The Old Dog Gives Away: 69 SBD in January For The Love of Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

In this Article You'll Learn Why I Gave Away 69 SBD in January.



I Owe a Lot to Steemit And I Want it to Succeed!

With Steemit I've had a blast exploring, interacting, writing, learning and earning! 

Like most of you I want Steemit to succeed, both as a platform and as a currency. I've reached the level where I'm having pretty good success and so in mid December I decided that it was time to give back, to pay it forward. That's when I introduced the "Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone Program." 

At the end of December I issued my first report after 16 days of the program in the following article:

The Old Dog Updates: The Throw a Bone Program First Month Review And New Announcement With More Prizes! 

I also announced that I was expanding the program and that I would be rewarding the best comment(s) on all of my posts as well as looking for undervalued posts to gift SBD to.

Why am I Giving Away my "Hard Earned" SBD?

As the title to this article states It's "For The Love of Steemit!" My biggest concern with our wonderful platform is that there is a big difference between the number of members and the number of active users. There are too many one and done writers here. By gifting SBD to good comments or undervalued posts I hope to encourage more participation and enthusiasm especially when it comes to newbies and those who are having less success thus far.

Success can only come with regularity and consistency and my hope is that the gifted SBD's provide the little moral boost that many need to keep them going.

I do not have enough voting power to add much value to someones post and so this is the best way for me to help out at this time. 

Other Members Are Doing Similarly 

Obviously I am not alone and the purpose of this article is not to toot my own horn. There are others who also help by donating prize money in contests or just by giving out rewards. For example @papa-pepper with his "Wild Card" program. 

  • Are you being successful? 
  • Could you help others by sharing the wealth? 
  • Did you know that if you help others we all win!

Here is a List of The Pay-Outs That I Made in January

Rewards For Comments:

 The Old Dog Explores: A Crazy King Builds a Crazily Beautiful Castle!

6.1.17 2.50 SBD to @karenmckersie 

6.1.17 2.50 SBD to @team101  


 The Old Dog Updates: The Throw a Bone Program First Month Review And New Announcement With More Prizes! 

 8.1.17 1 SBD to @meesterboom    


 The Old Dog Asks Himself: Am I a Kleptomaniac? 

9.1.17 1 SBD to @rigaronib  


 The Old Dog Discovers: In Marostica Real Men do Play Chess! So do Real Horses! 

10.1.17 2 SBD to @rebeccaryan  

10.1.17 2 SBD to @eric-boucher 

10.1.17 2 SBD to @j3dy    


 The Old Dog Recounts: I Found a Watery Path and Re-Lived Old Memories 

11.1.17 1 SBD to @rebeccaryan  

11.1.17 1 SBD to @j3dy 

11.1.17 1 SBD to @rynow 

11.1.17 1 SBD to @amy-goodrich 

11.1.17 1 SBD to @gringalicious  


Steemit Photo Challenge 24 (Entry 1) "Christian Island Georgian Bay Ontario"

14.1.17 1 SBD to @rebeccaryan 

14.1.17 2 SBD to @englishtchrivy 

14.1.17 1 SBD to @countrygirl 

14.1.17 1 SBD to @lordemau  


The Old Dog Asks: Can Something Old And Disgusting Ever Look Good? 

16.1.17  1 SBD @karenmckersie  

16.1.17  1 SBD @jrcornel  

16.1.17  1 SBD @piedpiper  

16.1.17  1 SBD @merej99 

16.1.17  1 SBD @onceuponatime  


The Old Dog Asks: Am I a Disloyal Traitor? I'm Buying My Glasses On-Line! 

18.1.17 2 SBD @lordemau  

18.1.17  1 SBD @merej99 

18.1.17  1 SBD @kristy1  

18.1.17  2 SBD @wrek  


The Old Dog Asks: Do You Love Live Music? Check Out This Amazing Venue! 

24.1.17 1 SBD @englishtchrivy 

24.1.17 1 SBD @denisoi 

24.1.17 1 SBD @eric-boucher 

24.1.17 1 SBD @liliana.duarte 

24.1.17 1 SBD @natord  


The Old Dog Gets Serious: For All Men And The Women Who Love Them….Prostate Health 

24.1.17 1 SBD @puffosiffredi 

24.1.17 1 SBD @karenmckersie 

24.1.17 1 SBD @hilarski 

24.1.17 2 SBD @j3dy  


The Old Dog Presents: Embarrassing Snapshots Frozen in Time 

24.1.17 1 SBD @uwelang 

24.1.17 1 SBD @englishtchrivy 

24.1.17 1 SBD @eric-boucher 

24.1.17 1 SBD @meesterboom  


 The Old Dog Enters: SteemitPhotoChallenge #26 - Shadows 

30.1.17 2 SBD @j3dy  


 The Old Dog Enters Again: SteemitPhotoChallenge #26 - Shadows Two, A Regular working Man! 

30.1.17 1 SBD @j3dy 

30.1.17 1 SBD @karenmckersie 

30.1.17 1 SBD @eglishtchrivy  


The Old Dog Recounts: The Strange Tale of The Mystic Voyage of The Kazu Maru

30.1.17 1 SBD @steemvest17 

30.1.17 1 SBD @uwelang 

30.1.17 1 SBD @eric-boucher  


The Old Dog Asks: Am I a Winner? No, Steemit is And Here's Why! 

