SoCal Steemit Meetup

in #socalsteemit6 years ago

dcb1bed5-ed38-4119-9f6c-d84c6ace52c8.jpeg


We just got back from a fun, fun field trip to Riverside.
The occasion you ask?
Good question!!
We went to our very first steemit meetup!!!
So much fun!!!
A couple of weeks ago, I decided to organize a meetup in San Diego. The next thing I knew, I had become friends with some awesome people who had just started to organize a Southern California Steemit discord server and meetup.
Yes, I am talking about you, @rt395 @derekrichardson and @CSUSBgeochem1.
They had found my post and told me all about their upcoming meetup in Riverside. A quick map check showed me that it was about a two-hour drive to get there.
That, I thought, was doable.
My husband was willing to come and we had fun going on our little Sunday family mini vacation.
The weather cooperated and it was sunny and warm enough to be pleasant but not hot. A perfect Californian day!!
Derek had made this awesome sign and we found Bekka, Derek, Eric, and Larry already there.
And food!! Tons of food! And I mean tons of food!!
So, we ate. And we talked. And we ate some more.
From the beginning, it felt that we already had been friends for awhile. None of the awkwardness which is usually present when you meet strangers.
More people with more food showed up and I even got to meet one of my first steemit friends in person!! @creationofcare - so great to meet you!!
The best part is that some of us might meet up again next week in San Diego. So looking forward to that.
Watch for a longer post tomorrow and watch the @socalsteem account for some silver foil hat silliness.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot | IPFS | Google Play
Sort:  

So, you did it! I was curious how it went. I sometimes feel shy or awkward around people I don't know in the beginning. But I think it's a great idea to start connecting with other Steemians in your area.

This Sunday will be the San Diego Meetup. We moved it to Old Town so it is right by the train station if you want to come down on the train - it's a beautiful ride. And the ocean is close! If your husband can ride a bike and carry a board - there is a bike trail right down to the ocean and I am pretty sure there are bike rentals around.
Or just come by car :)

Please do that post and I will tweet it many times. I have a lot of SD peeps and steemers connections over there. Did you hear from my darling? I hope he can get to this and asked him to contact you.

Hi there. I also tend to feel awkward meeting new people, pretty severely at times.
However, it is noticeable how much we all had in common and how easy and comfortable it was to strike up conversations. Perhaps our preferred platform here is developing that engagement skillset IRL just as it does online. Hope you too experience similar :)

I think it was smart to bring the hubby along)) I'll do the same if I go to a meeting. And it's nice reason to go on a out of town trip. Mine is more interested in surfing real waves rather than Internet)) Can't talk him into starting an account on Steemit. So, I'm on my own. Still partially lost here but getting accustomed day by day ))

I'll see if we can make it, thank you for the info! How often do you guys meet? I've been living in CA for ten years but haven't been in San Diego yet! It's probably time to fix that)))

Such a great day with awesome new friends. Much love!!!!

It was awesome!! So great to meet you!!!

Glad you had fun; sorry I missed this. There is another meetup in Los Angeles tommorow night if you are interested Seems a lot of people rsvp'd. I hope the different socal groups are aware of each other.

I am in San Diego, so an evening meetup in LA is not going to work at all. Who is the organizer?

Southern California Steemit discord server and meetup.

Wow!!
This is amazing and I'm so happy to hear that.
I'm living here in the Philippines, very far from California.
But, I hope you can have fun time and please enjoy..
thank you @mariannewest

Thank you so much!! Hope you will have a meetup closer to your home!!

I hope so too.. I think they are planning a meet up but we have something to do on that day too.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.06
Server time: 06:41:09
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 232.60/400.00
Total Photos: 28
Total comments: 41
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I'm so happy you got out and had some fun!! :D

Thank you!! it really was fun and my husband and I haven't done anything fun together for a while - it was needed :)

Great meeting you Sunday! Cant wait for the next time now :)

Yes!! I am hoping that your car will be in great driving condition and you all can make a field trip down here :)

When's the one you're planning for San Diego? I remember you posted about that. Going to see if I can put that in my schedule :)

This Sunday - the 4th. We moved it to Old Town - there is a train stop right there if you are coming by public transport :)
I will make a post about it as well. Are you still in Vegas? there is an LA meetup tonight. details are here @steemitla

Heading back to LA today, just not sure when I'm going to be back, hehe. Also nursing another hangover. Big surprise, right? lol.

Didn't know about that group, now I do :)

March 4...gotcha. See if I can figure a way down. Feb. really sucked for work so scrambling right now every free moment I got.

hopefully, March is the beginning of your new abundance

Yes, yes it will be :)

Wish I could have come, Next time. Spent the weekend fitting a new radiator into a 1964 Dodge, and had my brother in town so it was a no-go.

things happen. Hopefully next time!

I can't wait to see your longer post tomorrow! I always love hearing details about Steemit meetups :).

It was sooo much fun!! Are you going to have one in your area?

I think it would be tough to pulloff one in Central Illinois where I go to school, but once I'm back in Chicago for the Summer I might have to go about setting it up!

You might be surprised :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58979.17
ETH 3236.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33