

“Unbelievable.” Cyrus said.

“Do I really seem to be that much like Claire? You are not marrying me because you think I am Claire?” Mindy asked as they turned onto the highway to head for home, the ranch.

“You are you and that is why I married you. I love you, Mindy.” Cyrus said. “We are already married, not marrying.”

“Yes, we are married now. It is just so new, so wonderful.” Mindy said as they drove down the road. It would be an hour until they were home.

Follow me: @jeff_kubitz

Sort:  

This really good story thanks for writing it can't wait for the rest

So very glad you like it

Hello @jeff-kubitz,

It gives us pleasure to inform you that this post have been upvoted by Project Better.

The Mission of Project Better is to reward posts have many votes from Minnows but earn pennies.
Your payout is $0.001 before we vote on your post.

Learn more about the Project Better here! ,
Want to donate your voting power to support Project Better and earn curation rewards? Click Here!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!

~BETTER~

Thanks project better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60913.22
ETH 2643.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58