30.1.17 1 SBD @playfulfoodie 

30.1.17 1 SBD @eric-boucher 

30.1.17 1 SBD @haphazard-hstead  


The Old Dog Explores: Boys And Their Toys, The Neues Rathaus Glockenspiel!

 31.1.17 1 SBD @eric-boucher 

31.1.17 1 SBD @uwelang 

31.1.17 1 SBD @steemnews24  


The Old Dog Asks: How Much is Too Much? Should I be Concerned? 

31.1.17 1 SBD @gringalicious 

31.1.17 1 SBD @denisoi 

31.1.17 1 SBD @j3dy 

31.1.17 1 SBD @merej99    


The Old Dog Enters: Meme Challenge Number 1 

  31.1.17 1 SBD @the-future  


The Old Dog Enters: Meme Challenge Number 1 Entry 2 

31.1.17 1 SBD @grildrig   


The Old Dog Enters: Meme Challenge Number 1 Entry 3 

31.1.17 1 SBD @lazariko12    


Rewards For Undervalued Posts!  

Note: I didn't do as much of this as I would have liked. I do all of my own voting and I seem to run out of time looking for undervalued posts. Ideally 'd like to select one per day!


LITTLE-PEPPERS ARE NOW ON STEEMIT - An Introduction   

3.1.17 4 SBD to @little-peppers     


The Truth About Tree Planting in Ontario’s Northern Wilderness 25 Unique Photos 

16.1.17 2 SBD @solarguy    


 HOWDY DO BUCKEROOS!  

18.1.17 2 SBD @tomdubois1957      

So There You Have it Fellow Steemers! 69 SBD Given Away This Month "For The Love of Steemit"!


I hope that you enjoyed and were perhaps inspired by this summary.


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, I reward the best comment(s) on each of my posts with my "The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" program! So please re-steem and follow so that we can spread the wealth!     

Sort:  

Firstly I want to say huge thank you! Recently I wrote post about how I think that Steemit had better posts before and that people who really love to write deserve to have place where they can introduce themselves in their own ways. I can say that I became apathetic when I saw that actually a little number of users here read the post. I like how you said that there is a big difference between the number of members and the number of active users.That is so true! I came to this site firstly because I wanted to develop my writers skills because English is foreign language to me. I am so happy that someone actually care for this! I wish I can help to the others like you, but I must '' cross the road'' to get that! Hope this will encourage people to write more! Big greetings! :)

I really admire all of the non native English speakers for their efforts in writing. It takes courage and you are appreciated!

Thank you very much @kus-knee! I will give my best to this community! :)

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

Thank you so much @kus-knee ! I appreciate it! :)

I tried a similar initiative a few month ago. I gave all I had won in SBD when I reached 100 followers to celebrate with them. It was a little more than 30$.

I though my give away would be recognise as a very nice initiative and would be heavily voted from other users than my followers. It would have helped me to have already some bucks to start fresh and finally perpetuate the same offert on my 200 followers.

The blog didn't get too much traction.

I'm very happy to have share this money with my followers, no regret there.
With that said, I think we should encourage MUCH more these kind of initiatives, they are rare, they are beautiful and they are unic !!!

Here is what I have done, maybe some of you could find in it inspiration ;)

https://steemit.com/steem/@glitterfart/thank-you-for-your-support-my-dear-followers-you-are-now-100-i-ll-share-with-you-all-i-won-so-far

Very nice move man, cheers !

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

Thanks man =]

What a great initiative! Again a giant thank you for your generous thoughts. Last time I checked your list of people who had benefited from you in those ways, I came across new people I didn't know yet and, I just did again. So, thank you for that too!

All for one and one for all!!! Namaste :)

Thanks for your support and your great comment and good to know that you're "meeting" new people.

I appreciated your fine work here on Steemit!

Bow ! Wow ! Thanks so much @kus-knee ! You threw me a total of 5.5 Bones ! You know how much I love them ! Your the Coolest Old Dog on Steemit !!! 😎🐶🐕🍖🍖🍖 Its much appreciated all that you do for the community ! Keep up the great work !!


Old dog new tricks ! pintrest.com

Thanks for your active interactions and your positive humour!

Haha ! Glad you liked it ! Keep up the great work ! 😎

Yeah you are such a great guy!!! Love your bones, love the platform and the interaction here!!! @kus-knee

Great to have YOU to interact with!

Thanks buddy, appreciated! I have a lot ideas for the future here, think this can be THE future social place to be of all, there are tons of site but i need a place that at least requires a little of brain work, love steemit! love users like you! People that work toward the success of the entire community! And i saw a lot during the last years.

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

oh i love you bone man - thanks so much @kus-knee

What's impressive is the platform and the great people here!

Totally agree, looking forward to steemit's one year anniversary. Skys the limit of STEEM...

great people great deals great future...Thank you!

Positivity breads success. Everyday we get to choose our attitude!

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

I am very grateful to You for that. This is valuable to me. Because I first met the big dog, which itself gives a bone. Who shares with other people. Selfless service to others is worthy of respect. Do not become scanty hand of the giver.
The gospel of Matthew. Chapter 5 verse 7

You are doing great things on the platform! I paid my 1 SBD forward to a new user. I can't remember the name. Cheers!

Thanks for the encouragement. I really enjoy your informative posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34