The Old Dog Explores: Boys And Their Toys, The Neues Rathaus Glockenspiel!

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

  Bigger Government, Bigger City Hall, Bigger Toys?

This past December, on my second visit to Munich in 2016 I had the pleasure of discovering some of the city's fascinating history and architecture. While standing in front of the building that you see below it made me think of one of my favourite expressions: "The only difference between men and boys is the price of their toys". 

What does this have to do with the Neues Rathaus (New City Hall) in Munich? Let's find out!


A view of the new city hall with its central tower and Glockenspiel!


  At the half-way point of the 19th century the city of Munich was undergoing explosive growth. With growth came the inevitable move to increase the size of the local government and so plans were made for a new city hall. Would it include a new toy for the big boys?  

  A site at the Marienplatz was selected and 24 buildings were demolished to make space for the incredible Neues Rathaus (City Hall) building that you see in these photos. Interestingly the Old City Hall (Altes Rathaus) was not destroyed but still stands (although likely with an inferiority complex) near the new one.  


This is a view of the new city hall from another nearby tower that we climbed.


  Construction was started in 1867 (incidently that is the year Canada was founded) and after various extensions it was finally completed in 1909, just 5 years before WWI!  

  The Hall is constructed in the Flemish Gothic style and is over 90m (300 feet) in length. The ornate stonework that is featured on the exterior is stunning with all of its intricate details. I was happy that my buddy used his high resolution camera to capture the images that you see here as I am now able to zoom in and examine various features!    

  The Glockenspiel Quite The Toy For The Boys at That Time!  

  The main feature of the Rathaus is a 79 meter (259 feet) tower in which is housed the amazing “glockenspiel”, the fourth largest in all of Europe!   

  The Glockenspiel features 42 bells and 32 nearly life sized figures. Every day at 11 am, noon, and 5 pm, these figures put on a performance for the crowds that gather at Marienplatz to watch.   


Here is the central tower showing the coloured figures of the glockenspiel

  What a Toy And What a Show! 

  If you visit you can view two presentations:  

   1.) The top half of the Glockenspiel acts out the story of the marriage of the local Duke Wilhelm V to Renata of Lorraine. To honour the couple there is a joust with life-sized knights on horseback representing Bavaria (in white and blue) and Lothringen (in red and white). The result is always the same with the Bavarian knight winning!  


Zooming in we can start to see the details of both the tower and the coloured figures of the glockenspiel.


A close-up view of the upper scene. You can also see the golden rooster above them.


Moving even closer we can see the details of some of the "actors" in the first scene.


  2.) The bottom half continues with a second story: Schäfflertanz (the coopers' dance). According to myth, the coopers are said to have danced through the streets to bring vitality and joy to a population which had been ravaged by the plague. Their dance came to symbolize perseverance and loyalty to authority through difficult times.   


Here is a  close-up of the lower scene which shows the performing dancers.

  

The entire performance lasts between 12 and 15 minutes depending on which tune it plays that day. At the very end of the show, a small golden rooster at the top of the Glockenspiel chirps three times as it marks the end of the spectacle.  


As I stood and watched the performance it made me think of the little wind-up toys that I played with as a child!

Points to Ponder:

Is it really true that "The only difference between men and boys is the price of their toys"?

Is the glockenspiel in the New City Hall proof of that phrase?

If you are all grown up what toys do you play with?

Are your toys expensive?


I hope that you enjoyed this visit to The Neues Rathaus Glockenspiel!

Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, I reward the best comment(s) on each of my posts with my "The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" program! So please re-steem and follow so that we can spread the wealth!     

Sort:  

Is our Earth/This Universe nothing more than God's toy? Or God's pet that sometimes bites the hand that feeds? Or something like a sheep from which God expects the equivalent of meat and wool?

Oh, my!

Wow! In deed, a very serious toys for big boys wanting to entertain the world for human history. ;)

I relation to your questions, I guess it has a lot of parallel with money. On this level, power is the ultimate driving force behind it. Therefore, no matter what the price is, the size or its value to others, as long as it gives men power in relation to others. Of course, this is not a game all men want to play, but it is sadly the trend in our so-called civilized cultures.

My toys are usually very not expensive, relative to the amount of money I make per year, I simply can't afford them or big. I mostly have musical instruments and now a camera and computer as of the last few years...

All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me!

Thank you so very much for your ever kind sharing of wealth and appreciation. All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Good insights my friend!

My best friend lives in Munich and these are one of the nicest photos I have seen so far. I was there 3 times last year.

It's an interesting place to visit, plus the beer is great!

Aha! Great photos and story ! If the Beer is great im in ! Lol! Thanks for shareing ! 🍺🍻🍺

Thanks for coming. The beer in Munich is FABULOUS and you're hearing this from a guy who grew up watching Hockey Night in Canada and drinking Molson Canadian!

OMG! Thats awesome ! Still my favorite beer when i can afford it , haha while watching hockey night in Canada every Saturday ! Tripple header ! I do love my beer ! 🍺🍻🍺

no better place for beer than here in Munich, i can confirm!

I never was in Munich, but it looks like a beautiful place to visit ^_^ Thanks for share it !

Thanks so much for having a look!

I remember that I watched their show(dancing?) on TV. It was a travel story.

Very cool! I had never heard of them before my visit in December. Thanks for your comment!

See you agin! :)

wow...I'll advise the mayor's town to building one this in the main square too! Awesome place and curiosity my friend! (;

Just saw your new lens and pics! Great!

Thanks so much my friend! I'm trying,! it's a "big monster" to control! (;

Hello, I am from bangladesh. and i am new on steemit

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me!

Welcome! I'll check out your page!

@kus-knee i'd like to go to Munich!
thank you for taking me in a sense ..
I wonder if there would be more of this

Is it really true that "The only difference between men and boys is the price of their toys"?

Yes. I have to agree to that hahaha I still play remote controlled cars with some guys here , fly kites with them, too or watch a few race their remote control boats in the lake near my place - so cool. Yes I think it is indeed the price and the women :D

Is the glockenspiel in the New City Hall proof of that phrase?

hmmmm... am not sure I could say that's a proof though

If you are all grown up what toys do you play with?

You'll be shocked cause am a woman but I play board games scrabbles, chess, tic tac toe but then life size and all those I mentioned above plus basketball, billiards and table baseball I like that a lot

Are your toys expensive?

no no no - there are toys here that are sold just in a reasonable price not really expensive I don't think so. Is 25 euro expensive? That's the most expensive I have - a remote control car the rest costs 3-10 euro is it expensive? not really right?

EDIT: sorry I forgot to resteem your post yesterday I'll do it after the SCC announcement gets to be noticed :(
thank you for mentioning that!

Next time let me know when you are for some beer! We can even let the bones rock for some DanceWeekend

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me!

thanks thanks thanks man! You are rocking my bones again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57237.65
ETH 2358.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34