Fuji 5Lakes Training Blog - 1.14.2018 - Holidays Are Over. Eyes On Fuji. (falling on my ass, global warming, and new gear)

in #running7 years ago (edited)

IMG_6883.JPG

My last real run was on Christmas day. Then the holidays hit. Travel, travel, travel, and lots of festivities.

Felt great to get back at it today, though I slipped and fell on my ass running across a patch of ice in the middle of town! That's alright. Builds character.

Today's run:

  • 3 miles.
  • Icy conditions (exhilarating, somewhat dangerous, challenging in a fun way).
  • New gear - reflective, thermal leggings and a long-sleeve thermal top (thanks mom!)

Now, it's all eyes on Fuji. April will be here sooner than I can slip on a patch of black ice and fall on my ass.


Today's reading:

IMG_6880.JPG
~Haruki Murakami - WHAT I TALK ABOUT WHEN I TALK ABOUT RUNNING

Thanks for checking in!

~*~

PREVIOUS FUJI 5LAKES TRAINING BLOGS:

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Ah the winter, it gives us some truly hilarious moments.
Was your fall like this Graham?

Be nice to know you went a cropper with a bit of class!
Please tell me you were listening to old school hip hop at the time 😂

We do as a society want to point fingers at someone. The person responsible is always the person in a high office. Sometimes they could do something to change things but we also need to remember the truth that that person is just human and many people working together really do have a bigger influence.

Good luck for the great efforts for the great events of your life. Your energy and hardworking character is my inspiration for my journey of steemit community, you are always optimistic which influence me greatly. Your will power and dedication about any field, is my treasure so I want to thanks you from my heart. Happy steeming my dear friend.

Thank you :) :) :)

Your really fond of travelling. That's a gives a good set if wonderful vibes around us. Let me recommend you to have some travel and take a look and run with a big smile on your face . Philippines is a great place to be with sir. I assure you a lot of adventure and fun waiting for you here. I'm a proud Filipino Citizen. I highly appreciate your presence. Thank you for sharing! Live Life to the fullest :-)

This post has nothing to do with traveling in that sense.

But still it makes the sense of travelling hometown while running I guess? 😃 I also love jogging in my home place and appreciating things around. Thank you

That's quite a break from running! Although I guess it gives everything time to properly heal.

Can I take it from your ACDC reference that they're one of your go-to running sound-tracks - Back in Black, especially 'giving the dog a bone' is one of my faves. I also recently noticed (since I've slowed down with my advancing years) that The Number of the Beast by Iron Maiden is a good pacer for an great 8-10K run -just stick it on and play it through.

I love running, countryside, night runs, morning runs, intervals, fartleks, even the treadmill - never tried an ultra though.... that one sounds like it might be quite brutal!

Good luck with the training....

Cheers, @revisesociology. Yeah, the "break" wasn't really an intentional one, but just sort of happened that way. I was pleased to find that my body was just fine with tonight's run, though, and in fact it felt pretty exhilarating. Number of the Beast! I'll have to try that one out.

I am sure the ultra is gonna be a challenge, but I am going to take it nice and slow and drink it all in. Well, as slow as I can within my time limit/target, I guess!

I recommend forgetting about targets - I'm sure when I go out for my standard 10K without my Garmin I run better and faster than when I track myself. Unfortunately there really is no way of testing out my theory - I can't 'trick myself' into thinking I'm not self-monitoring: even if i bury the Garmin in my running bag or do a clock check on leaving the house, I still know I'm tracking....

That makes sense. I was pretty much referring to the race cutoff time, though, to be honest. I wanna finish :)

Haha, the ice-part of the street always get me during winter so I know the feeling xD Anyway, really inspiring post! How often do you run? I am trying to run at least 2 times a week due to it's health benefits.

Anyway, if you are into traveling, self-development, health or blog feel free to check out my channel. Otherwise, take care and have a wonderful day! 😃

Thanks, @sandrastraud. At this point I’m trying to get out about every other day. Training for a really big race (ultra marathon) in April, so gotta keep my ass in gear! :)

I’ll be sure to check out your blog. Have a good one!

Wow! That's really good. Would love run as much as you. However, my main focus at the moment are heavy weightlifting and pole dance. Anyways, good luck with your ultra marathon! I'm sure you will dominate 😍

You have energy like dragon :)

Running cheers for good work! Haruki Murakami also loves me!

No sé si es la traducción pero es muy buena la forma en que redactas lo que vives .

i enjoy your post ^^! Thanks.

i appreciate your post ^@^! Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63630.78
ETH 3406.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55