Random Japan #41 :: The Old Sea Dog

in #randomjapan6 years ago

Welcome back to everyone's favorite random look at Japan, Random Japan. Today is even more random than usual, a collection of shots taken as I shuttle my kids around town on our bicycle. Now there's a title for a photo collection!

Let's get started. It's time for...

Random Japan

The Old Sea Dog at the Abandoned House

The Old Sea Dog at the Abandoned House

If you look closely in the center of the image, you can see a head through the overgrown yard. It is a navel captain, presumably someone famous although I can't see any name or recognize the face. Yamamoto, perhaps. Except this guy has a beard calling to mind a 19th century naval captain. An odd thing to see at any house, but especially an abandoned one. I wonder what other oddities are awaiting to discover in this yard and house.

Rusted But Still Standing

Rusted But Still Standing

A guest appearance! That is my youngest son's foot. He was interested in the old rusted guardrail so I stopped and let him have a look. Then I decided he was on to something—it is an interesting rail. Out the camera comes!

Outdated

Outdated

This is from a temple I stumbled onto. Perhaps I'll share more photos of temple things in a future post, but for now, this old seesaw that has seen better days. I wonder if any kids actually come in here to use the old thing.

A-1

A-1

Nothing special here—just a parking space. I suppose it might be kind of curious to some people that they use the roman letter A instead of a Japanese character. The roman alphabet is one of the 4 alphabets the Japanese use, though, so it's not as surprising to find as you may think.


That's all, folks. Do any of these jump out at you? Let me know in the comments. Join us next time for another Random Japan. Same random time, same random channel. See you then!

If you like this random photo from Japan, be sure to check out @kaliju's great Random Korea series. The latest entry there is Random Korea #21 - Wild Goose Chase

Also be sure to follow @kafkanarchy84, @maxinpower, @boxcarblue, and @wllmdnnd for even more random Japan fun! @jrvacation has the occasional randomjapan post too. Also, be sure to follow the #randomjapan tag for more from Japan and #randomasia for random shots from the entire area.

Are you a Japan-based or Asia-based photographer who posts somewhat random photos from the country? If so, use the tag #randomasia, and #randomjapan (or randomASIANCOUNTRYYOUAREIN) on your posts. Also, join our Discord group. DM me on Discord for a link to the server.

Do you want to use this photo in one of your projects?
You can! See here for details.

Missed a past Random Japan? I've got you covered!

Index Post
Recent Posts

25. The Heartfelt Life
26. O Weary Traveler
27. The Red and The Blue
28. Cars, Ugly Buildings, and Free Water
29. No Walking Without Hat
30. Kill it With Fire
31. Around the Neighborhood
32. The Thin Green Line
33. Time for Some Lovin'
34. Flowers, Walls, and Parks
35. The Dark Side of the Samurai
36. Japan's Real Favorite Pastime
37. Float On
38. God Likes Clean Hands
39. The Thunder Rolls
40. Buddha's Noodles

Hi thereDavid LaSpina is an American photographer lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time.
Sort:  

The old captain, is that a sculpture? I can't figure it out. I've often dreamed of wandering around a small town in Japan so thanks for sharing these random snippets of the landscape. You tend to focus on details of surface or crowded overgrown scenes .. kind of wabi sabi I guess ...

Yep, it's a sculpture. Either the owner of this house bought it or made it.

Hmm... that is an interesting analysis of my shots. I wonder if I have always done that throughout this series.

Thanks for the comment :)

I really like that seesaw photograph. It’s a little terrifying.

Thanks 😃 What is even more terrifying is that a foot beyond it is a drop of several meters. This temple is on a large hill.

I guess it’s a good thing that it’s not a swingset;)

I've taken out minutes, but search me where that capatain might be! How tiny is it? What colour is it? Any further search directions would be most welcome to this blind bat.

Pretty tiny. He is dead center. Unfortunately the color of the statue is nearly the same as the color of the window shutter, making him hard to spot. This may be one case where I'll need to return to this house with a nicer camera to grab a better shot of that old sea dog.

We loved playing on seesaws as kids, but perhaps this one is not fit to play on any longer!

I think I agree with you. I guess it was thrown here more as a storage place and not so much as a play area. Still, it might be better used as firewood.

😂 I suppose!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60209.45
ETH 3212.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43