Fuji 5Lakes Ultramarathon Blog - 12.01.17 - Running in the Slush, Sleet, and Snow.

in #running7 years ago (edited)

file0001839404519.jpg

Tonight was invigorating. At first, I thought it was going to be awful.

I stepped outside of my apartment building tonight to be greeted by a ground covered in sloppy wet slush, and snow. It immediately started seeping through my shoes. As I got into my groove though, my body warmed up. The falling snow, the softly muted sounds of the street, and the smell of pine smoke from someone's wood burning stove had me feeling great. The air was cold and bracing. I felt like a badass as I huffed and puffed through the scene. My breath escaping in steamy puffs like a lone wolf out in the wilderness....

Okay. Maybe I am getting a little carried away now.

It's time to get some new gear. And I'm not going to the sports store to get it.

My co-worker (also a runner) informed me that I can get some good, durable, comfortable, and warm gear for a fraction of the price at a shop here called WORKMAN, which sells, well, work clothes.

work1.jpg

What I'll be needing:

  • Long underwear/tights/leggings
  • Breathable mesh shirts
  • Gloves

Another interesting tip from my friend was to buy some tiny screws from the hardware store, small enough not to pierce the soles of my shoes and stab my feet, and screw them into the bottoms of an old pair of running shoes.

This will keep me from slipping on the ice, with the metal heads of the screws providing traction.

Winter's here! That 118 km race around Mt. Fuji is just around the corner!

~*~

PREVIOUS FUJI 5LAKES TRAINING BLOGS:

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Wow friend heads of to your will power. So cold in winter but you are awesome to have your dreams fulfill. Thanks, it is said that god helps those who help themselves. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and aspirations, may god bless you to fulfil your dreams.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts and aspirations, may god bless you to fulfil your dreams.

You as well :)

Are you wearing some special waterproof running shoes too?
Having wet feed may stop you from running for quite a while

No. I have to figure that part out :) Feet were pretty wet at the end of the run tonight.

Be careful, wet feet = cold feet = cold body

They tell me I'm hot-headed, so I should be alright ;)

Heh heh.

Thanks!

It's important to be ready with commercials

Wow it must be freezing there. I am glad that we still have to wait one month for the snow. Thank you for sharing and have a nice weekend :)

At first I want to wish for coming New Year 2018,in advance!! The New Year will carry to you and your family more joy, happiness and a spirited mind....Good luck to your "Fuji marathon "...and take care... Never let down your practices.... Because "Practice makes everything possible "...

How bad do the winters actually get in Japan? I thought they had not really that kind of cold winter's there.

Great post. Looking forward to reading about the race. What a location! I love running in snow. People think you are mad but on a perfect day, when everyone is indoors. You get the world to yourself!

Nice post thank for sharing sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65017.48
ETH 3454.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50