Random Japan #39 :: The Thunder Rolls

in #randomjapan6 years ago

Welcome to the 39th edition of Random Japan, the series that gives you the best—or at least the most random—look at Japan online. Today we have a great collection of images, including a angry sky, a dancing house, a possible house of the gods, a common parking accessory, and... a key. Let's get started! It's time for...

Random Japan!

The Thunder Rolls

The Thunder Rolls

We've had a few nice (almost hot) days so I suppose it is time for a rainy one. That's spring for you. I have previously given the reasons for why I am restricting myself to my smartphone for this series, but times like this I wish I had one of my better cameras. What a sky! The sky was angry that day, my friends.

Happy Days

Happy Days

Angry sky or no, when the houses get the dancing bug, little can stop them from hopping to it.

Er—wait. Houses can't dance. ...can they? They can when one spins the camera like a madman while taking the shot, a required part of my spinning shutter technique. I hope the house stopped dancing long enough to allow whoever was home to bring in the laundry before the sky let loose.

(actually it hasn't started raining yet, as I sit home, an hour or so after taking today's shots, but the sky is still threatening)

Ramping it Up

Ramping it Up

Now here's a curious object: a small ramp. I don't know why, but driveway construction in this country seems to be unable to provide a smooth path from the road, making these things required by almost every house that owns a car. Sometimes they are rubber like you see here, but often they are metal, which fills the neighborhood with kur-klunks throughout the day as people drive over them. Ahh... the sounds of Japan!

Spirited Away

Spirited Away

I don't know the architectural style here, but this house calls to mind the bathhouse in Spirited Away. I think it is more the upper balcony rail style that makes me think of that film.

This is actually one of the older and more famous restaurants in the area, serving various dishes using hatcho miso, a type of miso only produced in this area (by only 2 over 500 year old companies). It is the favorite miso of the Imperial Family and because of that the area attracts a fair amount of tourism.

Lost and Found

Lost and Found

It may not surprise you, but I have an ongoing photo project collecting minimalistic compositions like this one. But that's not the point of including this image here.

This is something of a common sight in Japan. Someone found a dropped key here and rather than keep it or take it to the police as might happen in the States, they taped it to the nearest wall so if the person who lost it comes back then they can easily find it. This is the common thing to do when one finds a dropped item—stick it on the nearest object so that it can be easily found when the one who lost it comes looking.


And that's all for today. Tune in tomorrow for more great Random Japan.

If you like this random photo from Japan, be sure to check out @kaliju's great Random Korea series. The latest entry there is Random Korea #19 - Templeton

Also be sure to follow @kafkanarchy84, @maxinpower, @boxcarblue, and @wllmdnnd for even more random Japan fun! @jrvacation has the occasional randomjapan post too. Also, be sure to follow the #randomjapan tag for more from Japan and #randomasia for random shots from the entire area.

Are you a Japan-based or Asia-based photographer who posts somewhat random photos from the country? If so, use the tag #randomasia, and #randomjapan (or randomASIANCOUNTRYYOUAREIN) on your posts. Also, join our Discord group. DM me on Discord for a link to the server.

Do you want to use this photo in one of your projects?
You can! See here for details.

Missed a past Random Japan? I've got you covered!

Index Post
Recent Posts

25. The Heartfelt Life
26. O Weary Traveler
27. The Red and The Blue
28. Cars, Ugly Buildings, and Free Water
29. No Walking Without Hat
30. Kill it With Fire
31. Around the Neighborhood
32. The Thin Green Line
33. Time for Some Lovin'
34. Flowers, Walls, and Parks
35. The Dark Side of the Samurai
36. Japan's Real Favorite Pastime
37. Float On
38. God Likes Clean Hands

Hi thereDavid LaSpina is an American photographer lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time.
Sort:  

I love the house that looks like the bathhouse in Spirited Away. I have only watched a couple of those films - but I did see that one!

I really like the photography with the key. I hope you will post more of this minimalist compositions project in the future!

I'd also love to read more about this camera spinning technique, the result is surprisingly sharp (at least it looks decently sharp on my phone).

These feel great. I love the dancing house and the Sprited Away house. LOVE that movie 💖 All these random little details you share make me feel as if I was there... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46