SoCalSteemit Meetup in Riverside

in #steemitmeetup6 years ago (edited)

Sunday Outing

group.jpg
image by @Rt395
Left to right: @nutinbutdatruth @madpotters @creationofcare @Mariannewest @MattLovell @dennisauburn @derekrichardson @CSUSBgeochem1. Not pictured: @beckymeep & @rt395

Last Sunday was the first in-person Steemit meetup I have ever gone to. And let me tell you, it was fun, fun, fun!!!

Aren't we a group of beautiful people 😉

The answer, of course, is yes!!

Most of us hadn't met before - yet - after just a few minutes of hanging out together, it seemed like we had been friends for a long time.
My theory is that whoever is on Steemit and sticks with it is, by default, is a pretty cool person. To dive into the world of crypto requires a bit of an open mind - I know that all in my family think that I am a bit crazy. Come to think of it, they might have thought that before I got sucked up by the wonderful world of Steemit.

Be that as it may, some wonderful food helped to make us all happy.
long table.jpg

And that wasn't even all of it!!
Derek.jpg

Derek, also known as @derekrichardson was outdoing himself with all the food he prepared for us. The tables were already pretty full when suddenly, Derek disappeared. We found out that he went home to get even more food!!!

What a guy!!! Thank you so much, Derek!!!

hot dogs.jpg

While he was gone, there was some hot dog action going on. @beckymeep had brought a frying pan since she didn't trust the cleanliness of the public grills which might also be visited by birds and such.

grilling.jpg

Her and @CSUSBgeochem1 were our grill masters and did a fantastic job!!

Their fur babies were supervising the situation and made sure that they got plenty of rest between all the petting and greeting people they had to do.

dog.jpg
They had their own luxury hotel. Lucky dogs!!!

One thing you might not have known about Steemit is that there is a super secret hand movement. Look at those guys!! Now, the secret is out!!

hands.jpg

@rt395 and @dennisauburn must have practiced for a while to have such perfect coordination.

The rest of us did a lot of standing, talking and eating and having a great time.

standing.jpg

And the dogs did their doggy duty and allowed the lowly humans to pet them some.
All went well until we all drank the kool-aid lemonade!

lemon aid.jpg

Suddenly, we all got a bit paranoid and thanks to @fishyculture and her explanations

  • we knew what to do!!! The only way to escape complete mind-control is to put on the foil hat. And that, we did.
    tinfoil.jpg
    image by @Rt395

The lemonade was delicious, btw. and came from homegrown lemons lovingly prepared by @creationofcare and @mattlovell!

The only reason I even knew about this meetup was that I had posted an invitation to a local San Diego meetup. It is happening this coming Sunday, March 4th. All the information is here.

Derek and @rt395 both left a reply and told me about the new initiative they are starting - a Southern California meetup connection. If you are from Southern California, make sure you join the discord group and meet your local fellow Steemians.

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

So, of course, I had to go to their meetup in Riverside. My husband and I had a good time talking during the 2-hour drive to get there. It was an afternoon well spent.

As an extra bonus, we got to meet two fellow San Diegans who I had been talking to on the San Diego Meetup post

I am looking forward to seeing you again on Sunday @nutinbutdatruth and @madpotters!!!!

purple band.jpg

Here are a couple of posts by me about this meetup from different viewpoints.
Steepshot: SoCal Steemit Meetup
Mostly about the Food

purple band.jpg

And here are some post from my new friends about the meetup

Flaunt Your Foil by @socalsteemit

By @rt395 in English and Japanese

Third Meetup by @derekrichardson

How to Make Friends by @madpotters

Sunday in Riverside by @beckymeep

The egg salad - so good!! by @creationofcare

purple band.jpg

Remember! San Diego Meetup March 4 at 2 PM in Old Town.

more info here

Imgur

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

Southern California Steemit Meetup

my first post on Zappl
See the Snow?

Can you Guess

Butterfly

Eat your Greens

Sourdough Bread Recipe

Laughter Yoga for Seniors

Battling Cancer with the Gerson Therapy

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Imgur

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Imgur

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Imgur

Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here

Sort:  

Resteemed and upvoted by the MAP-AAKOM community.
:-)

Thank you so much!!!

Looks like it was a lot of fun. That doggy looks so cozy and comfy and cuuuute.

By the way, I wanted to let you know that I really appreciate your contributions on Steemit and while I may be jumping on the opportunity to share compliments for a contest (I know, right, hey I'm truthful) my words are genuine. The Freewrites are a lot of fun, a great way to connect with others, read and write, it helps me improve myself, feel good about myself, it practices mindfulness meditation because of the improv aspect. You encourage us to write, never judge us, and always enjoy what we write :)

Thank you so much!! It means a lot to me that people get value from it :)

Looking forward to the next meet-up In Old town . Hopefully we have the same positive energy flowing :)

That is up to us, right? 😉

Well - I guess it's not super-secret anymore! We'll have to work on a new one. All suggestions considered... :-))

Ha!! you have to up your game!!

Only beautiful person know how to have beautiful people around @mariannewest have a nice day and have fun....Thanks for a nice article

Hi @mariannewest Awesome post. Thank you. Looks like you all had a blast. I'm going to try my best to come down to S.D. this weekend & go to the Steem Meetup in Old Town. Thank you again for sharing. I look forward to meeting. We have Steem Creators Conference in Las Vegas April 13-15th. Love to have you participate. Have an incredible day.

https://www.steemcreators.com

unnamed.png

Oh, it sure would be fun to meet you!! Btw - there is no link on your signature. But will look at your profile to find out more about the conference.

That was great @mariannewest! I was laughing so hard at the "super secret hand movements". What a great time it was. I can't wait to see how awesome the San Diego meetup will be. I'm really bummed I can't make it. I'll just have to see all the posts and be all jealous I guess. LOL!

We have many more :) I hope the weather will participate!! But so far, it looks like we might have a good turnout. But then - it is San Diego - we never know until the last minute who is going to come...

...or 30 minutes after the last minute :D Seems like on time is actually early here!

We forgot to teach everyone the secret Steemit handshake! That was a great catch.

I am really going to try and make it down Sunday. Crossing my fingers.

I know!! what an oversight! LOL

If you are driving and feel like having a passenger, @mcoinz79 is in San Clemente and would like to come. but he doesn't drive and couldn't arrange a ride... No obligation of course, but if it could work - that would be great!

This is really beautiful, steemit has created so much love and bond and it is such a beautiful thing when we share love this way.
Although I wasn't there, i just feel like I partook in all the fun.

I am glad that you were able to participate through this post 😁

This looks like awesome fun! I'm so glad you were able to have a meet up. I really hope to take Part in one this year! I love the doggy luxury hotel and foil hats! Nice article!

Thank you so much!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15