Birth - Chapter 5, Song of Angels, Book II

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Written for Steemit: A love story occurs during a time anomaly. A woman from today somehow steps into an anomaly and meets a cowboy asleep on his ranch, in his bed, in the 1850's. ©Jeff Kubitz 2016 - All Rights Reserved.

Birth - Chapter 5 - Song of Angels, Book II

K34444009d0.jpg
Mindy Woczlewski courtesy of Nastya Muratokova

Table of ContentsPlease feel free to read and vote for the previous chapters:
Song of Angels - Chapter 1Book II Chapter 1
Book II Chapter 2Book II Chapter 3

Book II Chapter 4

“Bobby, you alright?” Deputy James, Jimmy, and Bobby heard a man’s voice yell from outside the house.

“That’s Cyrus. He’s come back.” Bobby said to Jimmy. Then Bobby yelled,

“Yes Cyrus. There is a Sheriff’s Deputy here named Jimmy, come on in.” Bobby stood up and walked to the door so Cyrus could see him. “Come on in. We’re drinking coffee.”

“I left Cutter out yonder when I saw this strange car and snuck up on the house. Why don’t you go fetch him for me and put him in the barn.” Cyrus said from the trees, he walked out, pistol still in his hand but lowered.

“I’ll do it but you can put your pistol away. The Deputy knows Mindy.” Bobby said as he walked to Cyrus.

“I want to talk to him then.” Cyrus said as he walked toward the house and he holstered his pistol. When he was up to Bobby, he saw Jimmy in the doorway and waved to him. “Bobby, Cutter is over there in them trees.” Cyrus turned and pointed.

“Right Cyrus. I’ll go and fetch him and put him up.” Bobby walked away in the direction Cyrus had pointed into the woods.

When Cyrus walked up to the door, Jimmy said, “So you are Cyrus Weeks.” Jimmy noted that Cyrus was a big blond man whereas Bobby was about six inches shorter and more wiry. He would put Cyrus at about thirty-five just like Mindy said.

“Do you have any word on Mindy?” Cyrus asked as Jimmy stepped out of the door and let Cyrus pass. Cyrus grabbed himself a coffee cup and poured a cup. “Go ahead and have a seat Sheriff.” Cyrus hung up his coat, and then sat down.

“I am Deputy James Smith of the Fillmore County Sheriff’s Department.” Jimmy said and extended his hand toward Cyrus. Jimmy was about six feet two, broad shouldered with brown hair and brown eyes.

Cyrus took his hand and introduced himself, “What can you tell me about Mindy?” He asked Jimmy in earnest.

“First, I tried to be circumspect about what has happened. You know Mindy is from the future and so am I, right?”

“Good. I can see you are a man who does not panic. Bobby does not know that Mindy is from the future and he is still a young man so let’s not give him too much about it. He is the youngest and a good man but not the smartest.”

“Right I gathered that. So, you have seen a car before?”

“I have. I saw Mindy’s Jeep and went out there and tried to move it but did not know anything about it. Now I just returned from where the Jeep was parked and it was no longer there. I thought maybe Mindy drove off and had not returned yet.”

“We found her in 2012 but there was no house here and she needed to be put in the hospital so we took the Jeep to our holding yard. I just talked to her today, or today in the year 2012.”

“Can we go and see her?” Cyrus asked.

“I don’t know if we can see her. I…my car is dead and won’t start just like we found her car dead.”

“So, you are stuck here?” Cyrus asked.

“Yes. And let’s say surprised is not the word for what I found here because there was no ranch here when she was picked up. She still talks about it but they thought she was dreaming or hallucinating because of the cold.”

“I am sure you are surprised as I was when she showed up in my house. Then I saw what she called a phone and her Jeep. Now, I made a signal fire because she heard what she called a chopper and then suddenly she just up and disappeared. I have been looking for her since.”

“How was she when she was here?” Jimmy asked.

“She always seemed to be cold unless the door was bolted but then her clothes weren’t very thick.” Cyrus answered. “At first, I thought she must be a little crazy, the way she talked but then I saw here Jeep and her phone and knew something real strange was going on.”

“Yes, it is a little colder than I am used to, what with the door open but I do have heavy, winter clothing on. When she was here, was it possible to - were you in 2012 at the same time as 1856?”

“There were some changes around here; we saw what she called a plane. The road out changed about a hundred yards from the house to a parallel track but the house, I figure it had to be 1856 here because otherwise it would fall down from age.” Cyrus answered. “So, I really do not know if you get away from the house and it is a different year or what. The parallel track that used to be my road started out a bit further I would say.”

“Can we go look at that track?” Jimmy asked.

