Sour Dough Bread Recipe

in #food6 years ago

ea945f9f-193f-44ae-82c1-f3321941e504.jpeg


Here is a recipe to make your own sourdough bread.
You can buy a starter from several companies or maybe get one from a friend. But it is also easy to make your own.
Mix the same amount of flour and water, cover the container and let sit at room temperature. Every day, for at least one week, add flour and water in equal amounts.
If the container gets too full, you can use half of it for pancakes or something else.
After one week, your sour starter should smell nice and sour. If it smells like alcohol or rotten, start over.
To make your bread start with a preferment.
75g flour
75g water
1 TB starter
Cover with a cloth or a plastic bag.
Let sit for 12 hours.

Feed your starter and keep in the refrigerator until you are ready to bake again.

After 12 hours add
500 g of water to the preferment, then add
700 g of flour
let this sit for 30 min to an hour
mix 20 g salt with 25 g of water
Pour this over the top of the dough.
Poke and squeeze the dough until all the water is absorbed.
Then you start your stretch and pull.
Grab the dough from the bottom of the bowl and pull it up stretching the dough.
Fold it over itself towards you.
Turn the bowl one quarter, repeat the process.
Repeat 2 more times. You turned the bowl 360 degrees.
Do the stretch and fold every 30 min for 2.5 hours.
You are doing this a total of 6 times.
Let it rest for 30 minutes after you last stretch and fold.
Then turn dough from the bowl and shape into one large loaf or 2 small ones.
Let the dough rise until it is noticeably puffy. Depending on the temperature, this can take 4 to 6 hours.
Preheat your oven to 500 degrees Fahrenheit with a dutch oven inside for 30 minutes to get the dutch heated.
Place bread into the pot - be careful not to burn yourself.
Score top with a razor blade.
Place lid on. Reduce heat to 450. Bake for 30 min.
Take the lid off. Bake for another 20 to 30 minutes until the bread has the color you like.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot | IPFS | Google Play
Sort:  

Thank you so much for sharing. Is it sour in taste? How to make it sweet if anyone wants to

It is a little bit sour. Hence, the name sourdough bread :) The fermenting process makes the bread much healthier. If you like it sweet, you can put some honey on top :)

I have to look, I think I have a couple of cake recipes using a sour starter...

Thank you so much, mam. It is so nice of you.

Is there a special type of flour to use for this?

This one was made with organic unbleached white flour. You could use bread flour. This is my son's handiwork. I used to bake tons of bread and milled my flour from different grains. He sometimes uses a part bread flour as well.

That looks damn tasty.

I would combine that bread with some butter, salad & chorizo/salmon.

lots of butter for me lol

your recipe sounds good , one could try it for the evening time and when one wanted to stay away from sweet for a while . Btw do we have any health benefits on eating sourdough bread ?

Yes. The fermentation process breaks down the gluten to make it easier to digest.

Commenting to save this for later. I was gifted an heirloom yeast for a starter and once i get back to my home, i need to get it going!

this is the way my son makes his bread. I am much lazier and use a different method I will share as soon as I have some pictures

Oh yeah! Bookmarked this to get started later this week. There's no really good bread here in Austin (that I've found), so this is going to be invaluable!

Once you have a routine down, it is not that hard. I am going to make a video with my son next time he does a batch. And I should try to make my own version and document it. Mine was easier - way less steps :)

I adore fresh sourdough! We have a German bakery nearby that makes the most delicious loaves. I've never tried making any myself yet.

I started making bread because I missed the German bread so much and there were no German bakeries around. I actually had a little business selling bread to the German ex-pats. I had one customer who would order a ton whenever he got to San Diego (he lived in Vegas) :)

I bet you did a good business! Fresh baked bread has no parallel!!

I used to love making sour dough bread! We called it friendship bread. Great job with the tutorial. I haven't made it since I was married. Now I just have a small convection oven so baking is not so fun, but I bet bread could work anyway. Thanks @mariannewest <3

Yes!! The friendship bread. I forgot about that. That would be a sweet version. I had that for a while as well and couldn't give enough away lol

My previous MIL and I got the starter from church and my kitchen filled with the smell of baking bread many days. I miss the days when the kids were young and fresh bread graced the table so often. <3

I absolutely love sourdough so I may have to try this! Yum!

That is really the only bread I like to eat - sourdough bread - not necessarily white flour. I will post more recipes later.

Fantastic! Its my favorite bread. Love it!

This sounds fabulous, I'm going to see if I can get Debbie to make some for me. She makes Dilly bread every Christmas and I mail it to her folks in Nebraska. 😋

Oh, what is dilly bread? sounds interesting...

It's a bread that is made with Dill seed. I'll have to sneak the recipe from her files. 🤐

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61841.74
ETH 3420.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47