Butterfly on Top of a Mountain

in #butterfly6 years ago

bbb2c08a-69af-425c-ab67-1fed83920bf5.jpeg


Today, I found this beauty on top of a mountain - okay, more like a hill. I hiked one of my favorite short hikes - Cowles Mountain in San Diego. It is 1594 feet high which does make it the highest, dare I say it - Mountain in San Diego.
The hike has an elevation gain of 990 feet within 1.5 miles.
On top of Cowles Mountain, you can see the ocean on one side and the mountains on the other. It really is worth it to go up just for the view.
When I got to the summit, there were all kinds of people, and the butterfly you see above.
To the best of my knowledge, it is a swallowtail and shouldn't be here yet at this time of the year.
This morning, we had frost on the back patio. That also is not supposed to happen. Ever.
Oh well. Both happened.
I lost a mango tree and am wishing the butterfly the best.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot | IPFS | Google Play
Sort:  

Beautiful butterfly, nice picture. Thank you.

Beautiful. We have this superstitious belief that if a butterfly appears on unexpected occasions or event it might be the soul of someone who passed away and very close to you, and they do come to guide and look after you.

what a beautiful thought!! I will remember that next time I see a butterfly and ask it what it has to tell me!

Sorry for your loss, especially if you don't have many such trees. Unfortunately, this is "global warming" in action (according to our betters).

It's so wonderful when I see beauty in an unexpected place or time: I sometimes forget to express my gratitude. Thank you for sharing!

Thank you so much! Yes, it is/was my only Mango tree and I should have planted it right next to the house.

Thank you for stopping by! And I am with you. Often we forget to stop and appreciate the unexpected beauty around us. And it really is everywhere...

Sorry for being slightly off-topic, but curiosity impels me to ask:
How would planting your tree right next to the house have protected it? Less wind (wind chill)? Warmer soil?

All of the above. And the house (a mass) absorbs heat and releases it during the night. So, it creates a warmer microclimate
Sorry for the late response

hi @mariannewest, it seems the butterflies are feeling the heat on the mountain, but he is very happy because you have exposed him, maybe he will be grateful if he can talk, good picture, may i know you madam?

hahaha don't think butterflies care about getting their picture taken - they know that they are beautiful :)

Indeed the butterfly is his perfect creation, he has a tremendous transformation way, so it is worth to say a butterfly success

Monarchs are amazing. They're migration of thousands of miles takes several generations of butterflies. Both directions.

Agreed!! It really blows my mind how they can do this!

Thank you so much!!

The butterfly counts not months but moments, and has time enough.

That is so true!

Glad you replied

Thank you for your support

Do you ever see Monarch butterflies in your area? We have them in the fall in Santa Barbara.

Yes. We do have a lot here too. :)

It did not fly even when it saw you ? The butterfly is so beautiful and the photography is excellent too.

It did fly away when I tried to get closer. :)

this beautiful butterfly is my friend

Well, that is good to know :)

I am very happy when you visit my blog once a friend yes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61841.74
ETH 3420.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47