“Why sure. Hey, I was just wondering why you came out here, Jimmy?”

“The chopper that rescued Mindy left a first aid kit and they sent me out to get it.”

“Did you find it?”

“Bobby and I found it about a hundred or so yards out that way.” Jimmy pointed through the wall.

“Let me down this coffee and put on a coat. Then we will go out and see if it looks like time has changed.” Cyrus looked out the door and said. “Maybe we best get to it before all the light is gone.” He stood up and walked over to don his coat. Jimmy stood up and went out the door.”

“That looks like quite a pistol you have there.” Cyrus said.

“Thanks. So, you went out to where the Jeep was parked?”

“Yes I did.”

“Did it look like it might be 2012?” Jimmy asked.

“I didn’t see anything there. No tracks. I heard no plane or chopper. Saw no cars. But maybe no one was out?”

“Maybe.” Jimmy answered as walked over to the ‘parallel tracks’. It was getting dark. He took out his flashlight and turned it on but the beam was dim. He left it on and Cyrus remarked,

“Another future invention?”

“Yes, but batteries don’t seem to work in here very well, in 1856.”

“They don’t do they. Now you see where the road changes to two tracks up there?”

“Oh I see what you are talking about.” As they moved forward, the flashlight began to grow brighter. “I’ll be!” Jimmy exclaimed. He ran forward with the flashlight and it grew brighter with each step. “This must be the end of the time difference.”

“Maybe.” Cyrus said.

“Here. You take this and see if it works the farther you walk that way.” Jimmy said holding out the flashlight to Cyrus. Cyrus took it. “I’ll be back in a second.”

Jimmy turned and ran back to the car. He opened the door and grabbed the camera and he had a personal cell phone. He turned it on. No signal. No light on in the car either.

Jimmy ran back to Cyrus with the camera and phone. The phone still had no signal but that was to be expected out here. He turned on the camera and it was near full charged. “Huh. This camera was dead when I took pictures with it over by the house. Now, stepping out here, it is charged up.”

“That is something.” Cyrus walked back toward the house and the flashlight dimmed. He turned and walked back to Jimmy. The light grew brighter again.

“Maybe we could. Let’s set all this electrical stuff down here. Maybe we could push the car over here and it would work too!”

Just then there was an extremely loud roar off in the distance to the east. The roar was deafening.

“What is that?” Cyrus exclaimed.

“I don’t know. A jet for sure.”

“Mindy told me about them but I had no idea. They really are loud like she said.”

“Those aren’t passenger jets.” Jimmy said. “Those have to be fighters.”

“They are deafening.” Cyrus yelled.

“There are two!” Jimmy yelled, “And they are travelling at Mach or higher. We have to be in 2012.”

“We can move your car here and go see Mindy!” Cyrus yelled.

“Yeah. Great idea! Leave the stuff here.”

Bobby came running up, screaming, “Cyrus! Cyrus! What is that!”

The two F-16’s approached from the east growing louder as Bobby, Cyrus, and Jimmy watched. Maybe over by the Cemetex plant but more north a couple of miles, their canopies glittered in the setting sun.

“They are armed!” Jimmy yelled.

“They ain’t going to attack us are they?” Cyrus yelled back.

“I doubt it they are too far north!” Jimmy yelled.

Israeli F-16
Image Source

The two F-16’s were just about even with the three men and in perfect attack formation at an altitude of twenty feet over the terrain. They passed to the west and their engines went silent about a mile to the west.

Jimmy screamed but there was no need because everything was silent, “Oh no!!”

Boom. Boom. Great clouds of dust rose up into the night sky as the planes skidded along the ground raising huge clouds of smoke. Fire glowed to life. The sound of tumbling exploding fighter jets was nearly as loud as their now silent engines.

Fighter Crash

“Let’s push the car out here now.” Jimmy yelled.

“Right. Come on Bobby.”

The three men ran to the car. The flames of a desert on fire rose up in a line that must have been a mile long. Jimmy took the driver’s seat, moved the transmission to neutral and released the emergency brake. Cyrus and Bobby were at the front. Jimmy pushed on the door frame. “Push!”

The rumble of three hundred head of cattle could be heard below. “Stampede!” Bobby screamed.

“Set the brake and run to the house!” Cyrus yelled to Jimmy.


"Sir, we just lost contact with Falcon Light." Captain Spencer reported at the doorway.

“First, we lost the Control Center, then the helicopter, and now two F-16’s.” General Sherman said. “Get me the Secretary of Defense on the line.”

Follow me: @jeff-kubitz please feel free to vote and reblog or resteeem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59204.66
ETH 2526.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52