New Contest!! FLAUNT YOUR FOIL! - Minimum 5 SBD in prizes up for grabs!

in #foilfashionista6 years ago (edited)

I am doing a "two related posts" thingy today, announcing a contest and telling a story. This is the contest announcement. If you are at all curious about how I became a Foil Fashionista, please have a look at the corresponding post, "The Day I Accepted Aluminum" here:
https://steemit.com/conspiracy/@fishyculture/the-day-i-accepted-aluminum

That post inspired me to host a contest to FLAUNT YOUR FOIL! Since I am the kind of gal who only believes in leading by example, please allow me to flaunt my foil first!

I hit the toy box, craft box and jewelry box and got myself a few simple supplies. Oh, and of course, the kitchen cupboard.

DSCF3392.JPG



I found that with just a little tuck in back I could get something approximating a nice pillbox hat, like Jackie O. made popular!



The ribbon and pearls were all too short or too long but a stylish little bow knot fixed the problem.

DSCF3395.JPG


Now for a nice bit of spring color...

DSCF3396.JPG


Oh yes! We are almost there! I just need a little flounce, a bit of whimsy (because this has all been so very serious so far!)

DSCF3397.JPG

Lets see how it looks!
20180224_072303.jpg

Selfie done with my cell phone, all other pics were taken with Fuji FinePix S8300.

RULES:

  1. I CANNOT REQUIRE YOU TO UPVOTE. See comment below. PLEASE BRING ME LINKS TO OTHER CONTEST REQUIRING YOUR UPVOTE for a special prize from me!
  2. Make a tin foil hat, take at least 3 pictures that show your progress and one picture of you wearing your creation.
  3. Make a post about your hat AND tell a story about how you became a "tin-hatter." Your story must be in English and at least 200 words long. If you make two posts like I did, put both links in one comment!
  4. Tag your post(s) #foilfashionista - you may use whatever additional tags you wish.
  5. Put a link to your entry in the comments of THIS post. I will check for the tag, but if you want to be CERTAIN your entry gets seen, bring it to me.
  6. ONE entry per account.
  7. Entries accepted until this post pays out on Saturday, March 3, 2018.

PRIZES!
The most fashionable hat in my personal opinion will be awarded 2.5 SBD from me plus half the SBD from this post's payout.

The best story about becoming a tin-hatter in my personal opinion will be awarded 2.5 SBD from me, plus the other half the SBD payout from this post.

All entries that meet the rules will be given an upvote or a tip, depending on my vote power.

OK then, show me your aluminum milliner skills!

⛑ 🎩 🎓 🤠 👲 👳 💂 🕵 👲🏿 👷🏻 👮🏾

thealliance_enginewitty_youarehope.png

fishyculture_red.png

Sort:  

Ohhhhh I am going to have to get the Husband to jog my memory about some of my conspiracy theories. I've had some doozies that have flabbergasted him while making perfect sense to me. Writing one up will be fun :-)

I can hardly wait to see what you come up with!

Oh man! This aughta be fun!! You're always working on great fun stuff! Nice hat :) enjoy the contest. I am still moving in. So much painting/ organizing to do!! But, wanted to checkout your post. Almost time to get off steemit, and get at it. LOL 💖

Have a lovely day, thanks for stopping by! HUGS!

Your hat is too cool! You look adorable in it. The cardinal is so chipper.

I am in. I have worn an array of tinfoil hats over the years as my alter ego Catspiracy. It is long overdue to make a new one. FB_IMG_1476198587801.jpg (Burningman 07)

Oh no. I’m going to be competing with professionals...

Oh that is VERY stylish!!!

I LOVE this! I love hats. I think I have lots of bits of foil washed and saved in the cupboard.

Lol! I found a whole drawer of clean, folded foil in my grandmother's when she passed away. And a can of string bits, and so many more interesting treasures...

This whole idea sort of makes me think of the Ya Ya Sisterhood :)

I never saw it, we really don't watch many movies or TV.

We don't watch a lot of movies either. We were the mean parents that didn't have cable so our kid has to ...play outside! Our house has a TV dish on it from the former owner and I am planning on ripping it down this summer. It ruins my photos with it's ugliness. I wonder what other things I can used it for?

That movie along with Fried Green Tomatoes I have on DVD and I have watched them a shameful number of times. If ever you get an itch for a movie it is good :)

OK, that is a recommendation I can take seriously lol! These days even when I try I fall asleep about 20 minutes in. We are on the tin hat post, right...? I suspect it is because I have no resistance to this:
http://www.iamawake.co/your-brain-waves-change-when-you-watch-tv/

I actually started my hat tonight. My husband is wondering what's gotten into me. first the childhood photo reinactment and now a tin hat :)

I completely agree with that article BTW. It's the reason we banned television from our home. I remember picking up my son from my parents house, seeing him staring at that screen, jaw open - it horrified me. His behaviour also changed completely. He was not a polite kid when there was TV involved. We have no regrets, it leaves a lot of time for other things and as a bonus, we've saved a lot of money!

You'll get smarter kids too, no doubt. It is literally a "pre-hypnotic" state. A good hypnotist could walk in and drop people right into a deep trance. Can't wait to see the hat!

Just wonderful! And so creative! Who would think about a #foilfashionista contest <3?

I'm sure your unaware and did not break the Steemit Rules on purpose but this contest is breaking the Steemit guidelines. Please learn that you can Not require Upvotes on Contests. So you will have to make the Upvote part optional not required for entry.

https://steemit.com/faq.html

It might be better to bring the idea of altering the rule to better serve the community to the powers that be ...rather than policing. Based on how the community engages with these contests and the spirit of how they are being run it might be prudent to review it. You can slap the cuffs on me too. I've done the crime too.

Nope, I did not know. I have seen it on so many contests, I am curious why you picked me? I will change it, but it drives me crazy when my peanuts account gets singled out when I know MUCH bigger players are "guilty" of the same thing and no one says a word to them.

I just found out and will be letting everyone of all levels know just informing no negative action is taking place

Yeah, after thinking about this a little longer, I am muting you. I have no use for people who think they have to run everyone's life.

you obviously dont get it begging for or requiring upvotes is abuses just becuase you dont like it too bad

Tell it to luzcypher at open mic. It is not forced on anyone. If you don't like it, don't enter the contest, that simple.

So you appointed yourself "rule police" over something no one is complaining about? I cannot afford to do contests with no upvotes, neither can anyone else, so you are killing the avenue that most newbies use to get a foothold here, joining or hosting contests. Not impressed, kinda think you are an ass for this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36