Fuji 5Lakes Training Blog! (mileage, music, thoughts and musings on running my first ultramarathon) 10/16/2017

in #running7 years ago

winding road.jpg
The long and winding road to Fuji begins here.
(Photo by Erean at Morguefile.com)

Well, back at it.


New personal best tonight, speed wise. Was fun to push it, but I have a new long-distance goal coming up in April, so it’s time to start studying up on distance training.

Good lord-willin’ and the creek don’t rise, I’ll be doing the Fuji 5Lakes Ultramarathon in April.

Ultra runners, lemme know yer secrets!


About the race:


The Fuji 5LAKES Ultramarathon runs its course around the magnificent Mt. Fuji. Go for either the Fuji 5LAKES run (118 km, 19,000 yen), 4LAKES Run (100km, 18,000 yen), or the 3LAKES Run (71 km, 14,000 yen) - but whichever you choose, this Japanese marathon allows you to experience the best of the country's spring, with its cherry blossoms and cool breeze. The largest lake, Yamanakako Lake, is situated at the highest among the five lakes, and 5LAKES and 4LAKES runners will bypass that lake during their course. This is yet another marathon in Japan where the scenery is simply too beautiful to simply let fly by. If you are planning to join, it is recommended that you stay for longer since the event also coincides with the Fujikawaguchiko Cherry Blossom Festival in mid-April. You have to be at least 18 years old and in good health to join this event, in which around 4,000 people participate in annually.

SOURCE.


Tonight's Run.


DISTANCE: 5.01 miles
AVG. MILE TIME: 8'07"
THEME SONG: Gobbledigook - Sigur Rós


At 26.2 miles there's a sign that says, "This is the distance of a marathon." There's a white line painted on the concrete indicating the exact spot. I exaggerate only a bit when I say that the moment I straddled that line a slight shiver went through me, for this was the first time I'd ever run more than a marathon. For me this was the Strait of Gibraltar, beyond which lay an unknown sea.

~Murakami Haruki, WHAT I TALK ABOUT WHEN I TALK ABOUT RUNNING

~*~

Previous Ultramarathon Posts:

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2000 followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Very good my friend. Good luck for you @kafkanarchy84

Excellent Kafka.. You have proved yourself to be a very strong and mentally fit person .. Terrific marathon amidst scenic beauty towards Mt. Fuji..
Upvoted and resteemed..

Go my Friend :) Will you be wearing a go-pro for the marathon? It would sure be fun to watch at least maybe for the last half :) Starting to get cold - can you run in a snow suit? LOL!! Have a GREAT day kafkanarchy84

I'm gonna try to wear a GoPro and skip on the snow suit if at all possible! ;)

Awesome!!!! I can't wait to see the video - I am wishing you tons of luck!!!! Got a ways to go - keep training :)

Good Luck to you @kafkanarchy84 We are all rooting for you and this is an impressive goal!

Good morning friend! Go ahead with a spirited mind towards your "new goal"as taking "new challenge" with a "new plan"....The beauty, of "yananakako lake"really amazing... As like the beautiful road to Fuji waiting to welcome the runners.. Thanks for giving the opportunity to view all the beauty ....

Welcome dear friend! Have a nice time ahead..

Where there is a will there is a way...you are unbeliable...never got tired... you hv given running a new means..running means running life, seems true to you...

Thanks so much. Yes, running has brought a new and deeper sense of meaning to my life, or rather, helped me to dig down deeper into this meaning.

Thanks for concerning my comment..

How much further is an ultra marathon compared to a regular marathon

Well, a regular marathon is 26.2 miles, or about 42 kilometers. The ultra I am running is 118 kilometers, or about 73 miles. A beast!

Great post, i like it

Very good my post,

buddy ,, please stone visit my blog. if there is time ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61428.91
ETH 3382.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50