The Old Dog Asks: Can Something Old And Disgusting Ever Look Good?

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Would You Even Try to Make Something as Gross as This Floor Look Good?

One of my customers, a property manager, took me to look at a floor in one of the buildings that are under his care. "Could you possibly do something with this?" he asked. "If not we'll have to rip it out and change it" he added.

The floor in question (about 70 square meters or about 750 square feet) was a made of a green, textured rubber and was about 40 years old! 


The floor covered the entire basement of the condominium and had, not just impacted dirt, but also hard water stains and worn out areas! Keep in mind that this floor was cleaned weekly!

Could my Company Perform a Miracle?

I normally wouldn't have taken on this job but one of our suppliers had shown me a high quality and flexible coloured wax....... and so we decided to give it a shot!


I got my men to give it a double wash using a mono disc scrubber. First with a degreaser and then with the appropriate acid to dissolve the hard water stains.


The dirt and stains have now been removed but as you can see the floor is very warn out! It is, however, ready for the coloured wax. Let's see what this new product can do!



What do you think? The floor looks pretty good now doesn't it?


So Did My Company Perform a Miracle?

Well of course not but it's amazing what you can do with a little work and the right products!


What Do You Think?

° Are we sometimes too quick to discard things that could be fixed?

° Have you ever made something that used to look gross look good?


I hope that you enjoyed this little "miracle".


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, I reward the best comment(s) on each of my posts with my "The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" program! So please re-steem and follow so that we can spread the wealth!     

Sort:  

"Have ever made something that used to look gross look good?"

That's my New Year's resolution after having had a hard look in the mirror :-)

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" For your funny comment! Please check your wallet.

Wow! Thanks. I will gnaw on it with the greatest of pleasure.

Don't be so hard on yourself! In the photos you post you look great...or are you only showing your good side?

@onceuponatime - what? you don't look gross

Can Something Old And Disgusting Ever Look Good?
Well... my husband and I clean up pretty good when we want to. LOL

I think you did an AWESOME job on the floor. Those commercial tiles had a lot more life to them even if they weren't pretty. I'm curious to know how many coats of wax you used and what's the lifetime before the floor would need a fresh coat?

Thanks for your comment! 2 coats of wax. It' s a very a very special product in that it is flexible and can also be brought back to life using a process called spray wax buffing. In extremely high traffic areas it would need to be re-done once a year (not the case here as it is very low traffic).

I wish more people did this and got away from the "throw-away" mentality.
The floor looks great. I'm sure the owners were thrilled with the results -- and the savings!)

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" For your nice comment! Please check your wallet.

WooHoo! I got an Old Dog Bone.
I shall treasure it, gnaw and drool on in a bit, perhaps bury it with my favorite things. LOL
Thank you, @kus-knee - this was truly wonderful to see when I opened up messages today. XOXOX

@kus-knee That's awesome. That's thinking doable ;)
Congrats! Your client must be so happy.

is this one of those what @onceuponatime taught you -
I laughed hard at his reply to me on his last post :)

You never know if something is doable or not unless you try!

Yes ! My ex husband ! Hahaha !😂😂😂😂
Great post and great job ! Thanks for shareing !😂👍

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" For making me laugh! Please check your wallet.

Glad I made you laugh @kus-knee ! Thanks so much for throwing me a bone ! Mmmmmm its delicous ! 🍖🍖🍖🍖

Upped i def think you guy's performed a miracle!! i have actualy had to clean a floor like this one before and i'l tell ya it did not look as good!! lol

Thanks for having a look!

The floor looks amazing! I love retro refinishes. The floor is almost soothing being down in a grass green. Like seems natural that green floors would be popular because green grass is a nice thing to walk upon.

Your right..keep it green!

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" For your nice comment! I also like green! Please check your wallet.

Thank you! Very kind.

Wow, that looks fantastic. My floors could use a little work ;)

Great message as well. I think we are too quick to toss things that can be restored... possibly even too quick to toss people too ;)

Your right. I get a big kick out of fixing things!

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" For your nice comment! Please check your wallet.

Your right about tossing people as well!

You are OK in my book old dog ;)

Keep it clean I always say!

Hi @kus-knee
It is a job well done, the old floor looks very good after your treatment.

Yes, much better than I had hoped for! Thanks for stopping by!

Great work and message. We should have more people like you to repair gross things :)

Yes, just bring me all of your gross stuff and I'll give it a go! :)

I didn't mean all gross stuff, also broken things like shoes, clothes, machines, phone mobiles. I really hate the wasteful society we turned into!

I love trying to fix things and with so much info available on the internet one can usually figure out how to do it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39